List Price: $27.99 Details

The List Price is the suggested retail price of a new product as provided by a manufacturer, supplier, or seller. Except for books, Amazon will display a List Price if the product was purchased by customers on Amazon or offered by other retailers at or above the List Price in at least the past 90 days. List prices may not necessarily reflect the product's prevailing market price.
Learn more
Save: $7.50 (27%)
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime FREE Returns
Return this item for free
  • Free returns are available for the shipping address you chose. You can return the item for any reason in new and unused condition: no shipping charges
  • Learn more about free returns.
FREE delivery Saturday, February 11 if you spend $25 on items shipped by Amazon
Or fastest delivery Friday, February 10. Order within 19 hrs 6 mins
In Stock.
[{"displayPrice":"$20.49","priceAmount":20.49,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"20","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"49","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"y6dbkcc3STSFqZoW6Pv8K%2FiKvnyoK7VFy13a6Cl5md%2B6vsvyRVLsHl7x60G4HwIiokbJnswcM50VCHiaCOml3biwsROsf8SrADUZ4OysiEpIsHaou5SdjBLrvuKbQ%2FqRGeyJSQyjWIiVWs7LJw4WXw%3D%3D","locale":"en-US","buyingOptionType":"NEW"},{"displayPrice":"$19.44","priceAmount":19.44,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"19","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"44","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"YfJ3avCCSOqLRFiS3kuS7Lqyv1N0L6mR5CZZz%2Fguaecg%2BU50wOPT9msIHu9KKw6TbaJC%2BJQcVhQc%2FEWSV1N%2Fu3SDwxUrs%2BlCqVSqdi7%2BbUnnMAKloTvgddUM3hQTbQ3G6LzUR%2BbQTH%2FOmnRSmYF%2FXnkrnJxeXSwhLVi0RNVfXKbMI6b2szRrX01qRhfmNkxR","locale":"en-US","buyingOptionType":"USED"}]
$$20.49 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$20.49
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date, and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Return policy: Eligible for Return, Refund or Replacement within 30 days of receipt
This item can be returned in its original condition for a full refund or replacement within 30 days of receipt.
Dead Silence has been added to your Cart
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime
FREE delivery Wednesday, February 15 if you spend $25 on items shipped by Amazon
Or fastest delivery February 12 - 14
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by BILL'S BUYS
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Book is in Like New Condition. Crisp, clean pages with no notation or highlights, clean cover and/or dust jacket with only the slightest, if any, cosmetic defects (marks, wears, bends, crushes), and sturdy binding. Eligible for FREE Prime Shipping! Fast Amazon shipping plus a hassle free return policy means your satisfaction of this purchase is guaranteed! Tracking number provided in your Amazon account with every order!
Access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.
Have one to sell?
Other Sellers on Amazon
Added
$20.00
& FREE Shipping
Sold by: 😎 Pacific Coast Book Sellers 🇺🇸
Sold by: 😎 Pacific Coast Book Sellers 🇺🇸
(1661 ratings)
98% positive over last 12 months
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Added
$19.17
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: indoobestsellers
Sold by: indoobestsellers
(234049 ratings)
91% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Usually ships within 4 to 5 days.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Added
$24.11
& FREE Shipping
Sold by: BookExcellence
Sold by: BookExcellence
(2035 ratings)
87% positive over last 12 months
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle for Web.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Dead Silence Hardcover – February 8, 2022

4.2 out of 5 stars 1,990 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$20.49
$16.00 $6.48

Enhance your purchase


"The Light Through the Leaves" by Glendy Vanderah for $8.79
A transcendent novel of love, loss, and self-discovery by the Wall Street Journal bestselling author of Where the Forest Meets the Stars. | Learn more

Frequently bought together

  • Dead Silence
  • +
  • The Kaiju Preservation Society
  • +
  • Sea of Tranquility: A novel
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Choose items to buy together.
Popular Highlights in this book

From the Publisher

Editorial Reviews

Review

“I ate this book in one sitting because I was in the mood to be freaked out and it delivered tremendously. Truly un-put-downable in its purest sense.” ―Chloe Gong, #1 New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights

