Buying Options

Kindle Price: $9.99

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
The Hunting Party: A Novel by [Lucy Foley]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Hunting Party: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 10,662 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$9.99

Go ahead, give a gift card

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton
Amazon Business: Make the most of your Amazon Business account with exclusive tools and savings. Login nowBusiness Prime : For Fast, FREE shipping, premium procurement benefits, and member-only offers on Amazon Business. Try Business Prime free.

From the Publisher

Editorial Reviews

Review

“A tense, perfectly paced murder mystery.” -- People

“Lucy Foley proves that the traditional country-house murder formula…can still work brilliantly.… Superb." -- The Times (London)

“My favorite kind of whodunit, kept me guessing all the way through, and reminiscent of Agatha Christie at her best -- with an extra dose of acid.” -- Alex Michaelides, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller The Silent Patient

“A ripping, riveting murder mystery—wily as Agatha Christie, charged with real menace, real depth. Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware.” -- A.J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window

“Fans of Ruth Ware will likely rip through The Hunting Party at warp speed.” -- Popsugar

“Like a deliciously drawn out game of Clue, this novel brings together a group of Oxford friends at a remote Scottish highlands estate for the Christmas holidays....Foley paints such a vivid hunting-lodge-and-lochs setting that you’ll immediately be booking your own highland fling, clandestine killers or no.” -- National Geographic

“Everyone is a suspect in Lucy Foley’s clever murder mystery that harkens back to Agatha Christie and the Orient Express. Friends, lovers, strangers and murder at a secluded hunting lodge make for an absolutely delicious read!” -- Wendy Walker, author of the national bestseller All Is Not Forgotten

“An addictive murder mystery full of suspense, secrets and surprises. I loved it!” -- Alice Feeney, New York Times bestselling author of Sometimes I Lie

“Psychological suspense that rivets. Imaginatively conceived and deftly executed.” -- Fredericksburg Free Lance-Star

“An auspicious thriller debut...a cracklingly suspenseful story for a long winter’s night.”  -- Publishers Weekly

“Foley excels at the small details that make up a person… builds the tension cleverly and creepily, underlining the point that old friends aren’t always the best.” -- The Observer (London)

“A great update on the classic country house murder… brilliantly builds the tension.” -- Good Housekeeping, UK

“A claustrophobic, compulsive read.” -- Tatler (UK)

“The suspense will keep you reading long after lights out.” -- Woman & Home (UK)

“Anyone who’s grown apart from old friends will recognize the yearning depicted here to make everything as it was....Readers are left wondering until the end which guest has died as well as who the killer is; they will be well rewarded by the story’s ending.” -- Booklist

“Very gripping and so good on the awfulness of some long-history friendships!” -- Sophie Hannah

“Hugely entertaining. Full of surprises. This is a clever, twisting page-turner of the highest order. I loved it.” -- Simon Kernick

“A brilliant, addictive, claustrophobic read.” -- Karen Hamilton, author of The Perfect Girlfriend

“I loved THE HUNTING PARTY – a gripping, eerie thriller set in a beautifully imagined remote wilderness with pitch-perfect characters.” -- Laura Marshall

The Secret History meets And Then There Were None, this is a fantastic crime debut.” -- Cass Green

“A first rate murder mystery with a cast of well crafted characters, secret upon secret and a healthy dose of deceit. You won’t look at your old friends in the same way when you read this book. I hugely enjoyed it. Guaranteed to be a huge hit.” -- C.L. Taylor

“Thrilling and atmospheric. I loved this thoroughly modern and glamorous update of the country house murder mystery.” -- Tasmina Perry

“Twisty, layered and compulsive. I raced through the pages in a hunt to discover the truth.” -- Lucy Clarke

 ”[A] brilliant, edgy book about friendship and obsession. Atmospheric, spooky, dripping with threat, it’s a book to dig your claws into and not let go.” -- Julia Crouch

“Brilliant characterisation. And great fun!” -- Harriet Tyce

“It was gripping and exciting and wonderfully written, of course, with such incredible characters and a wonderful twist that I really didn’t see coming. I bloody loved it.” -- Louise O’Neill

“Reminded me of The Party mixed with In a Dark Dark Wood with a dash of And Then There Were None.” -- Sarah Vaughan

“Grab a blanket and read the surprising things that happen when highly educated English people let their hair down.” -- Mystery Scene --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

From the Back Cover

All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

They arrive on December 30, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.

Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.

The trip began innocently enough: admiration of the stunning, if foreboding, scenery; champagne in front of a crackling fire; and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

Now one of them is dead . . . and another one of them did it.

Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?

--This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Product details

  • ASIN : B07B7LLJLZ
  • Publisher : William Morrow (February 12, 2019)
  • Publication date : February 12, 2019
  • Language : English
  • File size : 3476 KB
  • Text-to-Speech : Enabled
  • Enhanced typesetting : Enabled
  • X-Ray : Enabled
  • Word Wise : Enabled
  • Print length : 349 pages
  • Lending : Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.2 out of 5 stars 10,662 ratings

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5
10,662 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on March 16, 2019
Verified Purchase
186 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 1, 2020
Verified Purchase
97 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on February 20, 2019
Verified Purchase
123 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 3, 2019
Verified Purchase
65 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on February 13, 2019
Verified Purchase
42 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

ukstern
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable storyline but awful characters
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 10, 2018
Verified Purchase
220 people found this helpful
Report abuse
A. Linton
2.0 out of 5 stars Long winded, pompous - this book is no thriller
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 23, 2019
Verified Purchase
135 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Vee Crowther
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on February 9, 2019
Verified Purchase
88 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Kaffmatt
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Recommended- Absolute None Gripping Rubbish
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on February 7, 2019
Verified Purchase
83 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Emily Wilson
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a fan of the writing
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 24, 2019
Verified Purchase
69 people found this helpful
Report abuse