Buy new:
$7.49
List Price: $9.99
Save: $2.50 (25%)
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime & FREE Returns
Return this item for free
  • Free returns are available for the shipping address you chose. You can return the item for any reason in new and unused condition: no shipping charges
  • Learn more about free returns.
FREE delivery Saturday, July 2 if you spend $25 on items shipped by Amazon
Or fastest delivery Tuesday, June 28. Order within 22 hrs 47 mins
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
[{"displayPrice":"$7.49","priceAmount":7.49,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"7","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"49","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"UnvZvQb%2BEkAVs04k7huCLMeTl0u44vDhvdkdYT0c%2BZAOa9usmohJkm2dLa9stzlbHFEUjwI%2F4ZW48lotC784xNL4SFh1m772pQR0X3%2BvNWfisKC6y7Eh2lAq9BeUFYMNfslO1t0L%2FhfP%2FxTIJLI%2BRw%3D%3D","locale":"en-US","buyingOptionType":"NEW"}]
$$7.49 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$7.49
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date, and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Return policy: Eligible for Return, Refund or Replacement within 30 days of receipt
This item can be returned in its original condition for a full refund or replacement within 30 days of receipt.
Force of Nature: A Novel has been added to your Cart
Share <Embed>
Have one to sell?
Other Sellers on Amazon
Added
$7.56
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: TheWorldShopUSA
Sold by: TheWorldShopUSA
(4285 ratings)
86% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Usually ships within 2 to 3 days.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Added
$7.82
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: indoobestsellers
Sold by: indoobestsellers
(232543 ratings)
91% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Usually ships within 4 to 5 days.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Added
$12.26
& FREE Shipping
Sold by: bargainbookstores-
Sold by: bargainbookstores-
(442816 ratings)
96% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Usually ships within 3 to 4 days.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Force of Nature: A Novel Mass Market Paperback – July 30, 2019

4.3 out of 5 stars 7,030 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Mass Market Paperback
$7.49
$7.07 $1.28

Enhance your purchase


"Fun Dog, Sun Dog" by Deborah Heiligman
Tinka is a sweet dog, a treat dog, a jumping-up-to-greet dog. A fun dog, a sun dog, a run-and-run-and-run dog.| Learn more

Frequently bought together

  • Force of Nature: A Novel
  • +
  • The Dry: A Novel
  • +
  • The Lost Man
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Choose items to buy together.
Popular Highlights in this book

Editorial Reviews

Review

"Compelling...Harper continues the intense plotting and detail for characters and setting that she established in The Dry."
―Associated Press

"All of the novel's characters have been drawn with exceptional complexity, and none more so than Aaron Falk...So much more than a conventional detective, the reflective and compassionate Falk provides the book's moral compass."
―New York Times Book Review

“Secrets revealed as the investigation unfolds will keep readers guessing until the unlikely plot reveals itself in the last pages of the novel. Fans of her debut book
The Dry will find Force of Nature lives up to the exciting expectations Harper is becoming known for building.”
―Florida Times-Union

Force of Nature reinforces Harper’s gift for creating characters with complicated relationships and especially for writing about wild landscapes, where anything can happen.”
LitHub

“Even more impressive than
The Dry…An almost unbearable level of suspense…Nature is a hostile, unpredictable force in both of Harper’s novels, but her brilliance lies in making it into a test of horribly fallible human nature.”
Sunday Times

“While the plot unfolds at an expertly controlled pace and is resolved in a satisfyingly ambiguous fashion, it is the relationships between the women that drive the novel…Thoughtful, moving, troubling.”
―Irish Times

"Both novels are intense, deeply intelligent psychological thrillers that explore how our pasts – especially our childhoods – mold and disrupt our lives in the present."
―Christian Science Monitor

"Riveting, tension-driven thriller…Perfect for fans of Tana French and readers who enjoy literary page-turners.”
Booklist, starred review

“Harper’s crackerjack plotting propels the story…Harper layers her story with hidden depths, expertly mining the distrust between Alice and her four colleagues, and the secrets that simmer under the surface…A spooky, compelling read.”
Kirkus

“Stellar… The briefest dip into the prologue results in stomach-tightening anticipation that begs the reader to continue… [Harper] infuses the narrative with energy and atmosphere as Falk plumbs professional and personal relationships for clues to Alice's fate.”
Shelf Awareness

"Set against the fascinating backdrop of a wild, rural location in south Australia...Presents an intriguing crime that might not actually exist and potential suspects with realistically complex personalities and possible motives. The two story lines, past and present, collide with a satisfying yet not gratuitous conclusion."
Library Journal

“A gripping tale of an elemental battle for survival…Harper once again shows herself to be a storytelling force to be reckoned with.”
Publishers Weekly

“Jane Harper is a must-read writer, and Aaron Falk is the Harry Bosch of the outback.
Force Of Nature is a remarkable hybrid of suspense, wilderness survival, memorable characters, and gorgeous writing.”
―Michael Koryta,
New York Times bestselling author of Those Who Wish Me Dead

“I loved
The Dry. Force of Nature is even better. Brilliantly paced, it wrong-foots the reader like a rocky trail through the bush. I adored it.”
―Susie Steiner, bestselling author of
Missing, Presumed and Persons Unknown

“A major voice in contemporary fiction. Like Tana French's Dublin Murder Squad series and Kate Atkinson's Jackson Brodie novels, Jane Harper's deftly plotted mysteries double as sensitive inquiries into human nature, behavior, and psychology. And like
The Dry, Force of Nature bristles with wit; it crackles with suspense; it radiates atmosphere. An astonishing book from an astonishing writer.”
―A.J. Finn, author of
The Woman in the Window

“Lord of the Flies in the Australian outback, with grown women in place of school boys. I loved every chilling moment of it. A blistering follow-up to The Dry from one of the best new voices in crime fiction.”
―Sarah Hilary, author of the bestselling DI Marnie Rome series

“Manages to be two things at once. It's a financially skewed police procedural with a likeable detective with his own personal trajectory at its heart, and it's something of a "locked room mystery". The fact that the "locked room" is neither in a vicarage, nor on an island, but somewhere in the claustrophobic vastness of the Australian bush renders
Force of Nature all the more original and engaging.”
Sydney Morning Herald

“As thick with menace as the bush that seems to swallow the difficult Alice…
Force of Nature cuts between past and present, corporate and domestic, and cements its author as one of Australia’s boldest thriller writers.” ―Australian Women’s Weekly

"The narrative is finely constructed, with perfectly measured pace and suspense. So much so that it reminded me of another master of form, Liane Moriarty...There are echoes of Picnic at Hanging Rock and Lord of the Flies as any appearance of civility slips away and the women lose direction in a hostile landscape."
The Saturday Paper (Aus)

"Harper’s mastery of pace makes
Force Of Nature one of 2017’s best thrillers."
Elle (Aus)

"Gripping thriller will have readers hooked."
Sunday Telegraph

"
Force of Nature proves Jane Harper, author of The Dry, is no one-hit wonder. Its premise is instantly gripping."
Herald Sun (Aus)

About the Author

Jane Harper is the New York Times bestselling author of The Dry, Force of Nature, and The Lost Man. Jane previously worked as a print journalist in Australia and the UK and lives in Melbourne with her husband, daughter, and son.

Virtual lessons for curious minds
Amazon Explore Browse now

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Flatiron Books; Reprint edition (July 30, 2019)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Mass Market Paperback ‏ : ‎ 448 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1250214629
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1250214621
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 9.6 ounces
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 4.07 x 1.21 x 7.54 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.3 out of 5 stars 7,030 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Jane Harper is the author of The Dry, winner of various awards including the 2015 Victorian Premier's Literary Award for an Unpublished Manuscript, the 2017 Indie Award Book of the Year, the 2017 Australian Book Industry Awards Book of the Year Award and the CWA Gold Dagger Award for the best crime novel of 2017. Rights have been sold in 27 territories worldwide, and film rights optioned to Reese Witherspoon and Bruna Papandrea. Jane worked as a print journalist for thirteen years both in Australia and the UK and lives in Melbourne.

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5
7,030 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on April 12, 2018
109 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 27, 2018
20 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 10, 2018
59 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 15, 2020
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Orna G
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 30, 2018
27 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Female Reader
4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric tale of missing hiker in Australian mountains
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 1, 2017
36 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Bluecashmere.
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning story.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 13, 2019
13 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Kee Lady
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but not as good as The Dry
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 4, 2018
15 people found this helpful
Report abuse
M. Sumner
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Stunner from Jane Harper
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 12, 2018
13 people found this helpful
Report abuse