<Embed>
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing "Send link," you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message & data rates may apply.

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Oryx and Crake Audio CD – Unabridged, May 6, 2003

4.4 out of 5 stars 3,722 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Audio CD, Audiobook, Unabridged
$42.19
$42.19

Books with Buzz
Discover the latest buzz-worthy books, from mysteries and romance to humor and nonfiction. Explore more

Editorial Reviews

Review

“Ingenious and disturbing.… A landmark work of speculative fiction, comparable to A Clockwork Orange, Brave New World.… Atwood has surpassed herself.”
Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Rigorous in its chilling insights and riveting in its fast-paced ‘what if’ dramatization, Atwood’s superb novel is as brilliantly provocative as it is profoundly engaging.”
Booklist (starred review)

Oryx and Crake is Atwood at her playful, allegorical best.”
Globe and Mail

“[Oryx and Crake is written] with a style and grace that demonstrate again just how masterful a storyteller she is. If one measure of art’s power is its ability to force you to face what you would very much rather not, Oryx and Crake – the evocative tale of a nightmarish near-future – is an extraordinary work of art, one that reaffirms Atwood’s place at the apex of Canadian literature.”
Maclean’s

“Atwood’s new masterpiece.…Extraordinary.… [Atwood pulls] back the curtain on her terrible vision with such tantalizing precision, its fearsome implications don’t fully reveal themselves until the final pages.… A darkly comic work of speculative fiction.”
W Magazine (U.S.)

“For all its artistic achievement, this novel poses serious questions.… Margaret Atwood is a consummate artist, yes, but her work also pricks our social and ethical consciousness. That is a rare combination, an important
achievement.…”
Globe and Mail

“Atwood’s great talent for narrative has never been displayed to better effect.”
Toronto Star

“Riveting.…Chesterton once wrote of the ‘thousand romances that lie secreted in The Origin of Species.’ Atwood has extracted one of the most hair-raising of them, and one of the most brilliant.”
Publishers Weekly

Oryx and Crake is Atwood at her best – dark, dry, scabrously witty, yet moving and studded with flashes of pure poetry. Her gloriously inventive brave new world is all the more chilling because of the mirror it holds up to our own. Citizens, be warned.”
The Independent (U.K.)

Oryx and Crake can hold its own against any of the 20th century’s most potent dystopias – Brave New World, 1984, The Space Merchants – with regard to both dramatic impact and fertility of invention.…Oryx and Crake showcases a nightmare version of the present era of globalization on a globe coming apart at its ecological seams.… It is a scathing (because bang-on) portrait of the way we live now.…Majestic.…”
Washington Post

“Is there a more accomplished or versatile writer, in Canada, than Margaret Atwood?… Atwood is on top of the times – intuits them, really.… The moral questions of Oryx and Crake are already in play.”
National Post (profile)

Oryx and Crake is a broad canvas that allows Atwood to show off her brilliant talent for satire and wordplay, as well as her considerable love and knowledge of the natural world.”
Quill & Quire

“Wonderfully vivid, and the sardonic unveiling of future history makes for a strong narrative drive.”
National Post

“Perfectly constructed, funny, and satiric. It is inventive yet prophetic, in fact, apocalyptic and weirdly feasible.… It is brilliant.”
Winnipeg Free Press

Oryx and Crake is set just the other side of the evening news, in a future so close we can smell its stench.…Atwood has outdone herself here.”
Georgia Straight

“Contemporary novelists rarely write about science or technology. Margaret Atwood tackles both – and more – in one of the year’s most surprising novels.”
The Economist



From the Hardcover edition.

From the Inside Flap

nd provocative new novel by the internationally celebrated author of The Blind Assassin, winner of the Booker Prize

Margaret Atwood’s new novel is so utterly compelling, so prescient, so relevant, so terrifyingly-all-too-likely-to-be-true, that readers may find their view of the world forever changed after reading it.

This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. For readers of Oryx and Crake, nothing will ever look the same again.

The narrator of Atwood's riveting novel calls himself Snowman. When the story opens, he is sleeping in a tree, wearing an old bedsheet, mourning the loss of his beloved Oryx and his best friend Crake, and slowly starving to death. He searches for supplies in a wasteland where insects proliferate and pigoons and wolvogs ravage the pleeblands, where ordinary people once lived, and the Compounds that sheltered the extraordinary. As he tries to piece together what has taken place, the narrativ

Audible Holiday Deal
Save 46% on your first 4 months. Get this deal

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Random House Audio; Unabridged edition (May 6, 2003)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0739307444
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0739307441
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 14.4 ounces
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 5.66 x 1.89 x 4.91 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.4 out of 5 stars 3,722 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
3,722 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on April 29, 2019
Verified Purchase
36 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 15, 2015
Verified Purchase
93 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 28, 2017
Verified Purchase
34 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 11, 2018
Verified Purchase
24 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Sue F
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 19, 2018
Verified Purchase
19 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Frazer Kennedy
5.0 out of 5 stars Great dystopian / post-apocalyptic novel
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on February 9, 2018
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Le Tigre
3.0 out of 5 stars brave ideas but not my literary style
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 8, 2015
Verified Purchase
11 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Felix the cat
4.0 out of 5 stars A poor man's Kurt Vonnegut
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 2, 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Frank P Ryan
5.0 out of 5 stars Asks some very awkward questions about what it is to be human
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 29, 2013
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse