Included with a Kindle Unlimited membership.
Buy used:
$6.61
FREE delivery: Dec 9 - 14
Used: Good | Details
Sold by Hippo Books
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Gently used may contain ex-library markings, possibly has some light highlighting, textual notations, and or underlining. Text is still easily readable.
<Embed>
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing "Send link," you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message & data rates may apply.

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


From a Distant Star Hardcover – May 19, 2015

4.4 out of 5 stars 1,532 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$6.61
$2.63

Teachers' picks | Explore children's books by grade

Special offers and product promotions

  • Create your FREE Amazon Business account to save up to 10% with Business-only prices and free shipping.

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 7 Up—Emma is desperately in love with her gorgeous all-star boyfriend, Lucas, who is dying of cancer. His friends and family have given up on his recovery. Emma, who cannot imagine a world without him, is the only person who believes that Lucas can be brought back from the brink of death. A mysterious object crash-lands in the yard and that same night Lucas begins a swift and miraculous recovery. When strange government agents show up asking about the crash, Emma knows that something is not right. She quickly realizes that Lucas is not the same person he was before his illness. His body has been invaded by a benign alien life force, named Scout. Before the dangerous government agents find them, Emma and Scout embark on a mission to send Scout back to his home planet and give Lucas back his body. The plot is fast paced and easy to dive into, making this a quick and exciting read. Emma is very much in in love with Lucas, which can make her character come off as clingy and overly dependent. The secondary characters are two-dimensional and sometimes unbelievable in that they each serve a very specific role in making a seemingly impossible situation unrealistically possible. VERDICT Aside from these minor character flaws, this book is an enjoyable stand-alone read for a new science fiction fan.—Annalise Ammer, Henrietta Public Library, NY

Review

“The plot is fast paced and easy to dive into, making this a quick and exciting read.” School Library Journal

“Left me in tears! It was a great adventure and I’m glad I got to tag along for the ride.” Book YAbber

From A Distant Star is a fast-paced action book. For fans of The Host and I Am Number Four, this one’s for you.” Paperback Princesses

“A quick read with a happily ever after.” Catch These Words

“Amazing and thrilling and romantic.” The Tale Temptress

From A Distant Star by Karen McQuestion is soooo good! It has alien type beings, romance, a race against time, a WITCH, and many more amazing things!”Benjaminoftomes

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Skyscape (May 19, 2015)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 280 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1477830170
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1477830178
  • Reading age ‏ : ‎ 12 - 18 years
  • Grade level ‏ : ‎ 7 - 12
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 1 pounds
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 5.5 x 1 x 8.25 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.4 out of 5 stars 1,532 ratings

Audible Holiday Deal
Join Audible Premium Plus for 60% off. Only $5.95 a month for the first 3 months. Get this deal

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Click on the Follow link to be notified of Karen's new releases!

Karen McQuestion is an Amazon Charts bestselling author who's written more than twenty novels and has sold over two million books worldwide. She's also the co-host, (along with USA Today bestselling author Tess Thompson), of the popular podcast, BEHIND THE BOOK.

Her publishing story has been covered by the Wall Street Journal, Entertainment Weekly, and NPR and she has appeared on ABC's World News Now and America This Morning. McQuestion’s books share common themes of connection and kindness. She lives in Hartland, Wisconsin.

From Karen: To be notified of giveaways and book news, please sign up for my email newsletter at www.karenmcquestion.com

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
1,532 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on April 1, 2017
Verified Purchase
73 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 27, 2020
Verified Purchase
19 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 4, 2017
Verified Purchase
35 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 6, 2018
Verified Purchase
19 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 30, 2021
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 27, 2019
Verified Purchase
13 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Kindle CustomerDiane
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 30, 2016
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Another amazing book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 26, 2018
Verified Purchase
Robin H
5.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 13, 2020
Verified Purchase
Kathleen W.
3.0 out of 5 stars 2.5 stars, better left for preteen readers
Reviewed in Canada on October 23, 2017
Verified Purchase