Buying Options

Unlimited reading. Over 1 million titles. Learn more
Read for Free
OR
Kindle Price: $4.99

Save $12.00 (71%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing "Send link," you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message & data rates may apply.

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Ascendant - A Dragon Rider Fantasy (Songs of Chaos Book 1) by [Michael R. Miller]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Ascendant - A Dragon Rider Fantasy (Songs of Chaos Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 1,378 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$4.99

Animate the season with gift cards

Create your FREE Amazon Business account to save up to 10% with Business-only prices and free shipping.

Editorial Reviews

Review

Winner of the National Indie Excellence Award for Fantasy 2021
Bronze Medal Winner for YA Epic Fantasy in the Reader's Favorite Award 2021

No. 1 Bestseller in multiple categories!
#1 Epic Fantasy
#1 Dragons and Mythical Creatures
#1 Sword & Sorcery
#1 Classic Fantasy
#1 Action & Adventure Fantasy

"There are familiar beats in the book, but Michael Miller makes them his own with hints of a far vaster world littered throughout. I can't wait for book 2!"
- Davis Ashura, Bestselling author of A Testament of Steel.

"Ascendant is a delightful dragon-rider yarn in the tradition of Pern, Pit Dragon, Eragon, and Temeraire. It plucks at the strings of nostalgia in the best possible way, and picking it up feels like returning to old, beloved haunts."
- John Bierce, Bestselling author of the Mage Errant series

"This book takes me back to the classics. It has everything a reader needs: a young protagonist, dragons, dragon riders, evil beasts and wagon-loads of action and adventure!"
- Arthur Slade, Bestselling author of Dragon Assassin

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ "The prose is superb and the plot is stunningly twisty. This novel is an epic fantasy exploding with action; it is a story with a seemingly straightforward plot but with details that elevate its beauty and set it apart from conventional stories in the genre."- Reviewed by Christian Sia for Readers' Favorite

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ "So I first found this book from a Reddit post. It was described as a Pern meets Cradle book and I read that and thought that was pretty bold. This. Book. Delivers."
Bryce Liskovec, Amazon Customer


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ "I loved this book!! You would make Anne McCaffrey proud. Not since the books of Pern have I been this intrigued with such a delightful read. I couldn't put this book down. Dragon stories have come and gone, but I believe this story will weather the test of time."
- PernRider1212, Amazon Customer

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B08DZD56DL
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Monolith Books (September 1, 2020)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ September 1, 2020
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 2690 KB
  • Simultaneous device usage ‏ : ‎ Unlimited
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 622 pages
  • Lending ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.7 out of 5 stars 1,378 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

You can grab a FREE novella set in the world of Ascendant AND a bonus novelette set in the world The Dragon's Blade by signing up to my mailing list here https://www.michaelrmiller.co.uk/signup

Those who use Discord can also join his server by following this link https://discord.gg/C7zEJXgFSc

Michael is ‘that guy’ who enjoys - well, enjoyed... - discussing the mad fan theories of Game of Thrones even more than the books or show, and knows more about World of Warcraft than is probably healthy.

You can contact him at michael@thedragonsblade.com

www.michaelrmiller.co.uk

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
1,378 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on September 1, 2020
Verified Purchase
29 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on February 17, 2021
Verified Purchase
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars Sapphira would approve
By Conrad on February 17, 2021
I LOVE this book. The Inheritance Cycle was a huge part of my teenage years, and finding solid, well written and well thought out Dragon Rider books isn't easy.

Let me be clear: this book is NOT an Eragon ripoff. Ascendant stands firmly and confidently on its own as a wonderful, new, remarkable and clever Dragon Rider book (and start of a series). However, there is no denying that if you love the Inheritance Cycle that you will also love Ascendant.

What is this book like? Mix the atmosphere of Alageasia, the magic system of the Forgotten Realms and the flare of Azeroth and you have a pretty damn good starting point for how this story goes.

Something important for the first book of a series - and something that's tricky to do well - is to properly wrap it up, while still leaving tasty hints for the next step of the series. Ascendants ending was perfectly done and I am incredibly satisfied with this book.

The magic system of the Riders and Dragons is SO COOL. I adore it. All good magic needs restraints, punishments and reward systems. Ascendants magic system is, honestly, flawless and so, so well explained (even if Holt doesn't always get it, you, the reader, absolutely will).

Holt is a wonderful Hero, Ash is pure perfection (and my favorite color for dragons~) and I'm really keen to not only meet more new characters of this series, but to *hopefully* learn more about Rake. I fricken love Rake. Even the very small bits we got of him, I just know he's my type of character.

If I had to pick a negative- and I mean if I'm absolutely forced to pick SOMETHING - I'd gripe that, of course the female lead is a red head. ~petty moment over~ Happy? Thats my only complaint.

Tl;dr Fantastic Dragon Rider story, beautifully written and meticulously thought out, with well rounded and developed characters and a great magic system. You won't regret this one. I will now impatiently wait for the next book....
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
15 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on September 1, 2020
Verified Purchase
17 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on December 15, 2020
Verified Purchase
12 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on September 16, 2020
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Judith Dickinson
5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping read. Magic drawing people and dragons into its melting pot.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 1, 2020
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Boe
5.0 out of 5 stars I couldn’t put it down!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 23, 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
M. Stanbrook
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 6, 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Amazon_Customer
3.0 out of 5 stars Proofread?
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 29, 2021
Verified Purchase
TSM
5.0 out of 5 stars Now THIS is a Dragon Rider fantasy!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 25, 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse