List Price: $10.99 Details
Save: $0.80 (7%)
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime & FREE Returns
Return this item for free
  • Free returns are available for the shipping address you chose. You can return the item for any reason in new and unused condition: no shipping charges
  • Learn more about free returns.
FREE delivery Friday, June 3 if you spend $25 on items shipped by Amazon
Or fastest delivery Wednesday, June 1. Order within 1 hr 27 mins
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
[{"displayPrice":"$10.19","priceAmount":10.19,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"10","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"19","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"bRcVt4LQ3grYGS7uCtKLIZuf7qiqfqDGsP8qJKHSuN3SOg6a%2FBrBI6CLTgv%2BIuCt6ru8I%2FtV%2BCbFRTHQVUtYeaO6TWETmCvoBmXaptiefBCEp6pycyhLUNj7mFjGUuEPe5fjY6PUV5kVqbMlcs8CJA%3D%3D","locale":"en-US","buyingOptionType":"NEW"},{"displayPrice":"$5.69","priceAmount":5.69,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"5","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"69","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"K4n9L29D6PMbUv4ASdjogutYDdF%2Bxx6dxLiz0N%2F5eXa62tl1YeK2Y26xzmp8PWe8Zdja4R173pS%2FDLyEC0NOCUyboT0Ri8t7A2yxucDaoEDY9ToNtouAI68J9Qmv2JSoIgmVIclZ8hIFHOrTeBa79minfWYrPuhEhZStriKzJ7d5cVM5sEKrlclBZSraZ9Aa","locale":"en-US","buyingOptionType":"USED"}]
$$10.19 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$10.19
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date, and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Return policy: Eligible for Return, Refund or Replacement within 30 days of receipt
This item can be returned in its original condition for a full refund or replacement within 30 days of receipt.
The Girl the Sea Gave Bac... has been added to your Cart
$3.99 delivery June 6 - 13. Details
Or fastest delivery June 3 - 8. Details
Used: Good | Details
Sold by HPB-Emerald
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include companion materials, some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, may not include cd-rom or access codes. Customer service is our top priority!
Share <Embed>
Have one to sell?
Other Sellers on Amazon
Added
$12.92
& FREE Shipping
Sold by: bargainbookstores-
Sold by: bargainbookstores-
(442760 ratings)
96% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Usually ships within 3 to 4 days.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Added
$9.21
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: indoobestsellers
Sold by: indoobestsellers
(232312 ratings)
92% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Usually ships within 4 to 5 days.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Added
$9.88
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: ZiFiti
Sold by: ZiFiti
(2004 ratings)
96% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Usually ships within 4 to 5 days.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Girl the Sea Gave Back: A Novel (Sky and Sea, 2) Paperback – August 4, 2020

4.4 out of 5 stars 1,036 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$10.19
$8.03 $5.69

Enhance your purchase


Amazon First Reads | Editors' picks at exclusive prices

Frequently bought together

  • The Girl the Sea Gave Back: A Novel (Sky and Sea, 2)
  • +
  • Sky in the Deep (Sky and Sea, 1)
  • +
  • Namesake: A Novel (Fable, 2)
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Choose items to buy together.

Editorial Reviews

Review

"Lyrical prose ... and an evocative atmosphere elevate Young’s tale of war, identity, and fate." - Publishers Weekly

"Young’s lyrical writing and lush descriptions make this world of fjords and forest come alive." - Culturess

"A fast-paced and fierce atmospheric story with a heavy dose of fate and a light touch of romance." - Young Adult Book Central

"Gripping and exquisitely written.
The Girl the Sea Gave Back tore at my heart strings until I was completely unraveled. Readers will fall in love with this story, whether they are fans of Sky in the Deep or new to Adrienne Young's breathtaking world." - Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of Caraval

"Eerie and beautiful,
The Girl the Sea Gave Back is set in a world so vivid, you can almost touch it. I devoured this story of a lonely, powerful young woman with the ability to change the fate of her world, and the brave young chieftain who must stop her at all costs." - Kristen Ciccarelli, bestselling author of The Last Namsara

