Buying Options

Unlimited reading. Over 2 million titles. Learn more
Read for Free
OR
Kindle Price: $4.99

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.
Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Jonesy Vol. 1 by [Sam Humphries, Caitlin Rose Boyle]

Jonesy Vol. 1 Kindle & comiXology

4.2 out of 5 stars 64 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle & Comixology
$4.99
  • Due to its large file size, this book may take longer to download
  • Read this book on comiXology. Learn more
Next 3 for you in this series See full series
Total Price: $20.97
By clicking on the above button, you agree to Amazon's Kindle Store Terms of Use

Books In This Series (3 Books)
Complete Series
Jonesy
Kindle Edition

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 6 Up—This volume collects the first four issues of the colorful comic. Jonesy is a self-described "cool dork," who makes zines that nobody reads, watches anime, and listens to riot grrrl bands. She has also recently discovered that she has the power to make others fall in love. The teen uses her abilities to varying effect, often leaving chaos in her wake. In the first issue, she receives a white flower instead of the much-sought-after pink flowers on Valentine's Day. Popular girl Susan makes fun of her, and after some advice from her abuelita, Jonesy decides to get even. Eventually, the two frenemies become true friends, especially as the title character tries to get the girl Susan is crushing on to love her back. The secondary characters, such as Jonesy's doughnut-making, joke-cracking father and her relentless, not-so-clueless principal, are memorable. The absurd stories are reminiscent of the high jinks—filled classic "Archie" comics, and the Technicolor art, filled with hearts and magenta-tinged hues, elevates the comical but sometimes cheesy narrative. While this has the makings of a fun series and the intersectionality of the protagonists will resonate with readers, the book sometimes straddles the line between mocking and paying homage to adolescent girls. Still, the heroine, with her voluminous hair and baggy clothes, is an unforgettable, highly expressive, and mostly charming protagonist. VERDICT Fans of Adventure Time, Steven Universe, and "Lumberjanes" will gravitate to the rambunctious, star-crossed Jonesy. A general purchase for most YA and upper middle grade graphic novel collections.—Shelley M. Diaz, School Library Journal --This text refers to the paperback edition.

About the Author

Sam Humphries is an American comic writer best known for his work on Marvel's Secret Wars, including Star-Lord and Kitty Pryde, Guardians of the Galaxy and X-men: The Black Vortex, and Legendary Star-Lord, as well as BOOM! Studios classic, Fanboys vs. Zombies.

A newer talent on the comics scene, Caitlin Rose Boyle holds a BFA from Carnegie Mellon University's School of Art.  She also co-wrote and co-directed "Buck n' Lou & the Night Crew," a 2014 Nickelodeon Animated Short, and has contributed to Monkeybrain Comics' "Amazing Forest" anthology. 
--This text refers to the paperback edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B01IC6CC90
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ BOOM! Studios (September 28, 2016)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ September 28, 2016
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 301856 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Not enabled
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 111 pages
  • Lending ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.2 out of 5 stars 64 ratings

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5
64 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on December 15, 2018
Reviewed in the United States on April 16, 2018
Reviewed in the United States on November 16, 2016
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 30, 2017
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on September 12, 2019
8 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 16, 2017
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on October 8, 2016
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 18, 2021
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?