Buying Options

Digital List Price: $15.99
Kindle Price: $10.99

Save $5.01 (31%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing "Send link," you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message & data rates may apply.

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
The Bouncer (Joe the Bouncer Book 1) by [David Gordon]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Bouncer (Joe the Bouncer Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.1 out of 5 stars 115 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$10.99

Read the first 3 episodes of every story FREE pantry


Create your FREE Amazon Business account to save up to 10% with Business-only prices and free shipping.

Editorial Reviews

Review

Advance praise for The Bouncer:

"A brilliantly goofy caper novel in the grand tradition of Donald E. Westlake."―Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review

"If you like a liberal dose of humor in your suspense fiction, then look no further than David Gordon’s clever new caper...The Bouncer has 'film adaptation' written all over it."―BookPage

"The Bouncer feels like the introduction to a series...loaded with interesting, quirky characters who are just different enough from those one usually encounters in a crime novel to shoulder its way to the top of your reading list...Gordon has garnered critical acclaim for his previously published fiction but deserves more notice in the public eye. This may be the book that provides that impetus. And somebody in the video industry needs to read it as well."―Bookreporter

"[An] impressive crime novel...Gordon’s sharply drawn supporting cast adds a nice balance to all the action. Cinematic writing makes this an obvious candidate for graphic novel or film adaptation."―Publishers Weekly, (starred review)

"A madcap thriller...Gordon is an Elmore Leonard acolyte, but his latest novel is also working in the tradition of New York City crime: the gritty, cynical, and riotous novels that defined the city in the late 60s and 70s, especially the many wild stories of Donald E. Westlake."―CrimeReads,"Summer's Most Anticipated Crime, Mystery, and Thrillers

The Bouncer is a tour-de-force, ranging from underworld crime to a unique caper and a terrorist plot. David Gordon brings an outstanding new voice to the contemporary crime novel.”―Robert Crais, bestselling author of The Wanted and other Elvis Cole novels

“Fast, funny and tough, David Gordon's The Bouncer will toss you over his shoulder like King Kong and carry you away.”―Max Allan Collins, author of Road to Perdition

“David Gordon’s The Bouncer is a treat―a hard-edged thriller that makes you feel good while you’re reading it. Give it to someone. They’ll thank you.”―Thomas Perry, New York Times bestselling author of The Bomb Maker

Praise for David Gordon:

“Funny, with a satirical edge, and unlike some literary authors who play with genre, Gordon knows how to write a potboiler . . . An impressive debut.”Los Angeles Times, on The Serialist

“An irreverent and funny twist on the classic whodunit―the kind of pulp-fiction mystery that made the careers of such writers as Jim Thompson, Raymond Chandler, and Dashiell Hammett.”―GQ.com, on The Serialist

“Gordon’s sentences are crisp and often jarring. His plots unspool in strange, sometimes disturbing ways . . . enjoy the disorientation and to trust that you’re in the hands of an earnest storyteller.”Paris Review Daily, on White Tiger on Snow Mountain

“I have rarely come across a writer in such command of the English language. His sentences, characterizations and set pieces are things of beauty.”Washington Independent Review of Books, on Mystery Girl

“David Gordon has gathered up our cultural trash and made of it something magnificent. In the tradition of Bolano, Chandler, and lots of dime novels that most of us pretend to know nothing about, The Serialist makes high art out of serial murders, pornography, soup dumplings and pulp fiction. I adore this book!”―Rivka Galchen, on The Serialist

“David Gordon has written a passionate love story disguised as a mystery, a brainy tragicomedy, a bildungsroman wherein ‘the gumshoe learns the shocking secret of himself.’ His prose is by turns salacious, uproarious, and happily unhinged. A total delight.”―Karen Russell, on Mystery Girl

“Part mystery, part love story, wholly delightful.”Bustle, on Mystery Girl --This text refers to the paperback edition.

Excerpt. © Reprinted by permission. All rights reserved.

Joe looked up, sort of smiling mildly, and folded the page of his book. Then he saw where Crystal was pointing. The giant was wading through the crowd, apparently hauling Kim off to his lair to eat later. Moving easy, Joe stepped right into his path.

“Hey! You! Meat!” he yelled. “Over here.”

The giant made a frowny face, focusing on Joe like a bull seeing a red flag. “Don’t call me that.”

Joe grinned. “How about I give you a lap dance?”

Grumbling, the giant tossed Kim to the side, and she crashed onto a table of Asian tourists. Then he made for Joe. Crystal felt a little bad and braced herself to see that pretty face get ugly. The giant hauled off and threw a punch, his fist coming down like a sledgehammer. But Joe dipped gracefully and, riding on the balls of his feet, stepped safely inside his swing. He kicked out, knocking the giant’s shin from under him. As he stumbled, Joe reached in to grab a point on his thick neck.

“Ow!” Like a wounded monster, the giant howled in pain and tried to shake loose, but Joe just pinched harder.

“Easy, easy, let’s walk,” he said, leading the bent giant along, groaning and moaning. The crowd parted and they went right out the door.

Kimberly got up, slowly, with the help of the tourists.

“Wow,” she said to Crystal. “Now that’s a good bouncer.”

--This text refers to the paperback edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B075VD4JV6
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Mysterious Press (August 7, 2018)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ August 7, 2018
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 3076 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 241 pages
  • Lending ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.1 out of 5 stars 115 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

David Gordon was born in New York City. He attended Sarah Lawrence College and holds an MA in English and Comparative Literature and an MFA in Writing, both from Columbia University, and has worked in film, fashion, publishing and pornography. His first novel, "The Serialist," won the VCU/Cabell First Novel Award and was a finalist for an Edgar Award. It was also made into a major motion picture in Japan. His second novel, "Mystery Girl" was released in July 2013 and his short story collection, "White Tiger on Snow Mountain" is forthcoming in Fall 2014 . His work has also appeared in The Paris Review, The New York Times, Purple, and Fence, among other publications.

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5
115 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on October 22, 2019
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 14, 2019
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on September 17, 2018
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on September 4, 2018
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 11, 2018
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on November 16, 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on September 6, 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on May 20, 2021
Verified Purchase