Buy new:
$13.99
List Price: $16.99 Details
Save: $3.00 (18%)
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime
FREE delivery:
Get free shipping
Free shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items shipped by Amazon.
Or get faster shipping on this item starting at $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
Wednesday, Dec 8 on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon. Details
Fastest delivery: Tuesday, Dec 7
Order within 16 hrs and 53 mins
Details
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
$$13.99 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$13.99
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date, and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Return policy: Returnable until Jan 31, 2022
For the 2021 holiday season, returnable items purchased between October 1 and December 31 can be returned until January 31, 2022
Paradise on Fire has been added to your Cart
<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
$12.13
& FREE Shipping
Sold by: Swift USA
Sold by: Swift USA
(3018 ratings)
89% positive over last 12 months
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Shipping rates and Return policy
$12.13
& FREE Shipping
Sold by: Spyglass LLC
Sold by: Spyglass LLC
(2007 ratings)
95% positive over last 12 months
Only 2 left in stock - order soon.
Shipping rates and Return policy
$8.14
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: time2buybooks
Sold by: time2buybooks
(1575 ratings)
100% positive over last 12 months
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing "Send link," you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message & data rates may apply.

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Paradise on Fire Hardcover – September 14, 2021

4.7 out of 5 stars 17 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$13.99
$8.14 $11.23
when you buy $20 of select items. Shop items

Enhance your purchase


Audible Holiday Deal
Join Audible Premium Plus for 60% off. Only $5.95 a month for the first 3 months. Get this deal

Frequently bought together

  • Paradise on Fire
  • +
  • Black Brother, Black Brother
  • +
  • Ghost Boys
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Choose items to buy together.

Special offers and product promotions

  • Save $5 when you spend $20 Offered by Amazon.com. Shop items
  • Create your FREE Amazon Business account to save up to 10% with Business-only prices and free shipping.

From the Publisher

Black Brother, Black Brother by Jewell Parker Rhodes Ghost Boys by Jewell Parker Rhodes Towers Falling by Jewell Parker Rhodes Bayou Magic by Jewell Parker Rhodes Sugar by Jewell Parker Rhodes Ninth Ward by Jewell Parker Rhodes
Black Brother, Black Brother Ghost Boys Towers Falling Bayou Magic Sugar Ninth Ward
Discover more inspiring reads from Jewell Parker Rhodes! A powerful coming-of-age story about two brothers, one who presents as white, the other as black. A heartbreaking and powerful story about a black boy killed by a police officer, drawing connections through history. A powerful novel set fifteen years after the 9/11 attacks in a classroom of students who cannot remember the event but live through the aftermath. A magical coming-of-age story, rich with Southern folklore, friendship, family, fireflies and mermaids, plus an environmental twist. A tale of a strong, spirited young girl who rises beyond her circumstances and inspires others to work toward a brighter future. A heartbreaking and uplifting tale of survival in the face of Hurricane Katrina.

Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for Jewell Parker Rhodes

*"A powerful work and must-have for children's collections."―Booklist, starred review

"Placing biracial boyhood and the struggles of colorism at its center, the novel challenges readers to pursue their own self-definition."―Kirkus

*"An excellent selection for both elementary and middle library collections, this is a title that celebrates finding one's place in the world."―School Library Connection, starred review

"Donte's story is a good primer for younger readers on microaggressions."―School Library Journal

"A classic sports story."―BCCB

"This novel offers a solid story, with relatable, three-dimensional characters considering identity, that will teach readers about colorism's effects."
Publishers Weekly

“The book is sparsely written, poetic in its style. Despite the destruction, the narrative is fundamentally optimistic, rooted in the power of nature and community to bring us back to ourselves when we fear all is lost.” ―The Los Angeles Times

"...an exciting page-turner."―School Library Connection

"This page-turning tale is not to be missed."―B&N Reads

"Lyrical in tone, the first-person narration brings home Addy’s love of nature as well as her urgency to protect it."―Horn Book

"Paradise on Fire is a brilliant melding of captivating storytelling and crucial teaching moments."―Shelf Awareness

"People of color have not historically featured in wilderness stories, which makes this title refreshing, especially in light of national conversations around racial equity in outdoor spaces. A strong read-alike for Gary Paulsen fans or older kids who have graduated from the I Survived series but are still seeking a thrilling survival story."
 
 ―Booklist

"Addy is a heroine any reader might aspire to be, a teenager who learns to trust her own voice and instincts, who realizes that fire can live within someone, too."New York Times

About the Author

Jewell Parker Rhodes is the author of Ninth Ward, winner of a Coretta Scott King Honor; Sugar, winner of the Jane Addams Children's Book Award; and the New York Times-bestselling Ghost Boys; as well as Bayou Magic; Towers Falling; Black Brother, Black Brother; and Paradise on Fire. She has written many award-novels for adults, including, MAGIC CITY, a novel about the 1921 Tulsa Race Massacre. Jewell is the Virginia G. Piper Endowed Chair of Creative Writing at Arizona State University.

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (September 14, 2021)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 256 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 031649383X
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0316493833
  • Reading age ‏ : ‎ 8 - 12 years
  • Grade level ‏ : ‎ 3 - 7
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 11.2 ounces
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 5.6 x 1.2 x 7.95 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.7 out of 5 stars 17 ratings

Audible Holiday Deal
Join Audible Premium Plus for 60% off. Only $5.95 a month for the first 3 months. Get this deal

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

http://www.jewellparkerrhodes.com

Dr. Jewell Parker Rhodes is an award-winning and New York Times bestselling author and educator for both youth and adults. She is the author of seven books for children including the New York Times bestsellers Ghost Boys and Black Brother, Black Brother, both named Amazon’s Best Children’s Books of the Year. Her other books include Paradise on Fire, Towers Falling, and the Louisiana Girls Trilogy: Ninth Ward, Sugar, and Bayou Magic.

Jewell is the author of six adult novels: Voodoo Dreams, Magic City, Douglass’ Women, Season, Moon, and Hurricane, as well as the memoir Porch Stories: A Grandmother’s Guide to Happiness, and two writing guides, Free Within Ourselves: Fiction Lessons for Black Authors and The African American Guide to Writing and Publishing Non-Fiction.

Jewell has won the American Book Award, the Black Caucus of the American Library Award for Literary Excellence, and the Jane Addams Peace Association Book Award.

Jewell regularly visits schools, a speaker at colleges and conferences. The driving force behind all of her work is to inspire social justice, equity, and environmental stewardship.

Jewell is the Founding Artistic Director and Piper Endowed Chair at the Virginia G. Piper Center for Creative Writing at Arizona State University. She was awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters from Carnegie-Mellon University. Born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, she currently lives in Seattle.

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
17 global ratings
5 star
83%
4 star
8%
3 star
8%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on October 1, 2021
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on October 21, 2021
Reviewed in the United States on September 28, 2021
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on October 14, 2021