Buying Options

Kindle Price: $4.99

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.
Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share <Embed>
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
1942: A Novel by [Robert Conroy]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

1942: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 177 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$4.99

Read the first 3 episodes of every story FREE pantry

Create your FREE Amazon Business account to save up to 10% with Business-only prices and free shipping. Register today

Editorial Reviews

Review

"A significant writer of alternate history turns here to the popular topic of Pearl Harbor, producing what is arguably his best book . . . Lots of vivid action scenes from start to finish . . . Enjoy this rousing historical action tale."
– Booklist

“Engaging . . . Fans of Tom Clancy and Agent Jack Bauer should find a lot to like here.”
–Publishers Weekly

“A high-explosive what-if, with full-blooded characters.”
–John Birmingham, author of Without Warning


From the Trade Paperback edition.

About the Author

Robert Conroy is the author a run of hugely popular alternate history novels, including Himmlers War and Rising Sun. His 1942, which is set within a Japanese conquest of Hawaii, won the prestigious Sidewise Award for alternate histories. Conroy has written for Military History magazine and has traveled extensively in Europe where hes taken a special interest in battlefields, historical collections and castles. After a first career in business, Conroy has turned his lifelong passion for writing and military history into an immensely satisfying new occupation. He is married, lives in southeastern Michigan, and, when not writing, teaches business and economic history at a local college.

--This text refers to the audioCD edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B001NLKTEC
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Ballantine Books; Original edition (February 10, 2009)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ February 10, 2009
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 3008 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 369 pages
  • Lending ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 177 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

My next novel, "1882-Custer in Chains," will be published in May, 2015. I had hoped for sooner, but it's the publisher's decision. In my tale, Custer not only survives the fight at the Little Big Horn in 1876, but becomes a war hero and then President of the United States. Urged on by his ambitious wife Libbie, he gets us into a war with Spain with the conquest or liberation of Cuba as its goal. The result is a bloody invasion and a series of battles on both land and sea in which the outcome is never a sure thing. As always, there are a number of historical characters as well as fictional ones. Since 1882 was only seventeen years after the end of the Civil War, memories of that bloody conflict are always present.

As I've written before, I want my alternate histories to be plausible; ergo, no time travel or magic. Now, could Custer have survived? Absolutely yes. He had two Gatling guns that he felt would have slowed him down; therefore, he left them behind. What if some energetic young officer had defied him and brought them just in time to save Custer and what remained of his force from annihilation? Victory for Custer, of course and that is the take off point for 1882-Custer in Chains.

Following on the heels of "Liberty-1784" and "1820-America's Great War," Custer will be my twelfth published novel and it's still a thrill. I wonder what the nuns at now closed St. Ambrose High School would have thought.

Why not check out my website at robertconroybooks.com or email me at conroybooks.net?

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
177 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on July 19, 2021
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on September 28, 2019
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 16, 2020
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 9, 2020
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

lee langton
4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying Alternate History.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 18, 2018
Hutch
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read if you're an alternative history reader
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 12, 2017
P. Brooks
4.0 out of 5 stars History is a Playground...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 3, 2010
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
David Hopgood
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 15, 2018
Nogbad the bad
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 1, 2009
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?