Buying Options

Kindle Price: $10.99

Save $9.00 (45%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing "Send link," you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message & data rates may apply.

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
A Peculiar Peril (The Misadventures of Jonathan Lambshead Book 1) by [Jeff VanderMeer]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


A Peculiar Peril (The Misadventures of Jonathan Lambshead Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 275 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$10.99

Join Audible Premium Plus for 60% off. Only $5.95 a month for the first 3 months.

Create your FREE Amazon Business account to save up to 10% with Business-only prices and free shipping.

Editorial Reviews

Review

A People Magazine Best Books to Read This Summer 2020

“Taking the peculiar darkness of Ransom Riggs’ Miss Peregrine series and the absurd humor and wit of Terry Pratchett, VanderMeer dreams up a wholly original tale, filled with complexity, imagination, and talking marmots. . . . A wild ride that requires a few leaps of faith from readers, but they’re in good hands with VanderMeer, who has a sequel in the works for those who emerge victorious from Aurora.” ―Booklist, starred review

"A heck of a lot of fun. . . New readers young and old will find VanderMeer’s foray into fresh territory a welcome port of entry to a wildly imaginative universe" ―The New York Times Book Review

“VanderMeer’s sprawling YA debut offers a riotous, slyly sophisticated take on the hero’s journey. Boldly drawn characters, sublimely ridiculous worldbuilding, and a witty, prismatic narrative further distinguish the unique tale.” ―Publishers Weekly

“A madcap marathon portal fantasy . . . An enthusiastic hodgepodge of antique fantasy elements . . . touches of cosmic horror, clever wordplay, genre deconstruction, and butt humor, all tied together with a just-go-with-it fever-dream logic.” ―Kirkus Reviews

"Even for an author known for creating some of the most memorable and important worlds in contemporary fiction, his newest journey into the alt-Earth known as Aurora is remarkable. . . A truly engrossing adventure." ―The Chicago Review of Books

“A wicked read that features teen heroes, occult villains, talking animals, and alt-universes, all in VanderMeer’s unique style.” ―Nerdist

“Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Patrick Rothfuss.” ―Paste Magazine

--This text refers to the hardcover edition.

About the Author

Jeff VanderMeer is the author of Dead Astronauts, Borne, and The Southern Reach Trilogy, the first volume of which, Annihilation, won the Nebula Award and the Shirley Jackson Award and was adapted into a movie by Alex Garland starring Natalie Portman. VanderMeer speaks and writes frequently about issues relating to climate change. He grew up in the Fiji Islands and now lives in Tallahassee, Florida, with his wife, Ann VanderMeer, and their cats, plants, and bird feeders. --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B082RRHRH5
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR); Illustrated edition (July 7, 2020)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ July 7, 2020
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 11238 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 645 pages
  • Lending ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.3 out of 5 stars 275 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Called “the weird Thoreau” by the New Yorker, NYT bestseller Jeff VanderMeer has been a published writer since age 14. His most recent fiction is the critically acclaimed novel BORNE, which has received raves from the NYTBR, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, and many more. Paramount Pictures has optioned BORNE for film.

VanderMeer's Southern Reach trilogy was one of the publishing events of 2014, the trilogy made more than thirty year’s best lists, including Entertainment Weekly’s top 10. Paramount Pictures has made a movie out of the first volume of the Southern Reach, Annihilation, slated for release in 2018 and starring Tessa Thompson, Oscar Isaac, Gina Rodriguez, Natalie Portman, and Jennifer Jason Leigh.

His nonfiction appears in the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, the Guardian, and the Atlantic.com. VanderMeer also wrote the world’s first fully illustrated creative-writing guide, Wonderbook. With his wife, Ann VanderMeer, he has edited may iconic anthologies. He lives in Tallahassee, Florida, with two wonderful cats. His hobbies include hiking, reading, and bird watching.

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5
275 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on July 8, 2020
Verified Purchase
20 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 24, 2020
Verified Purchase
17 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 7, 2020
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 7, 2020
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on September 6, 2020
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 11, 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on July 29, 2021
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 25, 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Simon Booth
5.0 out of 5 stars A singular triumph
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 16, 2020
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Swiftie4lyfe
1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like Annihilation
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 11, 2020
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Kalin
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is not normal.
Reviewed in Canada on July 25, 2020
Verified Purchase
Juan Pablo Quibrera Lecanda
1.0 out of 5 stars Just awful. DON’T BOTHER.
Reviewed in Mexico on September 17, 2020
Verified Purchase
booker6333
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Find
Reviewed in Canada on August 6, 2020
Verified Purchase