Buy new:
$6.99
List Price: $24.95 Details
Save: $17.96 (72%)
$2.99 delivery: May 13 - 18
Fastest delivery: Thursday, May 13
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
$$6.99 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$6.99
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date, and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from GS BOOKS STORE
Sold by GS BOOKS STORE
Ships from
GS BOOKS STORE
Sold by
Return policy: This item is returnable
You may be charged a restocking fee upto 50% of item's price for used or damaged returns and upto 100% for materially different item.
<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
$10.00
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: Exquisite-Books
$14.59
& FREE Shipping on eligible orders. Details
Sold by: New Life Depot Llc
Have one to sell?
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


A Common Life: The Wedding Story (Mitford) Hardcover – January 1, 2001

4.7 out of 5 stars 812 ratings
Book 6 of 14: Mitford

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$6.99
$4.96 $0.35

Enhance your purchase


Celebrity picks - see what your favorite authors are reading

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • A Common Life: The Wedding Story (Mitford)
  • +
  • In This Mountain
  • +
  • A New Song (The Mitford Years, Book 5)
Total price: $27.04
Buy the selected items together

Special offers and product promotions

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com Review

A Common Life is a trip back in time for fans of "the little town with the big heart." Somewhere between the second and third volumes of Jan Karon's Mitford Years series, dyed-in-the-wool bachelor Father Timothy Kavanagh and his next-door neighbor Cynthia Coppersmith tied the knot. The author left it to readers' imaginations to fill in the blanks. In this delightful story, Karon paints a complete picture of the events surrounding the wedding of Mitford's best-loved couple, and chronicles the poignant and often hilarious reactions to the nuptial news by the tightly knit North Carolina community.

All the details cherished by those who are enchanted by weddings are offered here, from the color of the bridal outfit (aquamarine) to the choice of flowers (virgin's bower and hydrangeas). When the wedding bells finally ring, the pews are packed with the people who make Mitford special: ornery Uncle Billy, delightful Miss Sadie, indispensable Louella, and the cantankerous Emma Newland. And there's not a dry eye in the house when Father Tim's problematic foster child Dooley Barlowe sings for the two people who love him the most.

A Common Life is not just a wedding story. It's also an intimate portrait of the unfolding love between Cynthia and the shy Father Tim, complete with fears and hesitations, professions of commitment, and Barnabas the dog delivering love letters. But there's nothing heavy-handed here. The tensions don't run any higher than wondering if Cynthia will make it to the wedding on time after getting locked inside her own bathroom, or guessing if Esther will make her famous three-layer orange marmalade cake for the reception. Told in the warm, down-home style that Karon has built her reputation on, A Common Life is sweet without being saccharine, charming without being cloying. It's an invitation to a literary reunion of the best kind, and like all weddings, it will probably coax a few tears and plenty of smiles. --Cindy Crosby

From Publishers Weekly

Fans of Mitford, Karon's delightful fictional village in western North Carolina, will be thrilled with this newest installment, which relates an episode she skipped over in her earlier books: Father Tim and Cynthia's wedding. (He proposed at the end of the second Mitford book, and at the beginning of the third, they were already happily married.) Finally, readers get to see the stunned expressions of most Mitford residents when they hear Father Tim has actually popped the question. Readers learn about Cynthia's anxieties over the pending nuptials, share Esther Bolick's delight when Cynthia asks her to bake her famous orange marmalade cake and hum along as the Lord's Chapel parish belts out "Praise my soul the King of Heaven" at the ceremony. And as usual, Karon works in a few snippets of convincing mountain dialect. While Mitford die-hards will welcome this installment, however, the unconverted won't find much to bring them around; one has to already know Karon's eccentric characters, with all their foibles, to fully appreciate the book. Even Mitford devotees may be a touch disappointed that the trademark lessons about Christian faith that Karon weaves so seamlessly into most of her tales are more or less absent from this slim volume. (When they do appear, they stick out, as when Bishop Cullen pointedly discusses the role of sex in Christian marriage.) Still, don't be surprised if Mitford fans begin serving orange marmalade cake at their weddings, and sing hymn 410 at every opportunity. (Apr. 9)Forecast: Fresh from her 2000 Christy and ECPA Gold Medallion Awards for A New Song (book five), Karon keeps rolling along with the Mitford series. This book will no doubt please the thousands of fans who have written to Karon, asking, "Why weren't we invited to the wedding?" Six weeks before its release, the novel was hovering around the #100 position on Amazon.

Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information, Inc.


Yo-Yo Ma: Beginner's Mind
Hear an icon's life story, timeless music, and message. Listen free

Product details

  • ASIN : 0670894370
  • Publisher : Viking; 1st edition (January 1, 2001)
  • Language : English
  • Hardcover : 186 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 9780670894376
  • ISBN-13 : 978-0670894376
  • Reading age : 18 years and up
  • Lexile measure : 1000L
  • Item Weight : 1.05 pounds
  • Dimensions : 6.25 x 1.04 x 9.25 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.7 out of 5 stars 812 ratings

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
812 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on January 5, 2021
Verified Purchase
Customer image
1.0 out of 5 stars Book 5+ Stars. Seller -5
By Dawn on January 5, 2021
Jan Karon's Mitford series is one of my all-time favorite book series. So this is not a review of the books. It is a complaint about the seller. This was presented as a new copy of the hardcover version of "A Common Life". I purchased it as a gift for my mom but it came in horrible shape. As the pictures show, the cover is worn, wrinkled, and torn and there is writing inside the cover. Beware if you're buying books from this seller - especially if they're for a gift! I would have preferred to have taken my complaint directly to the seller, instead of going through reviews, but Amazon's new format makes that next to impossible.
Images in this review
Customer image Customer image Customer image
Customer imageCustomer imageCustomer image
Reviewed in the United States on September 2, 2017
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 15, 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 5, 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 23, 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on May 16, 2001
Verified Purchase
15 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 29, 2016
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 13, 2012
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

B.Turner
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Wonderful Story From Mitford!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 11, 2016
Verified Purchase
MumChrisie
5.0 out of 5 stars A happy customer
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on November 20, 2017
Verified Purchase
Mrs. Miranda E. Caley
5.0 out of 5 stars good service thanks
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 3, 2011
Verified Purchase
vivien
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 30, 2014
Verified Purchase
Johnno
5.0 out of 5 stars a good read.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on November 27, 2014
Verified Purchase
Pages with related products. See and discover other items: dmv book