Buy new:
$16.92
List Price: $22.99
Save: $6.07 (26%)
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime
FREE delivery Friday, May 27 if you spend $25 on items shipped by Amazon. Order within 10 hrs 36 mins
Or fastest delivery Thursday, May 26
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
[{"displayPrice":"$16.92","priceAmount":16.92,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"16","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"92","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"fPZAY1FInjFHwhodjFV9vEI0zDGWordgR5OT3iqU82nqD89LklQVfjxGRM5hjyXI7xENvjBuVf89rb5oPzNXiay%2BQRI2vDvsLYAd2pfzHGPTIBz5ipvENDNIcdbxY40iTyHrlvFFlxvctA4dYKag4Q%3D%3D","locale":"en-US","buyingOptionType":"NEW"}]
$$16.92 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$16.92
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date, and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Return policy: Eligible for Return, Refund or Replacement within 30 days of receipt
This item can be returned in its original condition for a full refund or replacement within 30 days of receipt.
Cuba in My Pocket has been added to your Cart
Share <Embed>
Have one to sell?
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Cuba in My Pocket Audio CD – Unabridged, September 21, 2021

4.7 out of 5 stars 34 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Audio CD, MP3 Audio, Unabridged
$16.92
$16.92 $17.48

Enhance your purchase


Inspire a love of reading with Amazon Book Box for Kids
Discover delightful children's books with Amazon Book Box, a subscription that delivers new books every 1, 2, or 3 months — new Amazon Book Box Prime customers receive 15% off your first box. Learn more.

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Adrianna Cuevas is a first-generation Cuban-American originally from Miami, Florida. After teaching Spanish and ESOL for sixteen years, she decided to pursue her passion for storytelling. When not writing, she enjoys hiking, traveling, and cooking lots of Cuban food with her husband and son in Austin, Texas.

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Dreamscape Media; Unabridged edition (September 21, 2021)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 166651098X
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1666510980
  • Reading age ‏ : ‎ 8 - 12 years
  • Grade level ‏ : ‎ 3 - 7
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 6.4 ounces
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 6.04 x 1.13 x 5.04 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.7 out of 5 stars 34 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Adrianna Cuevas is a first-generation Cuban-American originally from Miami, Florida. After teaching Spanish and ESOL for sixteen years, she decided to pursue her passion for storytelling. Adrianna currently resides outside of Austin, TX with her husband and son where they enjoy hiking, traveling, and cooking lots of Cuban food. The Total Eclipse of Nestor Lopez is her middle-grade debut.

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
34 global ratings
5 star
81%
4 star
11%
3 star
8%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on October 29, 2021
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Important #OwnVoices Book for Middle-Grade Students
Reviewed in the United States on October 29, 2021
When Fidel Castro liberates Cuba, 12-year-old Cumba Fernandez doesn’t feel liberated. He feels scared. Soldiers with guns on every street corner, neighbors whispering against neighbor, and his comfortable life in Santa Clara no longer feels comfortable. His parents, a lawyer and a dentist, come under scrutiny from the new regime.

In fact, one solider, a boyhood friend of his father’s, seems to take particular interest in the Fernandez family and their loyalty to Castro’s cause. When he demands Cumba join Castro’s Young Rebel movement, the Fernandez family bands together to get Cumba out of Cuba before the deadline.

In 1961, leaving Cuba means giving up all connection with home—except for infrequent letters. Will Cumba’s family ever make it out alive? And how will he ever fit in at a new school where he doesn’t understand the teachers or the students?

Why I Loved this Book

My husband and his family escaped from Cuba in 1969. I’ve heard stories from his family about their time in Cuba (he was three when they left, so doesn’t remember much), and Cuevas’s book helps me understand the political and social upheaval my husband and his family experienced.

Readers will appreciate Cumba’s sense of humor and adaptability in the face of peril. Although Cumba sees and hears things he wishes he could unsee and unhear, he finds ways to cling to the positive. When he lands in a foreign country with no close family members, he forages friendships and builds relationships which will help sustain him while he awaits word from Cuba.

Cuevas paints beautifully poignant pictures of Cuba, family, and friendships. Readers will appreciate this own-voices book for the lyrical beauty of the words and the understanding it brings to the complexities of history, immigration, and childhood. Fans of Laura Ojeda Melchor and Angeline Boulley will enjoy Cuba in My Pocket.
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on October 17, 2021
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on October 5, 2021
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 11, 2022
Reviewed in the United States on September 26, 2021
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 10, 2022
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 20, 2022
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on September 26, 2021
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse