Buying Options

Digital List Price: $15.99
Kindle Price: $9.99

Save $6.00 (38%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

You've subscribed to A Carolina Chronicles! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
The Prayer Box (A Carolina Chronicles Book 1) by [Lisa Wingate]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Prayer Box (A Carolina Chronicles Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 2,322 ratings
Book 1 of 3 in A Carolina Chronicles

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$9.99

Length: 384 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $7.49 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available

An Amazon Book with Buzz: "The Patient" by Jasper DeWitt
"The Patient is a fascinating and frightening read that comes at you like the monster under your bed." - Reed Farrel Coleman Learn more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton
Amazon Business : For business-only pricing, quantity discounts and FREE Shipping. Register a free business account

From the Publisher

Editorial Reviews

Review

"I am in awe of Lisa Wingate's talent.  She strikes the heart and turns my gaze toward heaven's door.  THE PRAYER BOX is a masterpiece of story and skill."
 -- Debbie Macomber, NYT #1 Bestselling Author

"Transcends simple hope and healing while capturing the heart of the reader." - Karen White, New York Times bestselling author of The Time Between

"Lisa Wingate writes with grace, beauty and so much heart." -- Sarah Jio, New York Times bestselling author of THE LAST CAMELLIA

"Tenderly woven.  Skillfully threaded.  A grab-your-heart story." -Charles Martin, -- New York Times Bestselling author of Unwritten 

Wingate writes with a sensitivity and lyricism so effortless, weaving a community atmosphere with a comforting story of personal healing (ForeWord Reviews)

With a careful eye to detail and a beautiful, lyrical style reminiscent of those of Mary Alice Monroe and Patti Callahan Henry, Wingate vividly sets Tandi's struggles in a once beautiful Victorian mansion now falling to ruin and guarded by a cranky cat in a small town recovering from the ravages of a hurricane. [Starred review] (Booklist)

Relatable characters and vivid portrayals of events both current and historical create an enchanting, memorable pilgrimage into the fullness of faith and love. (Publishers Weekly)

Readers will delight in this gorgeously written, true gem of a novel. Realistic characters and a saga of life, love, and rebuilding make a gorgeous treat. [Top Pick] (Romantic Times Book Reviews)
Two-time Carol Award winner Wingate (Blue Moon Bay) has written a moving and inspiring story with interesting female characters and a colorful Southern backdrop. A good option for fans of Nicholas Sparks and Mary Alice Monroe. (Library Journal)

From the Author

1.  Where did you get the idea for The Prayer Box?  

 The idea for The Prayer Box came as I was sketching out some short novel summaries at a publisher's request. I literally looked across the room, and saw a prayer box that had been given to me at a speaking event, and thought, What if the prayers of a woman's entire lifetime were recorded in prayer boxes? What would you learn about her if you opened those boxes, and how might it change you?
 
2. From idea to final revision, how long did it take to write?

The writing and revision of The Prayer Box took roughly a year. I knew that the book needed a coastal setting, that it would be the story of a life in ruins being slowly resurrected through the discovery of prayer boxes left behind by the owner of a house. I saw a small seaside community, struggling to recover from a hurricane, and a main character who was an outsider, seeking refuge. I knew that there would be connections between the life of the woman who created the prayer boxes and filled them with letters, and the life of the woman who finds the boxes. Setting The Prayer Box in the Outer Banks added some research time to the writing, but it also added a deep new dimension to the novel. The Outer Banks became a character in itself. It's an area rife with history and legend and that played an important part in the story.
 
 
3. Is there more to the story?
 
The follow- up to The Prayer Box releases in September 2014. The Story Keeper is set in North Carolina as well, but in the Appalachians.  The two novels share a special historical mystery that I hope readers will enjoy discovering, but each book stands alone. A novella, The Tidewater Sisters, bridges the gap between the novels and brings resolution to the complicated relationship of Tandi and her sister.


4. What would you like to say to readers of The Prayer Box?

To watch, to listen, to value the God-given gifts of time, and joy, and people. We live in a culture of acquisition. We're bombarded by the idea that we are what we own... but we are so much  more. Like Iola Anne Poole in the novel, we are the keepers of the grace river. We drink in and pour out, but most of all we must see. So many things compete for our attention. The world is blindingly busy, and all too often, we fall into patterns of fundamental discontentment. We don'thave to live that way. It's a choice. Happiness is an inside job. Gratitude creates gifts. Faith creates peace. These are the lessons I learned from Iola Poole. And yes, I know that sounds strange. How can you learn from the people in your head? How can they know anything more than you know? I think the answer is that God put them there in the first place.

Product details

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
2,322 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?
Reviewed in the United States on April 2, 2017
Verified Purchase
45 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 16, 2014
Verified Purchase
67 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 16, 2016
Verified Purchase
16 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top international reviews

Kindle Customer
4.0 out of 5 stars Faithful love
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on June 16, 2015
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Fiona P
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 9, 2014
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Jayne
5.0 out of 5 stars Where do you p l ace your prayers
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 8, 2014
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars The Prayer Box. Inspirational!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 20, 2014
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
cathym
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed this book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on November 3, 2016
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
CLAIR LEWIS
4.0 out of 5 stars The Prayer Box
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 28, 2018
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Ania
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional book, realistic and very touching
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 3, 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
ET
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and a life affirming story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 18, 2018
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Joanne Compton
5.0 out of 5 stars The prayer box
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 14, 2014
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Alyson C Booth
5.0 out of 5 stars The prayer box
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 26, 2017
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
D. Basford
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 or 4.5 depending
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on November 5, 2014
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
pklme
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 20, 2014
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 4, 2014
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
RY
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 3, 2014
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
KC
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 11, 2014
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse