Buy used:
$13.43
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime
FREE delivery:
Get free shipping
Free shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items shipped by Amazon.
Or get faster shipping on this item starting at $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
Saturday, Dec 11 on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon. Details
Fastest delivery: Friday, Dec 10
Order within 20 hrs and 38 mins
Details
Condition: Used: Good
<Embed>
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing "Send link," you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message & data rates may apply.

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Girls in the Garden: A Novel Hardcover – June 7, 2016

4.2 out of 5 stars 2,640 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$13.43
$22.00 $2.52

"Beneath a Scarlet Sky" by Mark Sullivan
Based on the true story of a forgotten hero, the USA Today and #1 Amazon Charts bestseller Beneath a Scarlet Sky is the triumphant, epic tale of one young man’s incredible courage and resilience during one of history’s darkest hours. | Learn more

Special offers and product promotions

  • Create your FREE Amazon Business account to save up to 10% with Business-only prices and free shipping.

Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for The Girls in the Garden:

“Lisa Jewell’s characters are so real that I finish every book half-expecting to bump into one of them. Modern, complex, intuitive, she just goes from strength to strength.” -- Jojo Moyes, author of After You

“Jewell expertly builds suspense by piling up domestic misunderstandings and more plot twists than an SVU episode. It’s a page-turner for readers who like beach reads on the dark side.” ― People

“Full of suspense yet emotionally grounded…Fans of Liane Moriarty, Paula Hawkins, and Carla Buckley will adore this peek inside a gated community that truly takes care of its own, no matter the consequences.” ― Booklist (starred review)

“Rich characterization and intricate plot development are combined with mid-chapter cliffhangers that cut from one character’s point of view to the next, resulting in a riveting pace. Vivid descriptions of the bucolic park contrast with the evil lurking around the themes of teenage sexuality, perversion, peer pressure, and the desire for a complete family. Jewell adeptly creates a pervasive atmosphere of unease in this well-spun narrative.” ― Publishers Weekly (starred review)

One of New York Post’s “Buzziest Books to Bring to the Beach” 

“Jewell expertly mines the relationships of her compelling, multilayered characters for a perfect pack-for-vacation read.” ― Fort-Worth Star Telegram

“Jewell crafts another page-turner that keeps the suspense flowing…[and] sharply evades the truth while bouncing the story among multiple characters’ perspectives. Recommended for lovers of mysteries built on the complexities of family and the dismantling of the idea that being part of a community keeps us safe.” ― Library Journal

“An intoxicating, spellbinding read that will make readers entranced with Lisa Jewell’s wicked and gorgeous prose…raw, intense, gritty, dark and suspenseful. If you are looking for a looking for a psychological thriller that will unfold secrets and truths in a shocking manner, this book is for you.” ― Manhattan Book Review

“Faithful to the thriller genre, Jewell makes liberal use of red herrings and plot twists… The answer to the whodunit is a sly – and satisfying – surprise.” ― New York Times Book Review

"The writing is cause for pleasant pause." ― Seattle Times

“An engaging and atmospheric read, Lisa beautifully conjures up the half-child half-adult lives of young teenagers.” -- Jane Fallon, author of Skeletons

“Oh but I loved this book – a magical garden right in the center of the city, a long, hot summer simmering away, a group of young teens, lurching between boredom and passion and ripe for their lives to start. And at its center a dark and disturbing mystery that keeps you turning the pages long into the night. Lisa Jewell is the most compassionate storyteller. She writes with such lightness of touch, yet her books pack a powerful punch. A stunning, beautiful, mesmerizing book that everyone will be reading this summer.” -- Tamar Cohen, author of The Mistress's Revenge

“Lisa creates beguiling characters, which dazzle from the page. This is a terrific suspense story told with that brooding promise of danger that taunts us to read on, to chase the elusive truth at the heart of the book.” -- Rachel Hore, author of The House on Bellevue Gardens