"Stomach-turning, sinister space horror perfect for fans of
Alien and Event Horizon." ―Kendare Blake, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"At the intersection of science fiction and horror,
Dead Silence is the ultimate haunted house story, in space." ―Alma Katsu, author of The Deep and The Hunger

“This is great, immersive, atmospheric space horror that shows Barnes is a talented storyteller and proves that, despite rumors to the contrary, horror belongs in space.” ―
Locus

Dead Silence mixes horror, mystery and sci-fi into a thrill ride sure to shock you out of your reading rut. This is one of those time-warp books―the ones where you look away from the clock, then look back and it’s suddenly way past your bedtime.” ―BookPage, Starred Review

“With a compelling haunted-house-in-space frame, excellent worldbuilding, vivid imagery, biting social commentary, sustained tension, and a storytelling style that seamlessly moves between the mortal danger of the present and Kovalik's unsettling past, this sf-horror blend will resonate loudly with readers.” ―Library Journal

“Barnes is giving you
Titanic but make it scary, she’s giving you Event Horizon, she’s giving you Ghost Ship; for real, this book will make your skin crawl.” ―BookRiot

"This story slides and slithers from creepy and atmospheric to skin-crawling, edge-of-your-seat terror." ―
T. Kingfisher, author of What Moves the Dead

“Dead Silence gives you the suffocating claustrophobia of 2001: A Space Odyssey mixed with the horrors of Alien. I couldn't stop reading.” ―Mur Lafferty, Hugo Award-Winning author of Six Wakes

"Barnes ably conjures the kind of haunting setting and atmosphere required for this
Event Horizon-esque novel... Recommended for fans of claustrophobic space horror." Booklist

“Barnes plays nicely on human fears of both madness and of ghosts, carefully blurring the line between science fiction and horror... Those with a taste for blending genres will enjoy this combo.” ―
Publishers Weekly

"Creepy and satisfying; I'll be checking under my bed tonight." ―
Sarah Pinsker, author of the Nebula Award winning A Song For A New Day

"I've always considered
Alien the high mark of sci-fi horror. No longer. Dead Silence leaves it in the dust." ―Lisa Shearin, New York Times bestselling author

"
Dead Silence will keep you awake at night....Expertly paced, this novel is full of old ghosts in every way possible, and will haunt you long after the last page." ―Laurie Faria Stolarz, author of Jane Anonymous

"I was turning pages long into the night, and the bags under my eyes are well worth it!" ―
Rachel Vincent, New York Times bestselling author of Red Wolf

"Compulsive reading at its best. A sci-fi horror so expertly delivered you'll be peeking through your fingers until the last page!" ―
Melissa Landers, author of the Alienated and Starflight series

"The richly realized world that S.A. Barnes creates draws us in, and the relatable characters charm us. The dread mounts to a powerful conclusion." ―
David Wellington, author of The Last Astronaut

About the Author

S.A. BARNES works in a high school library by day, recommending reads, talking with students, and removing the occasional forgotten cheese-stick-as-bookmark. The author has published numerous novels across different genres, but Dead Silence is the first published as S. A. Barnes. Barnes lives in Illinois with more dogs and books than is advisable and a very patient spouse.

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Tor Nightfire (February 8, 2022)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 352 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1250819997
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1250819994
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 10.6 ounces
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 5.8 x 1.15 x 8.65 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.2 out of 5 stars 1,988 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

S.A. BARNES works in a high school library by day, recommending reads, talking with students, and removing the occasional forgotten cheese stick as bookmark. Barnes has published numerous novels across different genres under the pen name Stacey Kade. She lives in Illinois with more dogs and books than is advisable and a very patient husband.

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5
1,990 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on January 29, 2023
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on May 8, 2022
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

A Hunter
1.0 out of 5 stars In Space No One Can Hear You...Yawn
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on February 28, 2022
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
G. Noble
5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric & very eerie - loved it! 5 stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on September 25, 2022
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Vaughan Harris
3.0 out of 5 stars Starts well enough but falls apart later
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on January 18, 2023
Dalek009
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on January 12, 2023
Karl
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid page turner, thourghly enjoyed
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on June 11, 2022