Buying Options

Kindle Price: $12.99

Save $4.01 (24%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.
Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share <Embed>
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Ordinary Grace: A Novel by [William Kent Krueger]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Ordinary Grace: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 16,153 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$12.99
Digital

Read the first 3 episodes of every story FREE pantry

Create your FREE Amazon Business account to save up to 10% with Business-only prices and free shipping. Register today
Popular Highlights in this book

Editorial Reviews

Review

“Pitch-perfect, wonderfully evocative. . . . In Frank Drum’s journey away from the shores of childhood—a journey from which he can never return—we recognize the heartbreaking price of adulthood and its ‘wisdoms.’ I loved this book.” (Dennis Lehane, New York Times bestselling author of Live by Night and The Given Day )

“Krueger’s elegy for innocence is a deeply memorable tale.” (Washington Post)

“A respected mystery writer turns his attention to the biggest mystery of all: God. An award-winning author for his long-running Cork O’ Connor series, Krueger aims higher and hits harder with a standalone novel that shares much with his other work.... 'the awful grace of God,' as it manifests itself within the novel, would try the faith of the most devout believer. Yet, ultimately, the world of this novel is one of redemptive grace and mercy, as well as unidentified corpses and unexplainable tragedy. A novel that transforms narrator and reader alike.” (Kirkus Reviews (starred))

“...elegiac, evocative.... a resonant tale of fury, guilt, and redemption.” (Publishers Weekly)

“Once in a blue moon a book drops down on your desk that demands to be read. You pick it up and read the first page, and then the second, and you are hooked. Such a book is 
Ordinary Grace. . . . This is a book that makes the reader feel better just by having been exposed to the delights of the story. It will stay with you for quite some time and you will always remember it with a smile.”  (Huffington Post)

“One cannot read
Ordinary Grace without feeling as if it is destined to be hailed as a classic work of literature. Ordinary Grace is one of those very rare books in which one regrets reaching its end, knowing that the experience of having read it for the first time will never be repeated. Krueger, who is incapable of writing badly, arguably has given us his masterpiece.” (BookReporter.com)

“My best read so far this year.” (ReviewingtheEvidence.com)

“A thoughtful literary mystery that is wholly compelling and will appeal to fans of Dennis Lehane and Tom Franklin. . . Don’t take the title too literally, for Krueger has produced something that is anything but ordinary.” (BookPage)

“Not often does a story feel at once fresh and familiar. But
Ordinary Grace, a new novel from William Kent Krueger, is both, and it is affecting.” (Denver Post)

Ordinary Grace is engaging from the first page, a quiet novel that unfurls its sad story slowly, but eloquently, leaving its mark on your heart.” (The Missourian)

“There’s such a quiet beauty in his prose and such depth to his characters that I was completely captivated.”  (Minneapolis Star-Tribune)

“A superb literary novel.” (New York Journal of Books)

“...the tone is much like
To Kill a Mockingbird, with its combination of dread and nostalgia.” (Detroit News)

“Everything about this book, from language to ideas to Aeschylus’s epigram is beautiful and you’ll think about it long after you’re finished reading.” (The Globe and Mail (Toronto))

“I realized within pages this would be one of the best books I’ve read in recent years. The gathering threat and its consummation are satisfying and meaningful. This is an intelligent and compelling story told with great heart.... A perfect book club read, truly a book to love and read more than once. Absolutely recommended.” (Historical Novel Society)

“Besides being a terrific story that examines a powerful range of human experiences and emotions, it was the authentic voice of the teenage narrator, Frank Drum, that kept me reading late into the night. Though the tone is quiet, Krueger artfully layered the story with suspenseful examinations of family life, death, fury, spiritual fiber and redemption.” (Beth Hoffman, New York Times bestselling author of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt )

“Sometimes a work of fiction just comes to you, sits in your soul, touches your life experiences and then is hard to remember as fiction. Ordinary Grace by William Kent Kruger is such a novel." (Capital Journal)

About the Author

William Kent Krueger is the New York Times bestselling author of This Tender LandOrdinary Grace (winner of the Edgar Award for best novel), as well as nineteen acclaimed books in the Cork O’Connor mystery series, including Lightning Strike and Desolation Mountain. He lives in the Twin Cities with his family. Learn more at WilliamKentKrueger.com.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B008J2G5Y6
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Atria Books; Reprint edition (March 26, 2013)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ March 26, 2013
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 6011 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 322 pages
  • Lending ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 16,153 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Raised in the Cascade Mountains of Oregon, William Kent Krueger briefly attended Stanford University—before being kicked out for radical activities. After that, he logged timber, worked construction, tried his hand at freelance journalism, and eventually ended up researching child development at the University of Minnesota. He currently makes his living as a full-time author. He’s been married for over 40 years to a marvelous woman who is a retired attorney. He makes his home in St. Paul, a city he dearly loves.

Krueger writes a mystery series set in the north woods of Minnesota. His protagonist is Cork O’Connor, the former sheriff of Tamarack County and a man of mixed heritage—part Irish and part Ojibwe. His work has received a number of awards, including the Minnesota Book Award, the Loft-McKnight Fiction Award, the Anthony Award, the Barry Award, the Dilys Award, and the Friends of American Writers Prize. His last five novels were all New York Times bestsellers.

"Ordinary Grace," his stand-alone novel published in 2013, received the Edgar Award, given by the Mystery Writers of America in recognition for the best novel published in that year. "Manitou Canyon," number fifteen in his Cork O’Connor series, was released in September 2016. Visit his website at www.williamkentkrueger.com.

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
16,153 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on October 3, 2017
774 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 6, 2017
440 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 9, 2019
185 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 4, 2019
161 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on December 15, 2016
370 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 15, 2017
186 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

R T Twinem
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotive and soul-searching
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 29, 2018
20 people found this helpful
Report abuse
TW286
5.0 out of 5 stars ... (nothing lower than a 4) the bar was set pretty high for this one
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 20, 2017
19 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Book Bonkers
4.0 out of 5 stars Coming of Age Can Hurt...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 12, 2018
13 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Siltone
5.0 out of 5 stars There’s nothing ‘ordinary’ about this novel.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 28, 2021
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
NurseLinda
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant, well told story!!!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 1, 2019
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?