Included with a Kindle Unlimited membership.
List Price: $17.99 Details
Save: $8.47 (47%)
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime & FREE Returns
Return this item for free
  • Free returns are available for the shipping address you chose. You can return the item for any reason in new and unused condition: no shipping charges
  • Learn more about free returns.
How to return the item?
FREE delivery:
Get free shipping
Free shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items shipped by Amazon.
Or get faster shipping on this item starting at $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
Monday, Dec 13 on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon. Details
Fastest delivery: Thursday, Dec 9
Order within 19 hrs and 37 mins
Details
Arrives before Christmas
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app.
$$9.52 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$9.52
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date, and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Return policy: Returnable until Jan 31, 2022
For the 2021 holiday season, returnable items purchased between October 1 and December 31 can be returned until January 31, 2022
Rosie: Stronger than Stee... has been added to your Cart
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime
FREE delivery:
Get free shipping
Free shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items shipped by Amazon.
Or get faster shipping on this item starting at $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
Monday, Dec 13 on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon. Details
Fastest delivery: Friday, Dec 10
Order within 19 hrs and 37 mins
Details
Arrives before Christmas
Used: Acceptable | Details
Condition: Used: Acceptable
Comment: This item shows wear including the dust jacket is missing.
<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
$17.25
& FREE Shipping
Sold by: GF Books, Inc.
Sold by: GF Books, Inc.
(9315 ratings)
84% positive over last 12 months
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Shipping rates and Return policy
$13.30
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: allnewbooks
Sold by: allnewbooks
(268515 ratings)
92% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Usually ships within 2 to 3 days.
Shipping rates and Return policy
$18.01
& FREE Shipping
Sold by: Book Depository US
Sold by: Book Depository US
(918461 ratings)
90% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Usually ships within 2 to 3 days.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing "Send link," you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message & data rates may apply.

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Rosie: Stronger than Steel Hardcover – Picture Book, April 1, 2020

4.5 out of 5 stars 1,001 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover, Picture Book
$9.52
$9.52 $1.70

Enhance your purchase


Inspire a love of reading with Amazon Book Box for Kids
Discover delightful children's books with Amazon Book Box, a subscription that delivers new books every 1, 2, or 3 months — new Amazon Book Box Prime customers receive 15% off your first box. Sign up now

Frequently bought together

  • Rosie: Stronger than Steel
  • +
  • Scooper and Dumper
  • +
  • Don't Forget Dexter! (Dexter T. Rexter, 1)
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Choose items to buy together.

Special offers and product promotions

  • Create your FREE Amazon Business account to save up to 10% with Business-only prices and free shipping.

Editorial Reviews

Review

“Cross-cultural feminist history goes down easy in this kid-friendly story. Factual details about female factory workers in the United States and the Women’s Land Army in England merge in this fictional tale of a sunny little tractor. Children too small to appreciate Ward’s deft melding of history and storytelling will still find much to enjoy…Ward’s art simultaneously anthropomorphizes Rosie and gives a sense of authenticity to her human figures. More than the sum of its parts, this is a wildly successful and well-researched shaping of the picture-book form to true historical sheroes.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“This ‘little tractor that could’ sort of tale pays tribute to the iconic Rosie the Riveter persona from the US and the British Land Girls of the Women’s Land Army during WWII. Fans of Loren Long’s Otis, Virginia Lee Burton’s Katy, and like sturdy, dependable workhorses will welcome Rosie into the fold, but the historical perspective adds an unusual dimension to her story.” Booklist (starred review)

“Vocabulary is rich, and the younger set will appreciate the intermittent rhymes. The style of Ward’s colored pencil and cut-paper illustrations reflect the period of the tale. This historical fiction tale will serve better in a unit or lesson plan on women’s history theme than one on transportation.” School Library Journal

“Ward emphasizes the role that many women played during WWII in this cadenced story narrated by a big-eyed emerald tractor christened Rosie…If the war feels distant in Ward’s brightly abundant scenes of women at work, bright mixed-media art lends the book an appropriate air of nostalgia. An author’s note and timeline offer historic details.” Publishers Weekly

“The book has charming illustrations, as Rosie the Tractor seems to come to life.” ―Historical Novel Society

About the Author

Lindsay Ward is the creator of the Dexter T. Rexter series, as well as This Book Is Gray; Brobarians; Rosco vs. the Baby; and The Importance of Being 3. Her book Please Bring Balloons was also made into a play. Lindsay lives with her family in Peninsula, Ohio, where she often sees tractors from the 1930s and 1940s. Learn more about her online at www.lindsaymward.com.

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Two Lions; 3/2 edition (April 1, 2020)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 40 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1542017947
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1542017947
  • Reading age ‏ : ‎ 4 - 8 years
  • Lexile measure ‏ : ‎ 480L
  • Grade level ‏ : ‎ Preschool - 3
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 1.1 pounds
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 8.5 x 1 x 11 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 1,001 ratings

Join Audible Premium Plus for 60% off. Only $5.95 a month for the first 3 months.

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Lindsay Ward has a BFA in Illustration from Syracuse University. Her most recent books include I Am Not Sick, by Frank Tupta, Rosie Stronger Than Steel, This Book Is Gray, Let's Go! with HarperFestival, and the Amazon Bestselling Dexter T. Rexter series: Don’t Forget Dexter!, It’s Show and Tell, Dexter!, and Vacation for Dexter! with Two Lions. She is also the author and illustrator of Brobarians (Two Lions, 2017), The Importance of Being 3 (Dial, 2016), Rosco vs. the Baby (S&amp;S, 2016), Henry Finds His Word (Dial, 2015), a Choose to Read Ohio Book, When Blue Met Egg (Dial, 2012), and Please Bring Balloons (Dial, 2013), which was produced into a play by the New York City Children’s Theater in 2017. Her work has been reviewed in Kirkus Reviews, Publisher’s Weekly, and the New York Times. Lindsay is the founder of Critter Lit, a free picture book manuscript and illustration critique service for up-and-coming authors and illustrators. Lindsay lives in Peninsula, Ohio with her husband, author Frank Tupta, three sons, and dog Sally. Visit her online at lindsaymward.com or follow her on twitter @lindsaymward.

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
1,001 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on March 1, 2020
55 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 1, 2020
Verified Purchase
15 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 1, 2020
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Su
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational read for children
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 1, 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Rani
3.0 out of 5 stars Freebie on Amazon.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 6, 2020
Verified Purchase
Chets
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 24, 2020
Verified Purchase
Mrs JHG
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely illustrations
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 1, 2020
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Kindle Customer.
4.0 out of 5 stars Rosie
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 9, 2020
Verified Purchase