<Embed>
List Price: $19.99
Save: $11.51 (58%)
FREE Shipping on your first order. Details
Arrives: Wednesday, July 15
Fastest delivery: Friday, July 10
Order within 6 hrs and 34 mins
Details
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
FREE Shipping on your first order. Details
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Kanso WorldShop
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Book used in great condition.

Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$5.75
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: Interstate Books4school
Add to Cart
$6.00
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: Marlton Books
Add to Cart
$5.00
+ $5.27 shipping
Sold by: Smilex
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, Book 1: The Sword of Summer (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard (1)) Hardcover – October 6, 2015

4.6 out of 5 stars 2,857 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$8.48
$4.25 $1.28

Limited-time deal : Top eBooks under $5 pantry

click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, Book 1: The Sword of Summer (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard (1))
  • +
  • Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, Book 3 The Ship of the Dead (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, Book 3) (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard (3))
  • +
  • Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, Book 2 The Hammer of Thor (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard (2))
Total price: $24.48
Buy the selected items together

Special offers and product promotions


From the Publisher

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 5 Up—Fans of Percy Jackson and "Kane Chronicles" (both, Disney-Hyperion) books will not be disappointed in Riordan's newest series, which is based on Norse mythology. Magnus Chase, 16, has been an orphan living on the streets of Boston for the past two years. Ever since the mysterious death of his mother, he has tried to stay ahead of anyone who might be looking for him. When his Uncle Randolph tracks him down and begins talking about his birthright—an ancient sword—Magnus's world changes forever. But Randolph is not the only one searching for the sword. A Fire Giant destined to wield it as part of doomsday is hot on their trail. Dying and winding up at the Hotel Valhalla is only the beginning of this teen's (after)life. With an epic plot, engaging (and diverse) characters, and tons of wisecracking humor, Riordan's latest is a page-turner. Those new to the author's past series can jump right in; fans of his previous works will be happy to see clever nods and references to the other in-universe books. VERDICT Ravenous Riordan fans are likely to begin lining up for this on the publication date; be prepared for long holds lists on this one.—Patrick Tierney, Dr. Martin Luther King Elementary School, Providence, RI

Review

PRAISE FOR THE SWORD OF SUMMER

"Rick Riordan's new series is simply brilliant-maybe his best yet! I thought I knew Norse mythology, but now that I've read the gripping and hilarious Sword of Summer, I'll never see Thor the same way again. Get ready to stay up all night reading!"―New York Times #1 best-selling author Harlan Coben

PRAISE FOR THE SWORD OF SUMMER

"The Sword of Summer is a propulsive, kinetic, witty rebooting of Norse mythology with all the charm of the Percy Jackson novels. Instantly likeable heroes! Insane action! Cool villains! A twisting, turning, always exciting story! Rick Riordan does it again, even better."―New York Times best-selling author Michael Grant

PRAISE FOR THE SWORD OF SUMMER

"The Sword of Summer combines the glory of Norse myth with the joy of Rick Riordan's effervescent world-building. One of Riordan's funniest books-everything from the chapter titles to the wry humor of Magnus Chase will have you chuckling, even as the plot races along at breakneck speed. Check me in to Hotel Valhalla, please. I'll be staying."―New York Times #1 best-selling author Cassandra Clare

PRAISE FOR PERCY JACKSON'S GREEK GODS

"The clash of modern and classical worlds is both exciting and entertaining."
The New York Times Book Review

PRAISE FOR PERCY JACKSON'S GREEK GODS

"The novel's winning combination of high-voltage adventure and crackling wit is balanced with scenes in which human needs, fears, and ethical choices take center stage."
Booklist (starred review)

PRAISE FOR THE LAST OLYMPIAN

"Riordan masterfully orchestrates the huge cast of characters and manages a coherent, powerful tale at once exciting, philosophical and tear-jerking. The bestselling series' legions of fans will cheer their heroes on and rejoice in such a compelling conclusion to the saga."
Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

PRAISE FOR THE BATTLE OF THE LABYRINTH

*"The wit, rousing swordplay and breakneck pace will once again keep kids hooked."
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

PRAISE FOR THE HOUSE OF HADES

"Adventure fans will relish the action as their heroes confront formidable foes, while readers who have come to love the characters will enjoy following the different individuals as they take the stage in scenes that are usually dramatic, often witty, and occasionally surprising. A satisfying, penultimate entry in the Heroes of Olympus series."
Booklist Online

PRAISE FOR THE HOUSE OF HADES

"In this adventure, victories are hard-won and the essence of bravery nuanced, making the journey as satisfying as it is entertaining."
Kirkus Reviews

PRAISE FOR THE LIGHTNING THIEF

"Perfectly paced, with electrifying moments chasing each other like heartbeats."―New York Times Book Review

Product details


PillPack by Amazon Pharmacy
Your medication, delivered Learn more >

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
2,857 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?
Reviewed in the United States on July 4, 2016
Verified Purchase
24 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on February 18, 2016
Verified Purchase
24 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 17, 2018
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on October 6, 2015
Verified Purchase
164 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top international reviews

jademerald
5.0 out of 5 stars Rick Riordan at his best
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 27, 2017
Verified Purchase
12 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Allons-y-bookworm
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for younger readers
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 15, 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
valkyrie1008
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, gripping & even moving - well worth reading
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 19, 2016
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Louise Brown
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, easy read, ready for the next in the series!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 13, 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Cosy J
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, had the family gripped
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on November 5, 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Alexander
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Riordan masterpiece
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 30, 2016
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Carolyn Hughes
4.0 out of 5 stars Epic Heroes, Legendary Adventures.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on November 13, 2016
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Louise Welsh 💙💙💙💙
4.0 out of 5 stars Great
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on November 26, 2017
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
V. A. Spotswood
5.0 out of 5 stars The wonderful word of Rick Rordan
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 4, 2018
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Philip J. Vickers
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best things about this are the chapter titles which are ...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 23, 2016
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
ajw
5.0 out of 5 stars As advertised
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 11, 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Leonie
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Rick Riordan series
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on February 21, 2017
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Holly
5.0 out of 5 stars however can safely say Rick Riordan did not disappoint. In my opinion Magnus Chase is slightly more ...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 24, 2016
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
H J Mac
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Riordan book so far.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on November 21, 2015
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book can't wait to read the others
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 23, 2017
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Pages with related products. See and discover other items: hotel book, children books by texas authors, summer books for kids, Explore sword holders for backs