List Price: $29.99 Details
Save: $10.50 (35%)
FREE delivery: Nov 3 - 12
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
$$19.49 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$19.49
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date, and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Blackstone_Publishing
Sold by
Ships from
Blackstone_Publishing
Return policy: Extended holiday return window till Jan 31, 2022
For the 2021 holiday season, returnable items purchased between October 1 and December 31 can be returned until January 31, 2022. You may receive a partial or no refund on used, damaged or materially different returns.
1-Click ordering is not available for this item.
$4.88 delivery: Nov 4 - 12
Fastest delivery: Nov 2 - 8
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: 5 BRAND NEW AUDIO CDs. NEW in the shrink wrap. Just a bit of shelf wear. Enjoy this New Audio CD edition GIFT QUALITY for your home and library.
<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
$29.99
& FREE Shipping. Details
Sold by: Amazon.com
Sold by: Amazon.com
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing "Send link," you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message & data rates may apply.

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Allure of Gentleness: Defending the Faith in the Manner of Jesus Audio CD – Unabridged, February 10, 2015

4.8 out of 5 stars 176 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Audio CD, Audiobook, CD, Unabridged
$19.49
$19.49 $14.50

Enhance your purchase


Amazon First Reads | Editors' picks at exclusive prices

Special offers and product promotions

  • Create your FREE Amazon Business account to save up to 10% with Business-only prices and free shipping.

Editorial Reviews

Review

''It was Willard's habit to take an issue and cast it in a light that no one had ever thought of before; he does this here with key apologetical issues, and places apologetics against the backdrop of pastoral care. This is essential reading.'' (JP Moreland, author of The God Question)

''I grew up in a Christian culture in which 'defending the faith' was carried out by using the Bible as a weapon. Anyone who challenged my faith was treated as an enemy. As an adult I discovered Dallas Willard. Unfailingly gentle and respectful, he transformed the apologetics of my generation as many of us 'laid down our swords and shields.' '' (Eugene Peterson, translator of The Message)

''Dallas Willard was a true Master. Who else combined such profundity with such clarity and simplicity? Here, he addresses an issue that is both timely and urgent for Christian advocacy today. But it is also a genuine hallmark of his own gentle and humble character as a man and thinker.'' (Os Guinness, author Fool's Talk: Recovering the Art of Christian Persuasion)

''Dallas Willard's understanding of apologetics is revolutionary. It is at once more intellectually rigorous and yet more attainable and more humble and more tied to character than anything I have seen on the subject. What he describes is what Jesus actually did.'' (John Ortberg, senior pastor of Menlo Park Presbyterian Church and author of Soul Keeping)

''Following in the tradition of C.S. Lewis, Willard advocates for truth, born on the wings of grace, and does so in the manner of a fellow pilgrim, keen to listen and to share.'' (Stan Mattson, founder and director of the C. S. Lewis Foundation)

''Classic Willard: the gifted Christian philosopher answering hard questions—the questions so many people have about God, hell, the problem of evil, the nature of freedom, and the wonder of Jesus—in an accessible style and with a gentle spirit.'' (Chris Hall, Director of Academic Spiritual Formation, Eastern University)

''Trust Dallas to give us apologetics for everyone in the manner of Jesus: desiring to serve not convince; discarding defensiveness and intellectual one-upping; respecting others as honest inquirers; answering questions we've secretly wondered about.'' --(Jan Johnson, author of Renovation of the Heart in Daily Practice and Abundant Simplicity)

About the Author

Dallas Willard (1935-2013) was a professor at the University of Southern California's School of Philosophy for forty-seven years. His groundbreaking books The Divine Conspiracy and The Spirit of the Disciplines forever changed the way thousands of Christians experience their faith.

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ HarperCollins Publishers and Blackstone Audio; Unabridged edition (February 10, 2015)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Audio CD ‏ : ‎ 1 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1481532995
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1481532990
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 1.6 ounces
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 5.2 x 0.6 x 5.8 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.8 out of 5 stars 176 ratings

Audible Holiday Deal
Save 46% on your first 4 months. Get this deal

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

DALLAS WILLARD (1935-2013) Dr. Willard was a well-renowned, well-regarded Christian scholar and author. His book, The Divine Conspiracy, was selected as Christianity Today's Book of the Year for 1999. His other books include The Spirit of the Disciplines (1988) and Renovation of the Heart (2002). Dr. Willard displays a scholarly acumen and a pastor's heart, seeking to integrate philosophy, theology, and ethics with practical discipleship and Christian day-to-day living. He is also a popular speaker who has participated in a number of Veritas Forums. A professor's professor, Dr. Willard is interested in reaching out to skeptical college students and to their even-more skeptical professors. He has long been a professor of Philosophy at the University of Southern California, working in the field of logic and epistemology. Dr. Willard studied at William Jewell College, Tennessee Temple College, and Baylor University before earning a Ph.D. in philosophy from the University of Wisconsin.

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5
176 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on September 29, 2015
Verified Purchase
21 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 28, 2016
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 10, 2019
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 8, 2017
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on February 11, 2015
Verified Purchase
47 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

jim mac
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beauty and Necessity of Gentleness.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 16, 2017
Verified Purchase
J E Davidson
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for disciples of Jesus
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on February 26, 2015
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
M Salmon
5.0 out of 5 stars Doing disagreement better
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 27, 2016
Verified Purchase
Bob finney
5.0 out of 5 stars Get this book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 25, 2015
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
heather farrell
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on June 4, 2015
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse