List Price: $16.99 Details
Save: $1.70 (10%)
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime & FREE Returns
Return this item for free
  • Free returns are available for the shipping address you chose. You can return the item for any reason in new and unused condition: no shipping charges
  • Learn more about free returns.
How to return the item?
FREE delivery:
Get free shipping
Free shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items shipped by Amazon.
Or get faster shipping on this item starting at $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
Monday, Dec 6 on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon. Details
Fastest delivery: Saturday, Dec 4
Order within 4 hrs and 14 mins
Details
In Stock.
$$15.29 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$15.29
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date, and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Return policy: Returnable until Jan 31, 2022
For the 2021 holiday season, returnable items purchased between October 1 and December 31 can be returned until January 31, 2022
Giraffes Can't Dance has been added to your Cart
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime
FREE delivery:
Get free shipping
Free shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items shipped by Amazon.
Or get faster shipping on this item starting at $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
Dec 28 - 30 on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon. Details
Fastest delivery: Dec 21 - 22
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Good condition. Book shows normal use/wear. Cover edges may have some slight wear or wrinkles. All pages are intact and readable. No highlights/markings. Satisfaction guaranteed and free shipping via Amazon Prime!
Other Sellers on Amazon
$12.05
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: SuperBookDeals-
Sold by: SuperBookDeals-
(348307 ratings)
77% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Usually ships within 4 to 5 days.
Shipping rates and Return policy
$13.44
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: Ambis Enterprises
Sold by: Ambis Enterprises
(17775 ratings)
84% positive over last 12 months
Only 15 left in stock - order soon.
Shipping rates and Return policy
$19.61
& FREE Shipping
Sold by: GrandEagleRetail
Sold by: GrandEagleRetail
(3114 ratings)
89% positive over last 12 months
Only 3 left in stock - order soon.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing "Send link," you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message & data rates may apply.

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Authors

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Giraffes Can't Dance Hardcover – September 1, 2001

4.9 out of 5 stars 1,685 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Hardcover
$15.29
$10.00 $1.55

Enhance your purchase


Inspire a love of reading with Amazon Book Box for Kids
Discover delightful children's books with Amazon Book Box, a subscription that delivers new books every 1, 2, or 3 months — new Amazon Book Box Prime customers receive 15% off your first box. Sign up now

Buy it with

  • Giraffes Can't Dance
  • +
  • Where's Spot?
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Choose items to buy together.

Special offers and product promotions

  • Create your FREE Amazon Business account to save up to 10% with Business-only prices and free shipping.

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com Review

Gerald the giraffe doesn't really have delusions of grandeur. He just wants to dance. But his knees are crooked and his legs are thin, and all the other animals mock him when he approaches the dance floor at the annual Jungle Dance. "Hey, look at clumsy Gerald," they sneer. "Oh, Gerald, you're so weird." Poor Gerald slinks away as the chimps cha-cha, rhinos rock 'n' roll, and warthogs waltz. But an encouraging word from an unlikely source shows this glum giraffe that those who are different "just need a different song," and soon he is prancing and sashaying and boogying to moon music (with a cricket accompanist). In the vein of Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer, Gerald's fickle "friends" quickly decide he's worthy of their attention again.

With this rhyming, poignant (in a cartoonish way) tale, Giles Andreae, author of Rumble in the Jungle, and numerous other picture books, shows insecure young readers that everyone can be wonderful, even those that march to the beat of a different cricket. The rhymes are somewhat awkward, but the bold, bright watercolors by Guy Parker-Rees will invite readers to kick up their heels and find their own internal harmony. (Ages 3 to 6) --Emilie Coulter

From Publishers Weekly

All the jungle's got the beat, but Gerald the giraffe has four left feet. Such is the dilemma in this British team's bouncy if didactic picture book about self-esteem. As a multitude of fleet-footed beasts eagerly "skip and prance" at the annual Jungle Dance in Africa, Gerald feels sad "because when it comes to dancing/ he was really very bad." Jeered by waltzing warthogs and cha-cha-ing chimps when he attempts to cut a rug, Gerald hangs his head and leaves the celebration behind. Luckily, a friendly cricket appears in the moonlight, chirping a morale-boosting song of self-confidence that soon sets Gerald in graceful motion. Andreae's rhyming text has a jaunty rhythm that's likely to spark interest in the read-aloud crowd, in spite of a heavy-handed message. Parker-Rees's kicky depictions of slightly anthropomorphic animals boogying on the dance floor are the highlight here. His watercolor and pen-and-ink artwork exudes a fun, party vibe. Ages 3-6.

Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information, Inc.

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Orchard Books; 1st American edition (September 1, 2001)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 32 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0439287197
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0439287197
  • Reading age ‏ : ‎ 4 - 8 years
  • Lexile measure ‏ : ‎ AD570L
  • Grade level ‏ : ‎ Preschool - 3
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 1.2 pounds
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 9.8 x 0.5 x 12 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.9 out of 5 stars 1,685 ratings

Audible Holiday Deal
Join Audible Premium Plus for 60% off. Only $5.95 a month for the first 3 months. Get this deal

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Giles has written many award-winning and best-selling children's books, including the global classic, Giraffes Can't Dance. Other titles include Elephant Me, Rumble in the Jungle, Winnie-the-Pooh: the Great Heffalump Hunt, Captain Flinn & the Pirate Dinosaurs and the I Love... series with Emma Dodd. Giles is also the creator of the humorous stickman poet Purple Ronnie, and the philosopher/artist Edward Monkton. Many of his books have been adapted for the stage and screen.

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
4.9 out of 5
1,685 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on March 26, 2018
Verified Purchase
11 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 6, 2017
Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 13, 2019
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 27, 2021
Got for: 4 years oldVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 23, 2019
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on February 11, 2020
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 13, 2017
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 9, 2017
Verified Purchase
11 people found this helpful
Report abuse