“Jewell does a beautiful job of creating large companies of detailed and believable characters in her novels. Some are likable, some are not, and Jewell carefully explores what makes each of them tick, from the unstable to the overachievers to those in search of love... a delicate exploration of teenage love and rivalry, mental illness and how far people will go to protect those they care about. Fans of Liane Moriarty and JoJo Moyes will love The Girls in the Garden, as will anyone who remembers the angst and ecstasy of being a teenager.” ― Shelf Awareness

"Jewell offers an intriguing premise and characters…[and] creates a story ripe with anticipation and emotion." ― Kirkus Reviews

“Another winner. Beautiful writing, believable characters, a pacy narrative and dark secrets combine to make this a gripping read.” ― London Daily Mail

"Jewell pens a psychological thriller that leaves readers wondering if they really know all the answers. Children can be more frightening than adults, as she demonstrates in her brilliant portrayal of youthful deceit and jealousy. Each individual is vividly described and counterbalanced by their strengths and weaknesses." ― RT Magazine

“A suspenseful mystery.” ― Womans Day

Praise for The House We Grew Up In:

“You'll be desperate to find out what messed this family up so badly.” -- Sophie Kinsella, author of Shopaholic to the Stars

“A dramatic look at siblings, parents, and hoarding.” ― Redbook

“...prose so beautiful that it glitters on the page. Lisa Jewell lays down piece after piece of mosaic, revealing the heart of the Bird family, filled in equal measure with love and loss. Unforgettable.” -- Jo-Ann Mapson, author of Solomon’s Oak, Finding Casey, and Owen’s Daughter

“Lisa Jewell’s quixotic Bird family functions like an operatic ensemble—each voice distinct, each singing his heart out, seemingly oblivious to the others. Yet somehow by the end of this engrossing, beautifully crafted novel, their separate stories will draw them back together, reminding us that, however hard we struggle against them, family ties are not easily undone.” -- Judith Ryan Hendricks, author of Bread Alone

“A gorgeous, powerful, affecting tale of a family both ordinary and extraordinary. Lisa Jewell is a wonderful storyteller, and The House We Grew Up In grips you from the first page to the last. I'm afraid to say it made me neglect both my children and my husband. The Bird family might be dysfunctional, but I was strangely sorry to leave it.” -- Anna Maxted, author of Getting Over It and Running In Heels

“Jewell cleverly frames the destruction of the Bird family ….an absolute page-turner.” ― Booklist

About the Author

Lisa Jewell is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of nineteen novels, including The Family Upstairs and Then She Was Gone, as well as Invisible Girl and Watching You. Her novels have sold over 5 million copies internationally, and her work has also been translated into twenty-eight languages. Connect with her on Twitter @LisaJewellUK, on Instagram @LisaJewellUK, and on Facebook @LisaJewellOfficial.

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Atria Books (June 7, 2016)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 320 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1476792216
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1476792217
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 1 pounds
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 6 x 1.1 x 9 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.2 out of 5 stars 2,640 ratings

Schedule a Holiday eGift card

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Thank you for visiting my Amazon author page!

My first book, Ralph's Party, came out in 1999 and was the best selling debut novel for that year.

Since then I have written and published another sixteen books, from the 'curry and flatmates' novels of the nineties and noughties like Thirtynothing, One Hit Wonder, A Friend of the Family and Vince &amp; Joy, to more family-themed novels like After The Party, The Making of Us and The House We Grew Up In and more recently, psychological thrillers such as I Found You, Then She Was Gone, Watching You and The Family Upstairs, which charted in the summer of 2019 at number one in the hardback charts.

I live in London with my husband, two daughters, two hairy cats, two nervous guinea pigs and a lovely auburn dog. I write every day, a minimum of one thousand words, in a cafe, with no access to the internet, in two to three hour sessions.

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5
2,640 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on December 11, 2019
Verified Purchase
72 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 16, 2020
Verified Purchase
30 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on November 4, 2017
Verified Purchase
43 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on February 27, 2019
Verified Purchase
20 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Steven spivey
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 21, 2017
Verified Purchase
Michelle Dale
5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived on time
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 22, 2019
Verified Purchase
spidernan
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 2, 2017
Verified Purchase
T C.
5.0 out of 5 stars Lisa Jewell at her best
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 6, 2017
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Rose
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on June 23, 2016
Verified Purchase