Buying Options

Unlimited reading. Over 2 million titles. Learn more
Read and Listen for Free
OR
Digital List Price: $4.99
Kindle Price: $2.49

Save $2.50 (50%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.
Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share <Embed>
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Murder at Teal's Pond: Hazel Drew and the Mystery That Inspired Twin Peaks by [David Bushman, Mark T. Givens, Mark Frost]

Follow the Authors

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Murder at Teal's Pond: Hazel Drew and the Mystery That Inspired Twin Peaks Kindle Edition

3.5 out of 5 stars 5,110 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$2.49
Great on Kindle
Great Experience. Great Value.
iphone with kindle app
Putting our best book forward
Each Great on Kindle book offers a great reading experience, at a better value than print to keep your wallet happy.

Explore your book, then jump right back to where you left off with Page Flip.

View high quality images that let you zoom in to take a closer look.

Enjoy features only possible in digital – start reading right away, carry your library with you, adjust the font, create shareable notes and highlights, and more.

Discover additional details about the events, people, and places in your book, with Wikipedia integration.

Get the free Kindle app: Link to the kindle app page Link to the kindle app page
Enjoy a great reading experience when you borrow the Kindle edition of this book with your Kindle Unlimited membership. Learn more about Great on Kindle, available in select categories.
Due to its large file size, this book may take longer to download
Create your FREE Amazon Business account to save up to 10% with Business-only prices and free shipping. Register today

Editorial Reviews

Review

An Amazon Best Book of the Month: History

“In this taut true crime page-turner…The authors effectively summarize five years of research, utilizing a range of sources, and paint a convincing picture of events that make readers feel like they’re experiencing developments in real time…this account will hold appeal beyond David Lynch fans.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“The story is fascinating and the added historical details add depth. Those interested in true crime, especially of an archival nature, will relish this.” Booklist

“In David Bushman and Mark Givens’s exhaustively researched book, Laura Palmer’s doppelganger is Hazel Drew, a young beauty with deep secrets found dead in a pond outside of Albany in 1908. One-hundred-fifteen years later, Bushman and Givens unspool the mystery of Hazel’s unsolved murder, suspect by suspect.” Vanity Fair

Murder At Teal’s Pond is a fascinating, haunting true crime mystery.” Oxygen

“In the literary equivalent of an archaeological dig, authors Bushman and Givens unearth the details of a sensational murder mystery that gripped the nation in 1908 and inspired the sinister cult favorite, Twin Peaks. Now, with Murder at Teal’s Pond, the real characters emerge in a drama that proves to be every bit as darkly compelling as the TV classic—if not more so.” —John Berendt, author of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil

From the Publisher

Murder at Teal’s Pond is an atmospheric and page-turning historical true crime book with all the elements of a future classic in the vein of The Devil in the White City and In Cold Blood.

Authors David Bushman and Mark T. Givens are
Twin Peaks aficionados and have been writing and podcasting about the show for years. When they learned that Laura Palmer, the victim at the heart of the show, was inspired by a real woman—the beautiful and mysterious Hazel Drew—they became utterly fascinated by Hazel’s unsolved murder, determined to find out what exactly happened to her back in 1908.

Who would want to kill Hazel, an enigmatic—and powerless—domestic worker? Was it a crime of passion or premeditated? Did she have a secret lover, or was she witness to a crime? In this expertly researched book, Bushman and Givens investigate the prominent families, politicians, and power brokers of the time, as well as Hazel’s own family. The authors leave no stone unturned in their search for what happened on that fateful day in July of 1908.

In the end, we must accept there will never be a happy ending for Hazel, but I do believe the authors have provided her with long-overdue justice.

—Liz Pearsons, Editor

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B08Z7HLLYM
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Thomas & Mercer (January 1, 2022)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ January 1, 2022
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 44027 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 335 pages
  • Lending ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    3.5 out of 5 stars 5,110 ratings

About the authors

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5
5,110 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on December 7, 2021
244 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on December 1, 2021
146 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on December 1, 2021
115 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on December 5, 2021
88 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on December 1, 2021
133 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on December 8, 2021
68 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on December 2, 2021
52 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on December 5, 2021
46 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

M. Dowden
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, But…
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 2, 2021
23 people found this helpful
Report abuse
The Paragon
2.0 out of 5 stars Deadly dull
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 23, 2021
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
gerardpeter
1.0 out of 5 stars Amateur
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 28, 2021
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
kim newbery
2.0 out of 5 stars Hard work
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 5, 2021
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
A. Linton
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of detail but where's the analysis?
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on February 4, 2022
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?