Included with a Kindle Unlimited membership.
Buy New
$10.99
  • List Price: $17.99
  • Save: $7.00 (39%)
FREE Shipping
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon or get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Rosie: Stronger than Stee... has been added to your Cart
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$12.50
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: allnewbooks
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Rosie: Stronger than Steel Hardcover – April 1, 2020

4.5 out of 5 stars 230 ratings

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$10.99
$10.99 $16.90

The Amazon Book Review
The Amazon Book Review
Book recommendations, author interviews, editors' picks, and more. Read it now
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • Rosie: Stronger than Steel
  • +
  • This Book Is Gray
  • +
  • Grumpy Monkey
Total price: $30.40
Buy the selected items together

Special offers and product promotions

Editorial Reviews

Review

“Cross-cultural feminist history goes down easy in this kid-friendly story. Factual details about female factory workers in the United States and the Women’s Land Army in England merge in this fictional tale of a sunny little tractor. Children too small to appreciate Ward’s deft melding of history and storytelling will still find much to enjoy…Ward’s art simultaneously anthropomorphizes Rosie and gives a sense of authenticity to her human figures. More than the sum of its parts, this is a wildly successful and well-researched shaping of the picture-book form to true historical sheroes.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“This ‘little tractor that could’ sort of tale pays tribute to the iconic Rosie the Riveter persona from the US and the British Land Girls of the Women’s Land Army during WWII. Fans of Loren Long’s Otis, Virginia Lee Burton’s Katy, and like sturdy, dependable workhorses will welcome Rosie into the fold, but the historical perspective adds an unusual dimension to her story.” Booklist (starred review)

“Vocabulary is rich, and the younger set will appreciate the intermittent rhymes. The style of Ward’s colored pencil and cut-paper illustrations reflect the period of the tale. This historical fiction tale will serve better in a unit or lesson plan on women’s history theme than one on transportation.” School Library Journal

“Ward emphasizes the role that many women played during WWII in this cadenced story narrated by a big-eyed emerald tractor christened Rosie…If the war feels distant in Ward’s brightly abundant scenes of women at work, bright mixed-media art lends the book an appropriate air of nostalgia. An author’s note and timeline offer historic details.” Publishers Weekly

About the Author

Lindsay Ward is the creator of the Dexter T. Rexter series, as well as This Book Is Gray; Brobarians; Rosco vs. the Baby; and The Importance of Being 3. Her book Please Bring Balloons was also made into a play. Lindsay lives with her family in Peninsula, Ohio, where she often sees tractors from the 1930s and 1940s. Learn more about her online at www.lindsaymward.com.


Product details

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
230 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?
Reviewed in the United States on March 1, 2020
49 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 1, 2020
Verified Purchase
16 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 8, 2020
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 1, 2020
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top international reviews

Rani
3.0 out of 5 stars Freebie on Amazon.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 6, 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Su
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational read for children
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 1, 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Chets
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 24, 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Mrs JHG
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely illustrations
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 1, 2020
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Kindle Customer.
4.0 out of 5 stars Rosie
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 9, 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Lynne
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful story honouring the women workers of WW2
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 13, 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
****
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant history book of the Second World War for primary school children.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 1, 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
JW30
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, brief yet poignant. For all ages.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 30, 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Donna-Sue Pittaway
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy reading
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 4, 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Sarah
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Historical Fiction for kids (and adults too)
Reviewed in Australia on March 2, 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse