Buying Options

Kindle Price: $13.99

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.
Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Dead Silence by [S.A. Barnes]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Dead Silence Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 1,699 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$13.99

Limited-Time Offer
Join Audible Premium Plus for 60% off. Get this deal
Popular Highlights in this book

From the Publisher

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

S.A. BARNES works in a high school library by day, recommending reads, talking with students, and removing the occasional forgotten cheese-stick-as-bookmark. The author has published numerous novels across different genres, but Dead Silence is the first published as S. A. Barnes. Barnes lives in Illinois with more dogs and books than is advisable and a very patient spouse. --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Review

“This is great, immersive, atmospheric space horror that shows Barnes is a talented storyteller and proves that, despite rumors to the contrary, horror belongs in space.” ―Locus

Dead Silence mixes horror, mystery and sci-fi into a thrill ride sure to shock you out of your reading rut. This is one of those time-warp books―the ones where you look away from the clock, then look back and it’s suddenly way past your bedtime.” ―BookPage, Starred Review

“With a compelling haunted-house-in-space frame, excellent worldbuilding, vivid imagery, biting social commentary, sustained tension, and a storytelling style that seamlessly moves between the mortal danger of the present and Kovalik's unsettling past, this sf-horror blend will resonate loudly with readers.” ―Library Journal

"Stomach-turning, sinister space horror perfect for fans of
Alien and Event Horizon." ―Kendare Blake, #1 New York Times bestselling author

“I ate this book in one sitting because I was in the mood to be freaked out and it delivered tremendously. Truly un-put-downable in its purest sense.” ―Chloe Gong, #1
New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights

"At the intersection of science fiction and horror,
Dead Silence is the ultimate haunted house story, in space." ―Alma Katsu, author of The Deep and The Hunger

“Barnes is giving you
Titanic but make it scary, she’s giving you Event Horizon, she’s giving you Ghost Ship; for real, this book will make your skin crawl.” ―BookRiot

"This story slides and slithers from creepy and atmospheric to skin-crawling, edge-of-your-seat terror." ―T. Kingfisher, author of
The Hollow Places

“Dead Silence gives you the suffocating claustrophobia of 2001: A Space Odyssey mixed with the horrors of Alien. I couldn't stop reading.” ―Mur Lafferty, Hugo Award-Winning author of Six Wakes

"Barnes ably conjures the kind of haunting setting and atmosphere required for this
Event Horizon-esque novel... Recommended for fans of claustrophobic space horror." Booklist

“Barnes plays nicely on human fears of both madness and of ghosts, carefully blurring the line between science fiction and horror... Those with a taste for blending genres will enjoy this combo.” ―
Publishers Weekly

"Creepy and satisfying; I'll be checking under my bed tonight." ―Sarah Pinsker, author of the Nebula Award winning
A Song For A New Day

"I've always considered
Alien the high mark of sci-fi horror. No longer. Dead Silence leaves it in the dust." ―Lisa Shearin, New York Times bestselling author

"
Dead Silence will keep you awake at night....Expertly paced, this novel is full of old ghosts in every way possible, and will haunt you long after the last page." ―Laurie Faria Stolarz, author of Jane Anonymous

"I was turning pages long into the night, and the bags under my eyes are well worth it!" ―Rachel Vincent,
New York Times bestselling author of Red Wolf

"Compulsive reading at its best. A sci-fi horror so expertly delivered you'll be peeking through your fingers until the last page!" ―Melissa Landers, author of the
Alienated and Starflight series

"The richly realized world that S.A. Barnes creates draws us in, and the relatable characters charm us. The dread mounts to a powerful conclusion." ―David Wellington, author of
The Last Astronaut

--This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B0951SCZRK
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Tor Nightfire (February 8, 2022)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ February 8, 2022
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 6241 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Sticky notes ‏ : ‎ On Kindle Scribe
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 343 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.2 out of 5 stars 1,699 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

S.A. BARNES works in a high school library by day, recommending reads, talking with students, and removing the occasional forgotten cheese stick as bookmark. Barnes has published numerous novels across different genres under the pen name Stacey Kade. She lives in Illinois with more dogs and books than is advisable and a very patient husband.

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5
1,699 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on May 8, 2022
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on April 29, 2022
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on November 9, 2022

Top reviews from other countries

G. Noble
5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric & very eerie - loved it! 5 stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on September 25, 2022
A Hunter
1.0 out of 5 stars In Space No One Can Hear You...Yawn
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on February 28, 2022
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Karl
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid page turner, thourghly enjoyed
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on June 11, 2022
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on April 9, 2022
Ruby Jane
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed the book so much! ♥️
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on March 25, 2022
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?