List Price: $10.99 Details
Save: $3.97 (36%)
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime & FREE Returns
Return this item for free
  • Free returns are available for the shipping address you chose. You can return the item for any reason in new and unused condition: no shipping charges
  • Learn more about free returns.
How to return the item?
FREE delivery Tuesday, February 1 if you spend $25 on items shipped by Amazon
Or fastest delivery Monday, January 31. Order within 7 hrs 42 mins
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
$$7.02 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$7.02
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date, and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Return policy: Eligible for Return, Refund or Replacement
This item can be returned in its original condition for a full refund or replacement within 30 days of receipt.
The Lake has been added to your Cart
$3.99 delivery February 9 - 15. Details
Or fastest delivery February 3 - 8. Details
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: VG - This Paper Back book is in very good overall condition. Dust jacket, if applicable, is intact, with no nicks or tears. Spine has no signs of creasing. Pages are clean and not marred by notes or folds. Thanks for supporting our Mission at Goodwill
Share <Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
Added
$12.87
& FREE Shipping
Sold by: Book Depository US
Sold by: Book Depository US
(922533 ratings)
89% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Usually ships within 3 to 4 days.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Added
$10.17
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: allnewbooks
Sold by: allnewbooks
(268827 ratings)
93% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Usually ships within 4 to 5 days.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Added
$14.83
& FREE Shipping
Sold by: GrandEagleRetail
Sold by: GrandEagleRetail
(3488 ratings)
89% positive over last 12 months
Only 3 left in stock - order soon.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing "Send link," you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message & data rates may apply.

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Lake Paperback – March 2, 2021

4.3 out of 5 stars 801 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$7.02
$6.75 $1.95

Enhance your purchase


Inspire a love of reading with Amazon Book Box for Kids
Discover delightful children's books with Amazon Book Box, a subscription that delivers new books every 1, 2, or 3 months — new Amazon Book Box Prime customers receive 15% off your first box. Learn more.

Frequently bought together

  • The Lake
  • +
  • The Twin
  • +
  • The Lost
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Choose items to buy together.

From the Publisher

image with the quote "An unsettling new thriller from the #1 bestselling sensation Natasha Preston"

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 7 Up-Best friends Esme and Kayla are excited to return to their childhood summer camp, Camp Pine Lake, as counselors-in-training for the next six weeks. Pale, petite Esme and tanned, curvy Kayla hit it off with their fellow CITs: pale and bullied Rebekah; Black and gay Tia; blond-haired, blue-eyed, football player Jake; and tall, dark, and handsome Olly. Everyone is looking forward to swimming, s'mores, and campfires by the lake, but only a few days into their stay Esme and Kayla find a creepy note. Then an ominous message is written on a cabin. Could someone at camp know Esme and Kayla are keeping a secret? The setting will instantly appeal to readers who are nostalgic for outdoor activities by day and ghost stories by a lake at night. But the pace is choppy; some chapters stall on repetitive conversations while others fly by swiftly, alive with action. The characters are flat: While Esme is anxiety personified, Kayla is frightened to the point of unpleasantness. Both girls are dithering and overdramatic, while Jake and Olly are stereotypical athletes, Rebekah is a perpetual victim, and Tia-a token minority character-is used solely to further the plot. The ending abruptly turns away from the eerie threats peppered throughout the narrative to pages of sudden violence. The ultimate cliffhanger, however, is one readers won't see coming. VERDICT For libraries where Preston's previous works are popular.-Maggie Mason Smith, Clemson Univ., SCα(c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Review

Praise for THE LAKE: 

A New York Times bestseller
A USA TODAY bestseller
A Publishers Weekly bestseller

“[T]he strong buildup…leads to a shockingly satisfying finale. An eerie thriller reminiscent of summer horror movies that will keep readers on edge.”—Kirkus

"Pays homage to classic summer camp slasher films...horror fans will likely appreciate this paranoia-fueled tale."—Publishers Weekly

Praise for Natasha Preston:

"This fast-paced thriller will be a hit."–SLJ, on The Twin

"A deeply disturbing tale that explores what can push someone to kill and what people will do to survive. . . . keeps tensions high to the final page." –PW, on The Lost

"Preston weaves a terrifying tale. . . . A fast-paced, plot-driven page-turner." –Kirkus, on The Lost

"Keeps readers on edge. . . . A great addition to the thriller shelves. Recommended for fans of Stephen King, Jennifer Barnes, and Ally Carter." –SLJ, on You Will Be Mine

"Preston is skilled in building an atmosphere of paranoia and claustrophobia." –PW, on You Will Be Mine

"Preston's latest mystery reads like an homage to a nostalgic Fear Street novel. . . . An enjoyable blend of mystery and horror." –Booklist, on You Will Be Mine

"A fresh take on a murder mystery thriller. Rich with plot twists and suspense, readers will not want to put it down." –VOYA, on You Will Be Mine

"Will keep readers intrigued." –SLJ, on Awake

"Ripped-from-the-headlines." –SLJ, on The Cellar

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Delacorte Press (March 2, 2021)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 384 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0593124979
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0593124970
  • Reading age ‏ : ‎ 12 - 17 years
  • Lexile measure ‏ : ‎ HL550L
  • Grade level ‏ : ‎ 7 - 9
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 10.4 ounces
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 5.52 x 0.78 x 8.25 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.3 out of 5 stars 801 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Natasha Preston is the New York Times bestselling author of The Cellar. A UK native, she discovered her love of writing when she shared a story online—and hasn’t looked back. She enjoys writing romance, thrillers, gritty YA, and the occasional serial killer.

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5
801 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on May 7, 2021
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 17, 2021
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 21, 2021
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 7, 2021
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on November 26, 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Sarah Brown
5.0 out of 5 stars why tasha why?!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 9, 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Kim
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 5, 2021
Verified Purchase
NatsBookshelves
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly devilish
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 5, 2021
Verified Purchase