List Price: $16.99
Save: $2.40 (14%)
FREE Shipping on your first order. Details
Arrives: Friday, Aug 21
Fastest delivery: Wednesday, Aug 19 Details
In Stock.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
FREE Shipping on your first order. Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: No highlighting or underlining. Some wear and possible sticker to cover or spine but overall in good condition. Ships directly from Amazon and is eligible for prime or super saver (free) shipping.

Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$12.82
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: SuperBookDeals---
Add to Cart
$16.82
& FREE Shipping on eligible orders. Details
Sold by: Adams' Books and More
Add to Cart
$18.30
+ Free Shipping
Sold by: ZiFiti
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

Follow the Authors

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Giraffes Can't Dance Hardcover – September 1, 2001

4.9 out of 5 stars 714 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Hardcover
$14.59
$12.82 $2.00

The Amazon Book Review
The Amazon Book Review
Book recommendations, author interviews, editors' picks, and more. Read it now.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • Giraffes Can't Dance
  • +
  • If Animals Kissed Good Night
  • +
  • The Wonderful Things You Will Be
Total price: $30.15
Buy the selected items together

Special offers and product promotions

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com Review

Gerald the giraffe doesn't really have delusions of grandeur. He just wants to dance. But his knees are crooked and his legs are thin, and all the other animals mock him when he approaches the dance floor at the annual Jungle Dance. "Hey, look at clumsy Gerald," they sneer. "Oh, Gerald, you're so weird." Poor Gerald slinks away as the chimps cha-cha, rhinos rock 'n' roll, and warthogs waltz. But an encouraging word from an unlikely source shows this glum giraffe that those who are different "just need a different song," and soon he is prancing and sashaying and boogying to moon music (with a cricket accompanist). In the vein of Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer, Gerald's fickle "friends" quickly decide he's worthy of their attention again.

With this rhyming, poignant (in a cartoonish way) tale, Giles Andreae, author of Rumble in the Jungle, and numerous other picture books, shows insecure young readers that everyone can be wonderful, even those that march to the beat of a different cricket. The rhymes are somewhat awkward, but the bold, bright watercolors by Guy Parker-Rees will invite readers to kick up their heels and find their own internal harmony. (Ages 3 to 6) --Emilie Coulter

From Publishers Weekly

All the jungle's got the beat, but Gerald the giraffe has four left feet. Such is the dilemma in this British team's bouncy if didactic picture book about self-esteem. As a multitude of fleet-footed beasts eagerly "skip and prance" at the annual Jungle Dance in Africa, Gerald feels sad "because when it comes to dancing/ he was really very bad." Jeered by waltzing warthogs and cha-cha-ing chimps when he attempts to cut a rug, Gerald hangs his head and leaves the celebration behind. Luckily, a friendly cricket appears in the moonlight, chirping a morale-boosting song of self-confidence that soon sets Gerald in graceful motion. Andreae's rhyming text has a jaunty rhythm that's likely to spark interest in the read-aloud crowd, in spite of a heavy-handed message. Parker-Rees's kicky depictions of slightly anthropomorphic animals boogying on the dance floor are the highlight here. His watercolor and pen-and-ink artwork exudes a fun, party vibe. Ages 3-6.

Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information, Inc.


Product details

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
4.9 out of 5
714 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?
Reviewed in the United States on March 26, 2018
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 6, 2017
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 23, 2019
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 13, 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 13, 2017
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 9, 2017
Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on February 3, 2015
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on February 11, 2020
Verified Purchase