"Ignore this omen at your own peril--you will love this book! Perfect for fans of The Last Kingdom, it really immersed me in the Viking world that felt so mystical, complex, and fully formed. From the moment we first meet them, Tova and Halvard unravel the complicated threads of family, fate, and destiny." - A. C. Gaughen, author of
Reign the Earth

About the Author

Adrienne Young is a foodie with a deep love of history and travel and a shameless addiction to coffee. When she’s not writing, you can find her on her yoga mat, sipping wine over long dinners or disappearing into her favorite art museums. She lives with her documentary filmmaker husband and their four little wildlings in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina. She is the author of the New York Times bestselling Sky in the Deep duology and the Fable duology.

Virtual lessons for curious minds
Amazon Explore Browse now

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Wednesday Books (August 4, 2020)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 352 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 125016849X
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1250168498
  • Reading age ‏ : ‎ 12 - 18 years
  • Grade level ‏ : ‎ 7 - 9
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 11.2 ounces
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 5.49 x 0.94 x 8.26 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.4 out of 5 stars 1,036 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Adrienne Young is the New York Times, USA Today, and Indie list bestselling author of the Fable duology and the Sky in the Deep duology. She is a foodie with a deep love of history and travel and a shameless addiction to coffee. When she’s not writing, you can find her on her yoga mat, sipping wine over long dinners or disappearing into her favorite art museums. She lives with her documentary filmmaker husband and their four little wildlings in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina.

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
1,036 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on September 5, 2019
13 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on October 8, 2019
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on September 3, 2019
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Flamingo
5.0 out of 5 stars My perfect Viking style book so far!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 21, 2020
Customer image
Flamingo
5.0 out of 5 stars My perfect Viking style book so far!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 21, 2020
The Girl The Sea Gave Back; to put it quite simply was brilliant! A true Viking feeling moment of history made to feel so real by the writing and the heart of our two main characters Halvard & Tova.

This book is written from two different perspectives, of two people on the same timeline but you can always tell whose talking or thinking, whether you’re in a flashback or coming up to this persons turn of the future.

This book wasn’t very long at all and somehow you took in two characters life stories without being overwhelmed!

What I was most apprehensive about was the battle scenes I knew was coming; war was a huge foundation and direction for all these characters that I was worried by the time we finally got to it, it would be anti climatic or so many people would be fighting if mentally lose track of whose who! I’ll be honest, twice I reread a few lines to be safe I was understanding the angle of an eye sight or the direction of an arrow but the drum pounding of Viking battle was completely there!

This is an era of history that’s very important to me, I think that hugely helped with certain aspects of the story, but I do think an open minded historical fiction loving person will appreciate it to, or even just the avid fan of insanely brilliant writing!

I went through so many emotions with each character throughout this book, felt the pain, the joy and the sea salt on my lips!

I’ve been waiting to have more Vikings or Viking-esque moments in the fantasies and historical YA’s I read and this book just felt like I opened it and it’s first words were just ‘For you’.

I truly feel like I have a love hangover from these characters and I think I had made up my mind I’d feel that way about this book pretty early on!

It’s an adventure, it’s family and it’s war!
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
l proctor
5.0 out of 5 stars Can’t put it down
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 30, 2019
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Corinne
5.0 out of 5 stars It had me from the first page and I did not want it to end.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 9, 2021
Customer image
Corinne
5.0 out of 5 stars It had me from the first page and I did not want it to end.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 9, 2021
I read this immediately after finishing Sky In the Deep and again I was drawn in from the very first page and felt like I was part of the Viking clan at the end. Adrienne Young has fast become one of my top 5 writers. Everything she writes has so much passion and soul. I honestly don’t know how she can write these characters but she really does breathe life into them and they always take up room in my heart.
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
KEVIN B.
5.0 out of 5 stars A really page turner
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on June 19, 2021
Naomi Furnell
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on November 10, 2019
One person found this helpful
Report abuse