Buying Options

Unlimited reading. Over 1 million titles. Learn more
Read for Free
OR
Kindle Price: $5.99

Save $10.96 (65%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
The Pale-Faced Lie: A True Story by [David Crow]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Pale-Faced Lie: A True Story Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 1,329 ratings

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$5.99
Great on Kindle
Great Experience. Great Value.
iphone with kindle app
Putting our best book forward
Each Great on Kindle book offers a great reading experience, at a better value than print to keep your wallet happy.

Explore your book, then jump right back to where you left off with Page Flip.

View high quality images that let you zoom in to take a closer look.

Enjoy features only possible in digital – start reading right away, carry your library with you, adjust the font, create shareable notes and highlights, and more.

Discover additional details about the events, people, and places in your book, with Wikipedia integration.

Ask Alexa to read your book with Audible integration or text-to-speech.

Get the free Kindle app: Link to the kindle app page Link to the kindle app page
Enjoy a great reading experience when you borrow the Kindle edition of this book with your Kindle Unlimited membership. Learn more about Great on Kindle, available in select categories.

Length: 358 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $7.49 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton
Amazon Business : For business-only pricing, quantity discounts and FREE Shipping. Register a free business account

Editorial Reviews

Review

"This painful memoir . . . delivers a truthful and ultimately empowering missive about the long shadow cast by an abusive parent."--Publishers Weekly

"For fans of Tara Westover's Educated, The Pale-Faced Lie: A True Story is a disturbing yet captivating memoir of how one man's psychopathic delusions can imprison an entire family . . . an empowering memoir."--New York Journal of Books

"Crow's memoir is cinematically gripping. . . . An extraordinary remembrance that's both gut-wrenching and inspiring."--Kirkus Reviews

"A hard-hitting, gut-punch memoir that should be on any reading list about family relationships and abuse, true crime, and Native American culture and interrelationships."--Midwest Book Review

"The Pale-Faced Lie by David Crow is one of the most enlightening and entertaining true stories I have ever read. . . . Every page brings new action and excitement, delivered with easy dialogue and sincerity. If you're looking for an absorbing and touching read, grab The Pale-Faced Lie today." 5 STARS--Readers' Favorite

"A compellingly and graphically written memoir about a supremely dysfunctional family."--David Steinberg, Albuquerque Journal

"It's hard to imagine a worse childhood than author David Crow and his siblings experienced. But his compelling and heart-wrenching memoir rises above the horror as a powerful testimony to the enduring strength of the human spirit. Crow's skill as a writer and his amazing lack of self-pity make this true story even more engaging."--Anne Hillerman, New York Times best-selling author

"Let me tell you, The Pale-Faced Lie is a hard and brilliantly insightful look into dealing with the hand we're dealt and improving it."--Joe R. Lansdale, award-winning author of over 40 novels, including Paradise Sky and Cold in July

"[Crow] has considerable wisdom to impart and an unexpected ending that will linger in memory. I promise that you've never read a book quite like this one."--Jeff Guinn, New York Times best-selling author

"Heartbreaking and gut-wrenchingly honest. Anyone with a troubled childhood should read The Pale-Faced Lie. David Crow's book is proof that hope rises from the ashes."--Chris Enss, New York Times best-selling author

"David Crow's incredible resilience shines through this story of triumph over adversity. . . . What makes one child so persistent and undefeatable, and another crumble? It's a question for the ages, but we can never have enough of these kinds of stories and examples."--Toby Neal, award-winning author of Freckled: A Memoir of Growing up Wild in Hawaii and the USA Today best-selling Paradise Crime Mystery series

"A memoir of an extraordinary life that is lifted by extraordinary storytelling. . . . It is emotionally engaging, consistently entertaining, and nearly impossible to put down."--James Anderson, author of The Never-Open Desert Diner and Lullaby Road

"The Pale-Faced Lie is as gripping as some of the best-selling fiction books ever written. David Crow's amazing true story is hard to read, but even harder to put down. I missed one of my own deadlines because I didn't want to stop reading!"--Sherry Monahan, award-winning author of The Golden Elixir of the West; Tinsel, Tumbleweeds, and Star-Spangled Celebrations; and The Cowboy's Cookbook

"The Pale-Faced Lie is a riveting account of a world turned upside down. A very visual, engaging, and well-written book that will make the reader cringe, cry, and cheer for a boy on a treacherous journey to adulthood. Couldn't put it down."--Felix F. Giordano, best-selling author of the Jim Buchanan novels

"A dramatic tale of strength, learning, love, and hate. You won't be disappointed."--Mark Reps, author of the Zeb Hanks: Small Town Sheriff Big Time Trouble series

"In The Pale-Faced Lie, David Crow paints a burning picture of his singular life, from his more-than-challenging early years on a Navajo reservation, to a life-altering move to an affluent suburb, to breaking into the wilds of DC's jungle of movers and shakers. Mismanaged by a criminal father--keep an eye out for what happens in Wild and Wonderful West Virginia--Crow somehow emerged with the strength and thoughtfulness to write this gift to us. A grand read and an even grander lesson of life--be prepared to be all-consumed."--David T. Beddow, author of A Ferrie Tale

Product details

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
1,329 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?
Reviewed in the United States on May 16, 2019
Verified Purchase
177 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on September 13, 2019
Verified Purchase
145 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 29, 2019
Verified Purchase
84 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 9, 2019
Verified Purchase
77 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 18, 2019
Verified Purchase
65 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 13, 2019
Verified Purchase
55 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top international reviews

Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 10, 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Gwen
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 11, 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Susan Carr
3.0 out of 5 stars Good writing so far
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on November 9, 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Sandra Blake
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotionally gripping
Reviewed in Canada on March 8, 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Bob
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Story of father and son
Reviewed in Canada on November 17, 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Carolynn M Leeuw
5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived exactly when it was suppose to
Reviewed in Canada on December 9, 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
N M Waiariki
4.0 out of 5 stars A true story
Reviewed in Canada on July 29, 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars EXcellent read!
Reviewed in Canada on November 17, 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse