Buy New
$6.69
  • List Price: $7.99
  • Save: $1.30 (16%)
FREE Shipping
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon or get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
The Miraculous Journey of... has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane Paperback – December 8, 2015

4.8 out of 5 stars 1,962 ratings

See all 23 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$6.69
$6.39 $2.19

The Amazon Book Review
The Amazon Book Review
Book recommendations, author interviews, editors' picks, and more. Read it now
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane
  • +
  • The Tale of Despereaux: Being the Story of a Mouse, a Princess, Some Soup, and a Spool of Thread
  • +
  • Because of Winn-Dixie
Total price: $18.67
Buy the selected items together

From the Publisher

Editorial Reviews

Review

Just because it’s intended for a younger audience doesn’t mean there isn’t something worthwhile in there for us all.
—Sara Jessica Parker

One reading is hardly enough to savor the rich philosophical nuances of DiCamillo’s story. I think I will go read it again right now.
—The New York Times Book Review

This achingly beautiful story shows a true master of writing at her very best.
—School Library Journal (starred review)

The story soars because of DiCamillo's lyrical use of language and her understanding of universal yearnings. This will be a pleasure to read aloud.
—Booklist (starred review)

Once again, DiCamillo harkens back to an older storytelling style, filled with magic and the transformational power of love. . . . The reader will be transformed, too.
—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

There will be inevitable comparison of Edward Tulane to The Velveteen Rabbit, and Margery Williams's classic story can still charm after 83 years. But as delightful as it is, it can't match the exquisite language, inventive plot twists, and memorable characters of DiCamillo's tale.
—Publishers Weekly, boxed signature review

The delicate sepia images that head each chapter and the full-color illustrations augment the emotional tenor of the book.
—The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

DiCamillo writes tenderly and lyrically but with restraint, keeping a tight focus on Edward’s experience and gradual awakening.
—The Horn Book

Bagram Ibatoulline's exquisite illustrations cast a warm light across this . . . tale by one of today's most admired writers for children.
—Wall Street Journal

DiCamillo has carved out a distinct place as one of her generation's most beloved writers.
—Chicago Tribune

When Edward's journey ends, the reader will be wishing this story could go on and on.
—Washington Post Book World

In the tradition of poignant, beloved children's classics like Don Freeman's Corduroy and Anna Sewell's Black Beauty comes best-selling, Newbery Medal-winning author Kate DiCamillo's utterly charming creation The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane. . . . With traditional illustrations and text that begs to be read aloud, The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane will quickly take a place of honor on every child's bookshelf, undoubtedly and deservedly.
—Time Out New York Kids

DiCamillo . . . is a natural children's-book writer.
—Boston Herald

This choice is destined to become a classic.
—Dallas Morning News

DiCamillo’s book is as much a literary miracle as Edward’s transformation.
—Raleigh News and Observer

DiCamillo’s newest offering is full of lovely, stately language, a riveting plot and a message that is heartwarming without being preachy. Fans of Because of Winn-Dixie and The Tale of Despereaux will not be disappointed. . . .This tale has 'destined to be classic' written all over it, and it lives up to its great promise.
—Book Page

A rare and beautiful book that remains in the soul.
—San Diego Union-Tribune

Elegantly designed, with delicate, full-color plate paintings by Bagram Ibatoulline, it has the look of a classic.
—Miami Herald

Lovingly told, DiCamillo's affection for her characters shines through and overtakes you and by the book's end, readers will care deeply.
—Honolulu Advertiser

A new classic has been forged.
—Pittsburgh Post Gazette

The powerful storytelling of bestselling author DiCamillo paired with Ibatoulline’s luminous paintings, will leave no reader — child or adult — unmoved.
—Child

Beautifully designed, with plenty of old fashioned illustrations.
—Seattle Times

A riveting tale, by turns sad and joyous.
—Scripps-Howard News Service, Best Children’s Books roundup

The miracle of Edward Tulane’s journey is the miracle of learning to love.
—ForeWord Magazine

Exemplifies the art of bookmaking as well as excellence in storytelling and illustration.
—Reading Today

A remarkable, eloquent and genuinely moving story. . . . Hang onto this title as one to remember for graduation gifts.
—Denver Post

Ibatoulline outdoes himself — Yet even standing alone, the story soars because of DiCamillo’s lyrical use of language and universal yearnings.
—Book Links

The sad yet hopeful story of a selfish china rabbit that learns to love is beautifully written, and the sepia-toned gouache illustrations make this book one to treasure for many years.
—Kansas City Star

About the Author

KATE DICAMILLO is the author of THE TALE of DESPEREAUX which received the Newbery Medal; BECAUSE of WINN-DIXIE, which received a Newbery Honor; THE TIGER RISING, which was named a National Book Award Finalist; and, most recently, the MERCY WATSON stories. She says, "One Christmas, I received an elegantly dressed toy rabbit as a gift. I brought him home, placed him on a chair in my living room, and promptly forgot about him. A few days later, I dreamed that the rabbit was face-down on the ocean floor - lost, and waiting to be found. In telling THE MIRACULOUS JOURNEY OF EDWARD TULANE, I was lost for a good long while, too. And then, finally, like Edward, I was found."

BAGRAM IBATOULLINE is the illustrator of CROSSING by Philip Booth; THE NIGHTINGALE by Hans Christian Andersen, retold by Stephen Mitchell; THE ANIMAL HEDGE by Paul Fleischman; HANA in the TIME of the TULIPS by Deborah Noyes; and THE SERPENT CAME to GLOUCESTER by M. T. Anderson. He says, "It was a singular and most pleasurable experience to work on the illustrations for EDWARD TULANE and to be there with him on his journey. I must admit, I'm a bit wistful now that I've come to the end of this very special book."

Product details

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5
1,962 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?
Reviewed in the United States on November 22, 2016
Verified Purchase
78 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 13, 2018
Verified Purchase
49 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 20, 2018
Verified Purchase
30 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 9, 2016
Verified Purchase
51 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on November 19, 2019
Verified Purchase
15 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on December 20, 2018
Verified Purchase
14 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top international reviews

Rak
5.0 out of 5 stars Student Review
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 23, 2017
Verified Purchase
11 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Florence Rose
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful and emotional story.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 25, 2020
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
miss johanne kilpatrick
5.0 out of 5 stars FAVORITE CHILDREN'S BOOK
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on June 5, 2018
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Adrian
5.0 out of 5 stars and his teacher recommended to have the book at home
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 25, 2017
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Sophie Jacques
5.0 out of 5 stars How have I not read this until now? Brilliant.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 8, 2019
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
mary wilshin
5.0 out of 5 stars My daughter has a new favourite!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 5, 2016
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
tammy l.
5.0 out of 5 stars Best childrens book I've read.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 29, 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
MrsH
5.0 out of 5 stars Great pace
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 24, 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Chantal Jackman
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !!! I must read for children age 1-100
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 12, 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
miss kathryn strong
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 10, 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Cherub
5.0 out of 5 stars A marvelous tale of discovery and finding love
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 1, 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
daniel legg
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for a bedtime story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 5, 2017
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Santi
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly addictive !
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 27, 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Caroline Lawrence
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 19, 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Dave
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent bedtime story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 26, 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Pages with related products. See and discover other items: media literacy, books with puppets, middle grade books, middle grade fiction, Orange Books