Buying Options

Kindle Price: $13.99

Save $13.00 (48%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.
Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share <Embed>
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
The Other Mother: A Novel by [Matthew Dicks]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Other Mother: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 68 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$13.99
Create your FREE Amazon Business account to save up to 10% with Business-only prices and free shipping. Register today

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 8 Up-Michael is drowning. His life seems relatively easy: He's 14, white, in middle school, is interested in girls, and has a mom, two younger siblings, and a stepfather. But he also has two huge secrets that are taking over his life and pulling him under. First, and most importantly, his mother is missing. She has been replaced by another mother, an exact twin, and no one has noticed except Michael. The other secret is so big he can't even contemplate it. Meanwhile, he has to take care of his younger brother and sister while his other mother works two shifts at the hospital to support them and his perennially unemployed stepfather. On top of that, Michael has to check in twice daily with the school counselor for anger management (after all, he did throw a laptop through a window). Determined to find his mother, Michael tackles adult-size problems, and along the way, finds out that friends and family can be a greater resource than he ever expected. This is a captivating story, told from Michael's point of view with incredible veracity and heart. VERDICT A perfect read for fans of John Green, R.J. Palacio, and Marcus Zusak.-Gretchen Crowley, formerly at Alexandria City P.L., VAα(c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted. --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Review

"A.J. Beckles's performance as Michael is solid―he credibly captures the angst and volatility of a 13-year-old who is coping with grief and anger.… Beckles has a youthful voice that becomes Michael's, and his pacing and subtle variations in dialogue make this an easy listen." AudioFile Magazine

"Captivating... a perfect read for fans of John Green, R.J. Palacio, and Marcus Zusak." School Library Journal

"The Other Mother celebrates the healing magic of friendship and reclaiming one's self. Told in Michael's wry, often anxious voice, this quietly triumphant feel-good novel addresses the burden of grief, the complications of family and the mysteries of first love." ―Shelf Awareness

"A touching coming-of-age tale. For fans of Mark Haddon’s The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and Andrew David MacDonald’s When We Were Vikings." Library Journal

"Nearly impossible to put down... Filled with emotion, pain, and joy, The Other Mother is well worth the read." ―Associated Press

"Dicks offers a wistful and quietly moving portrait of a teenage boy keeping too many secrets... [His] bighearted, generous novel makes a strong case for empathy and for forgiveness―both toward others and toward oneself." Publishers Weekly

--This text refers to the audioCD edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B084M1Q9GT
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ St. Martin's Press (January 12, 2021)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ January 12, 2021
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 1523 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 309 pages
  • Lending ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.3 out of 5 stars 68 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Matthew Dicks is the internationally bestselling author of the novels Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend, The Other Mother, Something Missing, Unexpectedly, Milo, The Perfect Comeback of Caroline Jacobs, Twenty-one Truths About Love, as well as the nonfiction Storyworthy: Engage, Teach, Persuade, and Change Your Life Through the Art of Storytelling and the upcoming Cardboard Knight and Someday Is Today.

His novels have been translated into more than 25 languages worldwide.

Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend was the 2014 Dolly Gray Award winner and was nominated for a 2017 Nutmeg Award in Connecticut. Matthew has been awarded first prize in the Magazine/Humorous Column category by the CT Society of Professional Journalists in 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, and 2020.

He is also the author of the rock opera The Clowns and the musicals Caught in the Middle, Sticks & Stones, and Summertime. He has written comic books for Double Take comics. He is the humor columnist for Seasons magazine, an advice columnist for Slate magazine.

When not hunched over a computer screen, Matthew fills his days as an elementary school teacher, a storyteller, a speaking coach, a blogger, a wedding DJ, a minister, a life coach, and a Lord of Sealand. He has been teaching for 23 years and is a former West Hartford Teacher of the Year and a finalist for Connecticut Teacher of the Year.

Matthew is a record 55-time Moth StorySLAM champion and 7-time GrandSLAM champion whose stories have been featured on their nationally syndicated Moth Radio Hour and their weekly podcast.

Matthew is also the co-founder and Artistic Director of Speak Up, a Hartford-based storytelling organization that produces shows throughout New England. He coaches and consults on storytelling and communication with individuals, corporations, universities, hospitals, attorneys, clergy members, and school districts around the world. He has most recently taught at MIT, Yale University, Harvard University, The University of Connecticut Law School, Purdue University, Kripalu Center for Yoga and Health, Miss Porter's School, and Graded School in Sao Paulo, Brazil.

Matthew is the creator and co-host of the podcasts Speak Up Storytelling, a podcast that helps listeners improve their storytelling and Boy vs. Girl, a podcast about gender and gender stereotypes.

Matthew is married to friend and fellow teacher, Elysha, and they have two children, Clara and Charlie. He grew up in the small town of Blackstone, Massachusetts, where he made a name for himself by dying twice before the age of eighteen and becoming the first student in his high school to be suspended for inciting riot upon himself.

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5
68 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on January 15, 2021
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on February 14, 2021
Reviewed in the United States on January 18, 2021
Reviewed in the United States on February 5, 2021
Reviewed in the United States on January 12, 2021
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 12, 2021
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 23, 2021
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 10, 2021
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?