Buying Options

Kindle Price: $8.99
Amazon Kids+ Free
Give this and thousands of kid-friendly books with Amazon Kids+.
Read with Amazon Kids+
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.
Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See? (Brown Bear and Friends) by [Bill Martin Jr., Eric Carle]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See? (Brown Bear and Friends) Kindle Edition

4.8 out of 5 stars 3,126 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$8.99
Next 2 for you in this series See full series
Total Price: $18.98
By clicking on the above button, you agree to Amazon's Kindle Store Terms of Use

Books In This Series (5 Books)
Create your FREE Amazon Business account to save up to 10% with Business-only prices and free shipping. Register today

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com Review

Fans of Bill Martin Jr. and Eric Carle's Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? and Polar Bear, Polar Bear, What Do You Hear? will be delighted to see another title in this lilting call and response series. Much like their earlier picture books, Panda Bear features a string of fine feathered (and furry and scaly) friends watching over each other. In this book, however, all the animals are endangered, from a swinging spider monkey to a strutting macaroni penguin (kids will get a kick out of that name!) to a splashing sea lion. Carle’s trademark tissue paper collages will be as familiar--and welcome--as the text ("Whooping Crane, Whooping Crane, what do you see?" "I see a black panther strolling by me."); young readers will quickly get the hang of the rhythm and join right in. The book concludes on a hopeful note, with a dreaming child seeing the ten f! eatured animals "all wild and free--/ that’s what I see!" Martin includes a note on endangered species that may spark concern and interest in older readers--our hope for these disappearing creatures. (Ages 3 to 8) --Emilie Coulter --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

From Booklist

PreS-Gr. 2. In this book, Martin and Carle change the focus of their classic Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? to endangered species. Using deceptively simple repetitive rhyme, double-page spreads lead from one animal to the next, "Red Wolf, Red Wolf, / what do you see? / I see a whooping crane / flying by me." The pictures, featuring animals strolling, splashing, and soaring, are brilliant lessons in the application of color, shape, form, and texture. Carle's use of negative space and of sculptural line conveys not only the essence of each animal but also the energy of its movement. The book ends with a dreaming child who sees all the animals: "all wild and free--that's what I see!" A fine read-aloud with a subtle, yet clear, message. GraceAnne DeCandido
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B00BU40QVS
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Henry Holt and Co. (BYR); 1st edition (June 25, 2013)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ June 25, 2013
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 8124 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Not enabled
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 32 pages
  • Lending ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.8 out of 5 stars 3,126 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Bill Martin Jr, an elementary-school principal, teacher, writer, and poet, held a doctoral degree in early childhood education. His many books, among them the bestselling classics Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?; Polar Bear, Polar Bear, What Do You Hear?; Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See?; and Chicka Chicka Boom Boom, are a testament to his ability to speak directly to children.

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5
3,126 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on March 23, 2019
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, kids love this book
Reviewed in the United States on March 23, 2019
I have always been a fan of Eric Carle books, and this was no exception.
We have the whole series! My son's favorite is Brown Bear but he likes a lot this too.
This book, like the others, is interactive and rhythmic, you can introduce the names of the animals and the sounds they make. 
Children learn easily colors, what sounds each animal makes and even counting how many characters are in the book. 
The illustrations are so unique and eye catching, the colors are bright, the pages are sturdy and the story holds their attention.
The book finishes with a summary of all that the children have seen.
The hard board book is easy to hold and very durable.
A must have
Images in this review
Customer image Customer image Customer image Customer image
Customer imageCustomer imageCustomer imageCustomer image
34 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 8, 2020
Customer image
1.0 out of 5 stars Used Product
Reviewed in the United States on January 8, 2020
I'd give it one star if I could....paid full price and received a used version. WTH....
Images in this review
Customer image Customer image
Customer imageCustomer image
12 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on September 7, 2017
12 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 6, 2020
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on February 27, 2020
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute
Reviewed in the United States on February 27, 2020
Super cute story and art. I use to the original "brown bear" version on this when I was little so I bought this book for my daughter and I'm happy
Images in this review
Customer image Customer image
Customer imageCustomer image
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 9, 2020
Customer image
1.0 out of 5 stars Love the book, but maybe some quality control is needed.
Reviewed in the United States on August 9, 2020
This is not a review about the story or pictures of this book. This is a review about the construction and the lack of quality control. The book's cover is install backwards, so when you flip open the first page, what you actually see is the last page upside down.

Now I'm trying to decide if it's worth my time to return and buy another or attempt to separate the cover and glue it back. Very disappointing.
Images in this review
Customer image Customer image
Customer imageCustomer image
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 8, 2022
Customer image
4.0 out of 5 stars Words with pages are not right
Reviewed in the United States on April 8, 2022
Realized the words on the pages are behind from the correct order should be. (Example: green sea turtle green sea turtle what do you see? Should be on first page, not second) not a HUGE deal but still not correct from actual production. So strange how this happened. Only noticed this because we have the other books from the series.
Images in this review
Customer image Customer image
Customer imageCustomer image
Reviewed in the United States on February 9, 2016
11 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Kairra
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic introduction to animal conservation
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 27, 2014
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Hels 78
5.0 out of 5 stars Great children’s book.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 28, 2019
Lindsey H.
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 24, 2020
SH
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on November 23, 2019
Howie D
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on June 17, 2019
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?