Buying Options

Kindle Price: $11.99

Save $5.01 (29%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.
Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share <Embed>

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing "Send link," you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message & data rates may apply.

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
The Burning Girls: A Novel by [C. J. Tudor]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Burning Girls: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 2,175 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$11.99

Always the perfect gift
Create your FREE Amazon Business account to save up to 10% with Business-only prices and free shipping. Register today

From the Publisher

Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for C. J. Tudor and The Burning Girls

“Fans of Gillian Flynn, Tana French, and Jess Lourey will leap at the chance to read [C. J. Tudor’s] new psychological thriller. . . . Gruesome and haunting, The Burning Girls is worth every page turn.”—Booklist (starred review)

“The kind of novel that’s so creepy, it might just seep into your dreams.”Popsugar

“Tudor’s uncanny twisty plot is populated with intriguing, damaged characters and the slow-burning suspense leads to a crackling ending.”—Minneapolis Star Tribune

“Rarely have the secrets of an English village been used to greater effect. . . . The tension become[s] nearly unbearable. Tudor expertly doles out the plot twists . . . one so shocking that it turns the entire story inside out. . . . Won’t be easily forgotten by any reader.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Tudor is terrific. I can’t wait to see what she does next.”—Harlan Coben

“Want to read something good?. . . If you like my stuff, you’ll like [The Chalk Man].”—Stephen King

“Some writers have it, and some don’t. Tudor has it big-time.”—Lee Child

“Tudor is always several steps ahead. She is a brilliant storyteller.”—Alex Michaelides, New York Times bestselling author of The Silent Patient

“Tudor is the queen of the cliffhanger.”—John Marrs, international bestselling author of The Passengers

“Tudor has proven that she is a true master at creating perfectly dark, highly propulsive, and tightly coiled mysteries that are utterly impossible to put down.”—Aimee Molloy, New York Times bestselling author of The Perfect Mother

“If you like Tana French, you will love, love, love C. J. Tudor.”—Alma Katsu, author of The Hunger

“C. J. Tudor is turning out some of the best supernatural fiction around. And in The Burning Girls, her signature blend of self-aware characters and ancient evils is on full display.”—CrimeReads, “The Most Anticipated Crime Books of 2021”

“Tudor . . . strikes again with another thriller filled with twists and turns right up to the mind-bending ending.”Library Journal

“The author steadily cranks up the scares and the suspense while smoothly toggling between multiple narratives. . . . Jack is immensely appealing. . . . Readers will savor the final, breathless twists. Top-notch and deliciously creepy storytelling.”Kirkus Reviews

About the Author

C. J. Tudor is the author of The Hiding Place and The Chalk Man, which won the International Thriller Writers Award for Best First Novel and the Strand Magazine Award for Best Debut Novel. Over the years she has worked as a copywriter, television presenter, voice-over artist, and dog walker. She is now thrilled to be able to write full-time, and doesn't miss chasing wet dogs through muddy fields all that much. She lives in England with her partner and daughter. --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B087PMPD5S
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Ballantine Books (February 9, 2021)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ February 9, 2021
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 4601 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 402 pages
  • Page numbers source ISBN ‏ : ‎ 0241371309
  • Lending ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.3 out of 5 stars 2,175 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

C. J. Tudor lives with her partner and young daughter. Her love of writing, especially the dark and macabre, started young. When her peers were reading Judy Blume, she was devouring Stephen King and James Herbert.

Over the years she has had a variety of jobs, including trainee reporter, radio scriptwriter, dog walker, voiceover artist, television presenter, copywriter and, now, author.

Her first novel, The Chalk Man, was a Sunday Times bestseller and sold in thirty-nine territories.

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5
2,175 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on February 16, 2021
Verified Purchase
19 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 18, 2021
Verified Purchase
11 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 14, 2021
Verified Purchase
14 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 12, 2021
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

The Cookster
5.0 out of 5 stars First class storytelling. A contemporary mystery thriller with hints of the supernatural.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 23, 2021
Verified Purchase
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars First class storytelling. A contemporary mystery thriller with hints of the supernatural.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 23, 2021
Should appeal to fans of Stephen King, but also to admirers of the mystery writing style of Anthony Horowitz.

Rating: 4.6/5

In the "Acknowledgements" C.J. Tudor writes, 'It seemed to take me an eternity to finish this, my fourth book. It really does get tougher each time!' She may not be finding the process getting easier, but the end product just keeps getting better and better!

When I read this author's first novel, "The Chalk Man", I thought it was a superb debut that would take some living up to. She has now written three further books since then, each very good, but this latest one, "The Burning Girls" is arguably the best so far.

Recent events have forced Reverend Jack Brooks to leave Nottingham take up a new position in Chapel Croft, a close-knit community in Sussex. Chapel Croft has a history and traditions that are important to its residents, but are there darker elements at play too?

As with C.J. Tudor's previous offerings, there are the signature hints at the supernatural and it is easy to see why she is often compared to (and admired by) Stephen King, who is actually referenced in this book. However, C.J. Tudor is much more than just a British Stephen King "wannabe". She is increasingly becoming a first class storyteller who crafts extremely good mystery thrillers.

There is something very satisfying about a complicated mystery that actually makes sense. Whilst reading this, I found myself being reminded of the style of Anthony Horowitz, who also creates wonderful murder mysteries. The plot has been well thought out. The clues are there and they are gradually - sometimes very subtly - divulged as the story progresses, so that when the big reveal is finally made the reader doesn't feel that they have been cheated by a "rabbit being pulled out of the hat".

I thoroughly enjoyed this and I will be back - same time next year - for book number five!
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
11 people found this helpful
Report abuse
CathyR
5.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of surprises and red herrings....
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on February 16, 2021
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Elizabeth Brazel
5.0 out of 5 stars The Burning Girls
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 4, 2021
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
penny
4.0 out of 5 stars The burning girls
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 30, 2021
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Kindle reader
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay-ish
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 25, 2021
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse