List Price: $16.99 Details
Save: $3.40 (20%)
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime & FREE Returns
Return this item for free
  • Free returns are available for the shipping address you chose. You can return the item for any reason in new and unused condition: no shipping charges
  • Learn more about free returns.
How to return the item?
FREE delivery:
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
Tuesday, April 27 on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon. Details
Fastest delivery: Friday, April 23
Order within 16 hrs and 43 mins
Details
In Stock.
$$13.59 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$13.59
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date, and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from Amazon.com
Sold by Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Return policy: This item is returnable
In most cases, items shipped from Amazon.com may be returned for a full refund.
Giraffes Can't Dance has been added to your Cart
FREE Shipping
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon or get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime
FREE delivery:
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
Tuesday, April 27 on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon. Details
Fastest delivery: Friday, April 23
Order within 5 hrs and 28 mins
Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: This item shows wear including a small tear in the cover.
Other Sellers on Amazon
$8.54
+ $5.05 shipping
Sold by: Beach Plum Books
$15.13
+ Free Shipping
Sold by: Orion LLC
$12.78
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: SuperBookDeals---
Have one to sell?
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Authors

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Giraffes Can't Dance Hardcover – September 1, 2001

4.9 out of 5 stars 1,367 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Hardcover
$13.59
$8.54 $1.13

Enhance your purchase


The Amazon Book Review
The Amazon Book Review
Book recommendations, author interviews, editors' picks, and more. Read it now

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • Giraffes Can't Dance
  • +
  • The Wonderful Things You Will Be
  • +
  • If Animals Kissed Good Night
Total price: $28.79
Buy the selected items together

Special offers and product promotions

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com Review

Gerald the giraffe doesn't really have delusions of grandeur. He just wants to dance. But his knees are crooked and his legs are thin, and all the other animals mock him when he approaches the dance floor at the annual Jungle Dance. "Hey, look at clumsy Gerald," they sneer. "Oh, Gerald, you're so weird." Poor Gerald slinks away as the chimps cha-cha, rhinos rock 'n' roll, and warthogs waltz. But an encouraging word from an unlikely source shows this glum giraffe that those who are different "just need a different song," and soon he is prancing and sashaying and boogying to moon music (with a cricket accompanist). In the vein of Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer, Gerald's fickle "friends" quickly decide he's worthy of their attention again.

With this rhyming, poignant (in a cartoonish way) tale, Giles Andreae, author of Rumble in the Jungle, and numerous other picture books, shows insecure young readers that everyone can be wonderful, even those that march to the beat of a different cricket. The rhymes are somewhat awkward, but the bold, bright watercolors by Guy Parker-Rees will invite readers to kick up their heels and find their own internal harmony. (Ages 3 to 6) --Emilie Coulter

From Publishers Weekly

All the jungle's got the beat, but Gerald the giraffe has four left feet. Such is the dilemma in this British team's bouncy if didactic picture book about self-esteem. As a multitude of fleet-footed beasts eagerly "skip and prance" at the annual Jungle Dance in Africa, Gerald feels sad "because when it comes to dancing/ he was really very bad." Jeered by waltzing warthogs and cha-cha-ing chimps when he attempts to cut a rug, Gerald hangs his head and leaves the celebration behind. Luckily, a friendly cricket appears in the moonlight, chirping a morale-boosting song of self-confidence that soon sets Gerald in graceful motion. Andreae's rhyming text has a jaunty rhythm that's likely to spark interest in the read-aloud crowd, in spite of a heavy-handed message. Parker-Rees's kicky depictions of slightly anthropomorphic animals boogying on the dance floor are the highlight here. His watercolor and pen-and-ink artwork exudes a fun, party vibe. Ages 3-6.

Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information, Inc.


Go ahead, give a gift card

Product details

  • Publisher : Orchard Books; 1st American edition (September 1, 2001)
  • Language : English
  • Hardcover : 32 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 0439287197
  • ISBN-13 : 978-0439287197
  • Reading age : 4 - 8 years
  • Lexile measure : AD570L
  • Grade level : Preschool - 3
  • Item Weight : 1.2 pounds
  • Dimensions : 9.8 x 0.5 x 12 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.9 out of 5 stars 1,367 ratings

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
4.9 out of 5
1,367 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on March 26, 2018
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 6, 2017
Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 23, 2019
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 13, 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 13, 2017
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on February 11, 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 9, 2017
Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on February 3, 2015
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse