Buying Options

Unlimited reading. Over 1 million titles. Learn more
Read and Listen for Free
OR
Kindle Price: $5.99

Save $8.96 (60%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Have You Seen Luis Velez? by [Catherine Ryan Hyde]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Have You Seen Luis Velez? Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 5,787 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$5.99

Listen with Pride
Explore the diverse array of titles—some funny, some brave, some thrilling, some sad—to find connection and inspiration. See more

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Mac and Windows desktops
    Desktop

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton
Amazon Business: Make the most of your Amazon Business account with exclusive tools and savings. Login now

Editorial Reviews

Review

“A master of making a heartwarming tale feel authentic and socially urgent, Hyde (Just After Midnight, 2018, etc.) deftly sketches the plights of Raymond and Millie, weighting their friendship with worries and regrets that echo as true…A tender tale of new families born of chance and the determination to bring light into darkness.” Kirkus Reviews

“Hyde (Heaven Adjacent, 2018) has crafted a spellbinding coming-of-age story deepened by the satisfaction of belonging, the vibrancy of community, and the power of connection. Fans of Liane Moriarty and Kristin Hannah will adore the deep connection between the unlikeliest of friends.” Booklist

“Heartwarming…This touching portrait of Raymond’s sorrow, and his quest for understanding the world and why it seems so unfair, is a solid choice for book groups with a lot of important issues to discuss.” Library Journal

“A deftly crafted novel with an underlying message about the power of simple kindness, Have You Seen Luis Velez? by Catherine Ryan Hyde is a thoroughly engaging read from first page to last.” —Midwest Book Review

About the Author

Catherine Ryan Hyde is the author of more than thirty published and forthcoming books. An avid hiker, traveler, equestrian, and amateur photographer, she has released her first book of photos, 365 Days of Gratitude: Photos from a Beautiful World.

Her novel Pay It Forward was adapted into a major motion picture, chosen by the American Library Association for its Best Books for Young Adults list, and translated into more than twenty-three languages for distribution in more than thirty countries. Both Becoming Chloe and Jumpstart the World were included on the ALA’s Rainbow Book List, and Jumpstart the World was a finalist for two Lambda Literary Awards. Where We Belong won two Rainbow Awards in 2013, and The Language of Hoofbeats won a Rainbow Award in 2015.

More than fifty of her short stories have been published in the Antioch Review, Michigan Quarterly Review, Virginia Quarterly Review, Ploughshares, Glimmer Train, and many other journals and in the anthologies Santa Barbara Stories, California Shorts, and New York Times bestseller Dog Is My Co-Pilot. Her stories have been honored in the Raymond Carver Short Story Contest and the Tobias Wolff Award and nominated for the O. Henry Award and the Pushcart Prize. Three have been cited in Best American Short Stories.

She is the founder and former president (2000–2009) of the Pay It Forward Foundation and still serves on its board of directors. As a professional public speaker, she has addressed the National Conference on Education, spoken at Cornell University twice, met with AmeriCorps members at the White House, and shared a dais with Bill Clinton.

For more information and book club questions, please visit the author at www.catherineryanhyde.com.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B07JZ3G2WQ
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Lake Union Publishing (May 21, 2019)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ May 21, 2019
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 3119 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 315 pages
  • Lending ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 5,787 ratings

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
5,787 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on June 12, 2019
Verified Purchase
285 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 21, 2019
Verified Purchase
101 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 23, 2019
Verified Purchase
63 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 30, 2019
Verified Purchase
60 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 29, 2019
Verified Purchase
53 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 2, 2019
Verified Purchase
42 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 2, 2019
80 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 25, 2019
Verified Purchase
33 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Nisareen Khan
5.0 out of 5 stars Laden with wisdom and life affirming
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 25, 2021
Verified Purchase
Chris M
4.0 out of 5 stars The story of a kind young man and a kind old lady.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 29, 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Alison
5.0 out of 5 stars Another wonderful book from an inspiring author
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 12, 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
ninestein
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars for a lovely story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 17, 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Nurse Jill
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on November 23, 2020
Verified Purchase