Buy New
$21.99
  • List Price: $32.00
  • Save: $10.01 (31%)
FREE Shipping
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon or get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
The Priory of the Orange ... has been added to your Cart
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$21.35
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: indoobestsellers
Add to Cart
$27.67
+ Free Shipping
Sold by: Publisher Direct
Add to Cart
$30.42
+ Free Shipping
Sold by: ZiFiti Wholesale
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Priory of the Orange Tree Hardcover – February 26, 2019

4.4 out of 5 stars 894 ratings

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$21.99
$19.29 $14.54

The Amazon Book Review
The Amazon Book Review
Book recommendations, author interviews, editors' picks, and more. Read it now
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • The Priory of the Orange Tree
  • +
  • Ninth House (Alex Stern)
  • +
  • House of Earth and Blood (Crescent City)
Total price: $54.56
Buy the selected items together

Special offers and product promotions


From the Publisher

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com Review

An Amazon Best Book of March 2019: Samantha Shannon’s latest, The Priory of the Orange Tree, is a compelling high fantasy novel, filled to the brim with dragons, dueling religions, magic, and political intrigue. Shannon’s strength is breathing new life into the genre with a cadre of richly-imagined, powerful women at the center of this unforgettable fantasy world. The three civilizations at the heart of Shannon’s book have all been shaped and honed by their relationship to dragons. In the matriarchal Virtudom, dragons are seen as entirely evil, while in the East they are worshipped and ridden by dragon riders. In the South, a group of female mages live to keep the evil, draconic leader, the Nameless One, and his ilk in check. It soon becomes clear the Nameless One will return and that civilizations will rise and fall in the process. It is in these moments—when societies collide and a richly-detailed world emerges—that Shannon is at her very best. --Alison Walker, Amazon Book Review

Review

"Mesmerizing." - Washington Post

"A timelessly relevant classic. Brilliant, diverse, feminist, subversive, thought-provoking, and masterfully told, The Priory of the Orange Tree is an absolute must-read." - Karen Marie Moning, #1 NYT bestselling author of the Highlander and Fever series

"A brilliant, daring, and devastating jewel . . . An incredible world full of depth and danger, with characters I would follow to the ends of the earth. I'm in awe of [Shannon's] talent." - Victoria Aveyard, #1 NYT bestselling author of the Red Queen series

"An epic feminist fantasy perfect for fans of ‘Game of Thrones’ . . . A rich and engaging high fantasy novel that puts women and their stories front and center, The Priory of the Orange Tree will pull you into its magical world from the first page." - Bustle

"An intricately realized and feminist fantasy . . . one might even be tempted to dub Samantha Shannon, ‘The female George R.R. Martin." - Hypable

"This magnificent epic of queens, dragonriders, and badass secret wyrm-slaying priestesses is a tour de force, and my new absolute favorite epic fantasy." - Laini Taylor, NYT bestselling author of the Strange the Dreamer and Daughter of Smoke and Bone series

"Spellbinding . . . extraordinary . . . A well-drawn feminist fantasy with broad appeal for fans of the epic and readers of Zen Cho, Naomi Novik, and V. E. Schwab. Highly recommended." - Booklist, starred review

"A celebration of fantasy that melds modern ideology with classic tropes. More of these dragons, please." - Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"An astonishing achievement." - Marie Brennan, award-winning author of The Memoirs of Lady Trent series

"An epic fantasy destined to be a classic." - Kami Garcia, #1 NYT bestselling coauthor of Beautiful Creatures and author of Unbreakable

"The Platonic Ideal of a fantasy novel . . . This story of good and evil, struggle and triumph, love and loss and return is beautifully written: complex but clear, and utterly immersive. I loved this book." - Nicola Griffith, award-winning author of Hild

"The Priory of the Orange Tree isn't our grandfathers' epic fantasy novel. It is a clever combination of Elizabethan England, the legend of St. George and Eastern dragon lore, with a dash of Tolkien. Shannon's feminist saga has enough detailed world-building, breath-taking action and sweeping romance to remind epic fantasy readers of why they love the genre in the first place. Modern sensibilities integrate seamlessly with genre tropes . . . Readers will beg for a sequel." - Shelf Awareness

"Shannon satisfyingly fills this massive standalone epic fantasy with court intrigue, travel through dangerous lands, fantastical religions, blood, love, and rhetoric." - Publishers Weekly

"A fascinating epic fantasy set in a rich, well-developed world. Shannon has created fertile narrative ground." - New York Journal of Books


Product details

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
894 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?
Reviewed in the United States on February 27, 2019
Verified Purchase
272 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 31, 2019
Verified Purchase
192 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 8, 2019
103 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 4, 2019
Verified Purchase
71 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 9, 2019
Verified Purchase
55 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top international reviews

Amazon Customer
2.0 out of 5 stars Overhyped and underwhelming
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 10, 2019
Verified Purchase
82 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Isobel
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, Magical, worth every penny.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 4, 2019
Verified Purchase
review imagereview image
41 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Tales of a Librarian
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything a bi girl who never found herself in SFF growing up could ever wish for
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on February 26, 2019
Verified Purchase
23 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
R. J. Bulow
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 20, 2019
Verified Purchase
16 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
TheDeadPoet
2.0 out of 5 stars The only thing I enjoyed, was the cover.
Reviewed in India on March 5, 2019
Verified Purchase
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
29 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Ms. K. Frank
2.0 out of 5 stars So disappointed!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 17, 2019
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Amanda Almeida @atracaliteraria
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutamente incrível
Reviewed in Brazil on April 6, 2019
Verified Purchase
review image
22 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Isi
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 8, 2019
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Books by Becci
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing world building, shame about the characters
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 27, 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
goldfish
2.0 out of 5 stars Now what does it remind me of?
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 2, 2019
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Michael Burke
3.0 out of 5 stars Overwritten, overwraught and decidedly overweight
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 31, 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Alexa
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent enough but over-hyped
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 5, 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Manda Scott
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting, passionate, compassionate - and intelligently written
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 24, 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Skibble
3.0 out of 5 stars I liked it but...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on November 28, 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Imogen Gray (imireviewsbooks)
5.0 out of 5 stars A feminist fantasy masterpiece, plus DRAGONS. For fans of GRRM, Tolkien, Sanderson, Hobb and Pierce.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 13, 2019
Verified Purchase
review image
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse