List Price: $17.99 Details

The List Price is the suggested retail price of a new product as provided by a manufacturer, supplier, or seller. Except for books, Amazon will display a List Price if the product was purchased by customers on Amazon or offered by other retailers at or above the List Price in at least the past 90 days. List prices may not necessarily reflect the product's prevailing market price.
Learn more
Save: $7.30 (41%)
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime FREE Returns
Return this item for free
  • Free returns are available for the shipping address you chose. You can return the item for any reason in new and unused condition: no shipping charges
  • Learn more about free returns.
FREE delivery Monday, December 19 if you spend $25 on items shipped by Amazon
Or fastest delivery December 13 - 14

As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is included with a Kindle Unlimited membership. Learn more.
[{"displayPrice":"$10.69","priceAmount":10.69,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"10","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"69","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"TXyuOSzS2o5w6AbRNFWCOzXpH7lj40885AFFpPz90LVCBAQYyRgeKfvsms4rjve8LJoSja3BpV1vnUiAfb0xbTPv%2BgM4bug5qD85I2q7CSlFx6I1FH6ATc8bgmHm4lZ%2BuGq3fARtbqwD1nJoagnMmA%3D%3D","locale":"en-US","buyingOptionType":"NEW"},{"displayPrice":"$9.77","priceAmount":9.77,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"9","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"77","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"LwYjke3VX5w2Kb8OriKwVpJwi8sME5fesmwlYxtqJWbjyVbQ5lW7M5a%2BVFlIOo5wPK6TLAUjKvKpa3fcU1mXmG3iItt8nmTPVIhk9Gx1NhUw9WH%2Be3WVlPbDZwtJrstqkOFXNs4mmhHj6edmfcQjCel5w553o%2FTKPNHzxpKCnCzn41ojBHthdA%3D%3D","locale":"en-US","buyingOptionType":"USED"}]
$$10.69 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$10.69
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date, and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Return policy: Returnable until Jan 31, 2023
For the 2022 holiday season, returnable items purchased between October 11 and December 25, 2022 can be returned until January 31, 2023.
Rosie: Stronger than Stee... has been added to your Cart
FREE delivery December 7 - 12. Details
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Used book that is in excellent condition. May show signs of wear or have minor defects. Over 100 million books sold! 100% Money-Back Guarantee. Free & Fast Shipping!
Access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.
Have one to sell?
Other Sellers on Amazon
Added
$13.15
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: allnewbooks
Sold by: allnewbooks
(270528 ratings)
91% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Usually ships within 2 to 3 days.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Added
$19.57
& FREE Shipping
Sold by: GF Books, Inc.
Sold by: GF Books, Inc.
(10306 ratings)
90% positive over last 12 months
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Added
$21.65
& FREE Shipping
Sold by: Book Depository US
Sold by: Book Depository US
(945898 ratings)
91% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Usually ships within 3 to 4 days.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Rosie: Stronger than Steel Hardcover – Picture Book, April 1, 2020

4.5 out of 5 stars 1,033 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover, Picture Book
$10.69
$10.69 $9.77

Enhance your purchase


The Amazon Book Review
The Amazon Book Review
Book recommendations, author interviews, editors' picks, and more. Read it now.

Frequently bought together

  • Rosie: Stronger than Steel
  • +
  • Santa's Story
  • +
  • Super Rooster Saves the Day
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Some of these items ship sooner than the others.
Choose items to buy together.

Editorial Reviews

Review

“Cross-cultural feminist history goes down easy in this kid-friendly story. Factual details about female factory workers in the United States and the Women’s Land Army in England merge in this fictional tale of a sunny little tractor. Children too small to appreciate Ward’s deft melding of history and storytelling will still find much to enjoy…Ward’s art simultaneously anthropomorphizes Rosie and gives a sense of authenticity to her human figures. More than the sum of its parts, this is a wildly successful and well-researched shaping of the picture-book form to true historical sheroes.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“This ‘little tractor that could’ sort of tale pays tribute to the iconic Rosie the Riveter persona from the US and the British Land Girls of the Women’s Land Army during WWII. Fans of Loren Long’s Otis, Virginia Lee Burton’s Katy, and like sturdy, dependable workhorses will welcome Rosie into the fold, but the historical perspective adds an unusual dimension to her story.”
Booklist (starred review)

“Vocabulary is rich, and the younger set will appreciate the intermittent rhymes. The style of Ward’s colored pencil and cut-paper illustrations reflect the period of the tale. This historical fiction tale will serve better in a unit or lesson plan on women’s history theme than one on transportation.”
School Library Journal

“Ward emphasizes the role that many women played during WWII in this cadenced story narrated by a big-eyed emerald tractor christened Rosie…If the war feels distant in Ward’s brightly abundant scenes of women at work, bright mixed-media art lends the book an appropriate air of nostalgia. An author’s note and timeline offer historic details.”
Publishers Weekly

“The book has charming illustrations, as Rosie the Tractor seems to come to life.”
―Historical Novel Society

About the Author

Lindsay Ward is the creator of the Dexter T. Rexter series, as well as This Book Is Gray; Brobarians; Rosco vs. the Baby; and The Importance of Being 3. Her book Please Bring Balloons was also made into a play. Lindsay lives with her family in Peninsula, Ohio, where she often sees tractors from the 1930s and 1940s. Learn more about her online at www.lindsaymward.com.

Only $5.95 a month for the first 4 months on Audible. Limited-time only.

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Two Lions; 3/2 edition (April 1, 2020)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 40 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1542017947
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1542017947
  • Reading age ‏ : ‎ 3 - 10 years, from customers
  • Lexile measure ‏ : ‎ 480L
  • Grade level ‏ : ‎ Preschool - 3
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 1.1 pounds
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 8.5 x 1 x 11 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,033 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Lindsay Ward has a BFA in Illustration from Syracuse University. Her most recent books include I Am Not Sick, by Frank Tupta, Rosie Stronger Than Steel, This Book Is Gray, Let's Go! with HarperFestival, and the Amazon Bestselling Dexter T. Rexter series: Don’t Forget Dexter!, It’s Show and Tell, Dexter!, and Vacation for Dexter! with Two Lions. She is also the author and illustrator of Brobarians (Two Lions, 2017), The Importance of Being 3 (Dial, 2016), Rosco vs. the Baby (S&S, 2016), Henry Finds His Word (Dial, 2015), a Choose to Read Ohio Book, When Blue Met Egg (Dial, 2012), and Please Bring Balloons (Dial, 2013), which was produced into a play by the New York City Children’s Theater in 2017. Her work has been reviewed in Kirkus Reviews, Publisher’s Weekly, and the New York Times. Lindsay is the founder of Critter Lit, a free picture book manuscript and illustration critique service for up-and-coming authors and illustrators. Lindsay lives in Peninsula, Ohio with her husband, author Frank Tupta, three sons, and dog Sally. Visit her online at lindsaymward.com or follow her on twitter @lindsaymward.

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
1,033 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on March 1, 2020
15 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on March 31, 2020
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on April 7, 2020
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on September 26, 2020

Top reviews from other countries

Rani
3.0 out of 5 stars Freebie on Amazon.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on March 6, 2020
Su
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational read for children
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on March 1, 2020
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Chets
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on March 24, 2020
Lynne
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful story honouring the women workers of WW2
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on March 14, 2020
Kindle Customer.
4.0 out of 5 stars Rosie
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on March 9, 2020