List Price: $14.99 Details
Save: $2.70 (18%)
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime & FREE Returns
Return this item for free
  • Free returns are available for the shipping address you chose. You can return the item for any reason in new and unused condition: no shipping charges
  • Learn more about free returns.
FREE delivery Sunday, May 29 if you spend $25 on items shipped by Amazon
Or fastest delivery Thursday, May 26. Order within 1 hr 44 mins
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
[{"displayPrice":"$12.29","priceAmount":12.29,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"12","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"29","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"WeL3RmDP6KVJvJa9oQnQ9%2F6VtNmLRgmhZMIY0WMfEv1CAo0wyr3Kq4YK2YKTuLM8XQdcFxc7VHGG8TxXLY8DNK9%2F3gqZXMOOjheFQVj0ARfkyF9HXkoJx%2F68PFQcGmkzYoaW9zTSZPg%3D","locale":"en-US","buyingOptionType":"NEW"},{"displayPrice":"$7.99","priceAmount":7.99,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"7","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"99","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"uweFKl%2B94UkeKawrHFmoR408e0EQNREcVqGFhjJD5kjc%2FPyVHqL15tPEjUQCUg3k%2F3Eh2gi%2BNSrT9y489dFQGUPfbsxfhtQI%2B7C56s4y9C0VfY%2FhW2QBwcVsUFETKab5fxrv359oibCHE4ucBF%2B%2FASsQAl%2B4Z8mVrNJ8SyrJXj1NPeaYl5pV0UO0iLAdv7h0","locale":"en-US","buyingOptionType":"USED"}]
$$12.29 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$12.29
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date, and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Return policy: Eligible for Return, Refund or Replacement within 30 days of receipt
This item can be returned in its original condition for a full refund or replacement within 30 days of receipt.
Ivy and Bean Book 1: (Bes... has been added to your Cart
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime
FREE delivery June 6 - 7 if you spend $25 on items shipped by Amazon
Or fastest delivery May 29 - June 3
Used: Good | Details
Sold by Martistore
Condition: Used: Good
Share <Embed>
Have one to sell?
Other Sellers on Amazon
Added
$7.25
+ $4.68 shipping
Sold by: Sassy Sayings, LLC
Sold by: Sassy Sayings, LLC
(18 ratings)
100% positive over last 12 months
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Added
$14.84
& FREE Shipping
Sold by: MyPrepbooks
Sold by: MyPrepbooks
(48 ratings)
100% positive over last 12 months
In Stock.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Ivy and Bean Book 1: (Best Friends Books for Kids, Elementary School Books, Early Chapter Books) (Ivy & Bean, IVYB) Hardcover – Illustrated, April 20, 2006

4.7 out of 5 stars 1,700 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover, Illustrated
$12.29
$6.93 $1.25

Enhance your purchase


Explore books for Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month

Frequently bought together

  • Ivy and Bean Book 1: (Best Friends Books for Kids, Elementary School Books, Early Chapter Books) (Ivy & Bean, IVYB)
  • +
  • Ivy and Bean and the Ghost That Had to Go (Book 2): Book 2 (Best Friends Books for Kids, Elementary School Books, Early Chapt
  • +
  • Ivy and Bean: Break the Fossil Record - Book 3: (Best Friends Books for Kids, Elementary School Books, Early Chapter Books) (
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Choose items to buy together.

From the Publisher

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Grade 1-4–Seven-year-old Bean likes stomping in puddles, climbing fences into neighbors' backyards, and playing tricks on her older sister, Nancy. She wears dresses as seldom as possible and avoids big books. Her new neighbor appears to be a quiet, orderly girl who sits on her front step day after day reading tomes. The two seem to have nothing in common, and Bean is not interested in getting to know Ivy, despite her mother's prodding to make friends with the nice girl next door. Then Bean gets into trouble, and Ivy helps her out. She discovers that Ivy is practicing to be a witch, and when they decide to cast a spell on Nancy, their friendship is sealed. With echoes of Beverly Cleary's Ramona series, this easy chapter book will appeal to children who are graduating from beginning readers. The occasional black-and-white illustrations highlight the text and provide visual clues. The characters are appealing, the friendship is well portrayed, and the pranks and adventures are very much on grade level.–Eve Ottenberg Stone, Cooper Lane Elementary, Landover Hills, MD
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

From Booklist

*Starred Review* Gr. 1-3. In the tradition of Betsy and Tacy, Ginnie and Geneva, come two new friends, Ivy and Bean. Ivy has just moved in across the street from Bean, who wants no part of her. She thinks Ivy looks dull, always with her nose in a book. Bean, on the other hand, is a spark plug; she's full of tricks, especially ones that can be played on her older sister, Nancy. But the day Bean pulls a trick that goes wrong and Ivy comes to her rescue, a friendship is born. The deliciousness here is in the details, with both girls drawn distinctly and with flair. Ivy, who at first seems to be a dud, has aspirations to being a witch, which is dangerously intriguing; Bean's spunky way of talking and acting (there's a classic moment when she wiggles her butt at Nancy) will make readers giggle. Even with all the text's strong points, what takes the book to a higher level is Blackall's artwork, which captures the girls' spirit. A chapter from the second book in the series, to be published in this fall, will whet readers' appetites for more Ivy and Bean. Ilene Cooper
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved

Learn new cuisines with virtual cooking experiences
Amazon Explore Browse now

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Chronicle Books; Illustrated edition (April 20, 2006)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 120 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0811849031
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0811849036
  • Reading age ‏ : ‎ 6 - 10 years
  • Lexile measure ‏ : ‎ 580L
  • Grade level ‏ : ‎ 1 - 5
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 9.4 ounces
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 5.75 x 0.63 x 7.5 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.7 out of 5 stars 1,700 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Annie Barrows writes for both grownups and children. If you’re a grownup, read this paragraph:

Annie Barrows is the co-author, with her aunt Mary Ann Shaffer, of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, published by the Dial Press in 2008. An international best-seller, translated into 38 languages, the novel was adapted into a feature film in 2018. Her best-selling second novel, The Truth According to Us, was published in 2015. Annie lives in Berkeley, California, with her family.

If you’re a kid, read this paragraph:

Wow! Was that boring or what? Annie has written a bunch of books for kids. In fact, she has written NINETEEN books for kids, and all of them are very very good. Mostly, they’re funny too. She has written the award-winning series Ivy + Bean; the also-award-winning Magic Half and its sequel, Magic in the Mix; Nothing, for young adult readers (that means it has bad words in it); a picture book called What John Marco Saw (don’t worry—she didn’t draw the pictures); and The Best of Iggy, which is the first book in a new series about—you guessed it!—a kid named Iggy who does not play the cello, plant flowers by the side of the road, or learn his lesson and become a better person. Still, he’s a pretty great kid.

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
1,700 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on November 25, 2017
187 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 12, 2018
127 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on November 27, 2018
77 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 13, 2019
53 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 1, 2019
42 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 6, 2018
44 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 15, 2017
28 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 30, 2020
15 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

sue
5.0 out of 5 stars arrived on time
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 17, 2020
DS
5.0 out of 5 stars A little cheeky but a good read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 12, 2021
Michelle
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely books
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 21, 2020
Allen Grain
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on February 23, 2018
erinangel
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 30, 2015