FREE Returns
Return this item for free
  • Free returns are available for the shipping address you chose. You can return the item for any reason in new and unused condition: no shipping charges
  • Learn more about free returns.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way)
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
[{"displayPrice":"$60.00","priceAmount":60.00,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"60","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"00","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"6qznNRW9qknDyQitMguk%2BrliERKJgHvoSscnFC%2FOSeGt7I2noNWyaJ%2B%2Fzt49gqia66KiU6n4BoGFAAXzJeoGShxqWpuOJm7brNbD%2Fy7imWiw41Y3w3buBJa0YeWWC6y%2BU44IMsVzSZ6b%2BhQaXTBPxQ%3D%3D","locale":"en-US","buyingOptionType":"NEW"},{"displayPrice":"$56.00","priceAmount":56.00,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"56","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"00","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"vYYKLEReaVij0Ix2zAO00QSDXkJslWtMZLTkyUgadSzN3GkRGrXfZmalCFOPavUL4zYsyjSmfbLiQs%2BFJbEivP9BdcHhsFj%2FnizJ68MZwGsWUapOgioG2loX4axjd7aXlO7Dnk9RmyGkYL%2Ffwe0t7h%2Beserb8%2BA9O0JaOZQAh98iOB%2BsOHHA6T0ChU3nzMuX","locale":"en-US","buyingOptionType":"USED"}]
$$60.00 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$60.00
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date, and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Return policy: Returnable until Jan 31, 2023
For the 2022 holiday season, returnable items purchased between October 11 and December 25, 2022 can be returned until January 31, 2023.
A Memory Called Empire (T... has been added to your Cart
$3.99 delivery December 5 - 9. Details
Or fastest delivery December 2 - 7. Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Used, good and fully-playable condition. Donated by the public; not an ex-library copy. Outer box may show some wear. Proceeds support the Friends of the San Francisco Public Library. We ship from California via USPS M-W-F except holidays. Expedited ship M-F.
Access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.
Have one to sell?
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

A Memory Called Empire (Teixcalaan, 1) Audio CD – Unabridged, March 26, 2019

4.4 out of 5 stars 7,357 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Audio CD, CD, Unabridged
$60.00
$60.00 $56.00

Enhance your purchase


Select cookbooks pantry

Editorial Reviews

Review

“An elegant and accomplished example of the subgenre of subtle scheming with a background of stars. A delightful read. I couldn’t put it down.”―Jo Walton, Hugo and Nebula award-winning author of Among Others

“A taut murder mystery entwined with questions of technological ethics,
A Memory Called Empire is also an evocative depiction of foreignness. Martine creates an elaborate and appealing culture against which to play out this story of political intrigue, assimilation, and resistance. Daring, beautiful, immersive, and often profound.”―Malka Older, author of Infomocracy

A Memory Called Empire is a murder mystery wrapped up in a political space opera, and deeply immerses the reader in a unique culture and society. I very much enjoyed it and look forward to what Martine does next.”―Martha Wells, author of The Murderbot Diaries

A Memory Called Empire elevates space opera to poetry―clever, deep, sometimes tragic, sometimes violent, always transcendent poetry that shines like the edge of a knife.”―Delilah Dawson

“An intricate, layered tale of empire, personal ambition, political obligations and interstellar intrigue. Vivid and delightfully inventive.”―Aliette de Bodard, Nebula Award-winning author of the Xuya Universe stories and
The House of Binding Thorns

“A cutting, beautiful, human adventure about cultural exchange, identity, and intrigue. The best SF novel I’ve read in the last five years.”―Yoon Ha Lee, author of the
Machineries of Empire trilogy

“An exceptional first novel recommended for fans of Cherryh, Leckie, Banks, and Asimov.”―Elizabeth Bear, author of
Hammered

About the Author

Arkady Martine (she/her) is the Hugo Award-winning author of A Memory Called Empire. She is a speculative fiction writer and, as Dr. AnnaLinden Weller, a historian of the Byzantine Empire and a city planner. She is currently a policy advisor for the New Mexico Energy, Minerals, and Natural Resources Department, where she works on climate change mitigation, energy grid modernization, and resiliency planning. Under both names, she writes about border politics, rhetoric, propaganda, and the edges of the world. Arkady grew up in New York City and, after some time in Turkey, Canada, and Sweden, and Baltimore, lives in Santa Fe with her wife, the author Vivian Shaw.
Always the perfect gift

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Macmillan Audio; Unabridged edition (March 26, 2019)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1250318963
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1250318961
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 1 pounds
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 1 x 1 x 1 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.4 out of 5 stars 7,357 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Arkady Martine is a speculative fiction writer and, as Dr. AnnaLinden Weller, a historian of the Byzantine Empire and a city planner. Under both names she writes about border politics, rhetoric, propaganda, and the edges of the world. Arkady grew up in New York City and, after some time in Turkey, Canada, and Sweden, lives in Baltimore with her wife, Vivian Shaw. Find her online at arkadymartine.net or on Twitter as @ArkadyMartine.

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
7,357 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on May 8, 2021
11 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on November 24, 2022
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on October 4, 2022
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Amazon Customer
1.0 out of 5 stars Three go to Coruscant for the Dullest Term Ever at Stormtrooper Towers
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on May 18, 2020
148 people found this helpful
Report abuse
PT
2.0 out of 5 stars It's.. Okay (spoiler free review)
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on April 1, 2020
37 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Paul T.
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant title, brilliant story.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on September 28, 2019
29 people found this helpful
Report abuse
M. King
1.0 out of 5 stars Didn’t do it for me.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on October 10, 2020
15 people found this helpful
Report abuse
John Ferngrove
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful diplomacy amid political undercurrents
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on October 11, 2020
15 people found this helpful
Report abuse