Buying Options

Kindle Price: $14.99

Save $22.00 (59%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
The Good Sister: A Novel by [Sally Hepworth]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Good Sister: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 8,203 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$14.99

Back to School gift cards

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Mac and Windows desktops
    Desktop

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton
Amazon Business: Make the most of your Amazon Business account with exclusive tools and savings. Login now

From the Publisher

Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for The Good Sister:

One of the "Most Anticipated Books of 2021" and "The Big Mysteries and Thrillers of 2021"―Goodreads

"Hepworth's latest further solidifies her place among the top domestic suspense authors...Fern is drawn as smart, capable, and probably on the spectrum, and she is multilayered and relatable, illustrating Hepworth's talent for page-turners with depth."-- Booklist

"It's a warped tale of twisted memories and skewed perceptions that will make fans of psychological thrillers say, 'Wow, I didn't see that coming.'"--Library Journal

Praise for Sally Hepworth:

"A deliciously entertaining novel…This one is perfect for fans of Big Little Lies." ―Good Morning America on The Mother-in-Law

“Sally Hepworth writes characters you love.” ―Liane Moriarty, bestselling author of Big Little Lies

“Deliciously entertaining, packed with wit and suspense, and also delivers sharp insights about family dynamics and love.” ―People magazine on The Mother-in-Law

"A masterful depiction of how much is said in the silences...a winner for fans of Liane Moriarty and Megan Abbott." ―Booklist on The Mother-in-Law, starred review

"A mesmerizing domestic mystery." ―Kirkus on The Mother-in-Law

"This one will keep you guessing until the very end." ―Us Weekly on The Mother-in-Law

--This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

About the Author

Sally Hepworth has lived around the world, spending extended periods in Singapore, the United Kingdom and Canada. She is the author of The Secrets of Midwives, The Things We Keep, The Mother's Promise, The Family Next Door and The Mother-in-Law. Sally now lives in Melbourne with her husband, three children, and one adorable dog. --This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B08BYCWK6T
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ St. Martin's Press (April 13, 2021)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ April 13, 2021
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 1082 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 313 pages
  • Lending ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 8,203 ratings

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
8,203 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on October 27, 2020
Verified Purchase
96 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on October 27, 2020
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars They're as close as two sisters can be…
By NZLisaM on October 27, 2020
At 27, fraternal twins Rose and Fern lives are as different as chalk and cheese, but their bond has always been strong.

Rose is an interior designer, married, with a beautiful home that looks like something out of a magazine spread. She dearly wants a baby, but is having difficulty conceiving.

Fern works in a library, has only ever had one short-term boyfriend, and lives in a flat. She's on the autism spectrum, but has never been diagnosed.

When Fern discovers a bottle of pregnancy vitamins in Rose's belongings, she confronts her sister. Upon learning of her infertility struggles Fern is determined to help. If Rose can’t have the baby she longs for then Fern will carry one for her. It's the least she can do, after all her twin has done for her.

The Good Sister was the perfect blend of psychological suspense, domestic drama, and unhealthy family dynamics, and I devoured it. There is no way this won't make my 2020 top favourites list. This is Sally Hepworth's best book so far, I reckon. As other readers have mentioned (and I agree whole-heartedly) this novel had a lot in common with another of my 5 star reads – Eleanor Olyphant is Completely Fine. Fern's literal interpretation of her interactions with others and struggles to read social cues and situations made for adorably sweet and, at times, hilarious reading.

Savvy readers will have a fair idea where the thriller storyline is going, but what made this a tense, nail-biting read for me was the vulnerable and naïve nature of its central character being unaware of the impending danger and threat. I felt very protective towards Fern (as well as other characters, and a dog) and was rooting for her as she discovered and explored her newfound independence. The library is one of my happy places as well, so I completely understand why Fern felt so comfortable there. Another constantly present worry was me wondering how far the situation was going escalate, and the last few chapters had me on the edge of my seat. Talk about shocking – secrets and lies galore!

Chapters alternated between Fern in the present and Rose's diary entries, which also include flashbacks to the twins troubled childhood. The prevalent questions throughout are – what does it mean to be a good person, a good parent, and as the title states… a good sister?
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
97 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 14, 2021
Verified Purchase
41 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 16, 2021
Verified Purchase
33 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 16, 2021
Verified Purchase
28 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 14, 2021
Verified Purchase
22 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Ruby B
5.0 out of 5 stars A book I shall remember for a long long time.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 7, 2021
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Charlotte C.
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, but...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on June 7, 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Pepsimax_girl
5.0 out of 5 stars The only book that has had me yelling "No!" at it.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 15, 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Kindle Customerda
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 19, 2021
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a good book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 17, 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse