Buying Options

Kindle Price: $12.99

Save $4.01 (24%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing "Send link," you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message & data rates may apply.

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Run the Storm: A Savage Hurricane, a Brave Crew, and the Wreck of the SS El Faro by [George Michelsen Foy]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Run the Storm: A Savage Hurricane, a Brave Crew, and the Wreck of the SS El Faro Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 158 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$12.99
Due to its large file size, this book may take longer to download

Introducing Kindle Vella. Episodic stories that keep you coming back for more. pantry

Create your FREE Amazon Business account to save up to 10% with Business-only prices and free shipping.

Editorial Reviews

Review

“Fans of The Perfect Storm and Into Thin Air will love this exquisitely written and dramatic book. George Foy has an action story that doesn’t quit. At the same, time he charts this emotional journey with captivating sensitivity. As readers, we, too, board the SS El Faro, and discover what is the very best and most enduring about ourselves. A literary page-turner, a joy to read.” —Doug Stanton, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Horse Soldiers, The Odyssey of Echo Company, and In Harm’s Way   

“Here is the pitch-perfect pairing of subject and author, a gripping deconstruction of one of recent history’s most terrible and vexing sea tragedies. Run the Storm is a meticulous forensic study that, in Foy’s able hands, rises to the level of literature.” —Hampton Sides, author of In the Kingdom of Ice

“Make no mistake, Foy is a natural story teller, but what impressed me was his uncommon ability to weave his deep knowledge of the ship, weather systems, and navigation to accelerate the story, instead of slowing it down. Foy is an experienced mariner who clearly knows his stuff, which gives the reader confidence in his account, and allows us to get lost in an amazing story that builds to a wild finish.” —John U. Bacon, New York Times bestselling author of The Great Halifax Explosion: A World War I story of Treachery, Tragedy, and Extraordinary Heroism

Run the Storm is a dramatic, thrilling adventure story, as well as a cautionary tale about the dangers of going to sea—even today, in our age of satellite communications and real-time weather forecasting.  George Foy uses the surviving audio tapes of the crew’s final hours on the doomed ship to chilling effect, and he convincingly shows how a series of seemingly unrelated errors and omissions metastasized into a full-scale disaster. A remarkable book.” —William Geroux, author of The Mathews Men

“With just the right pedigree to tell this familiar story…Foy connects the detail with the domino each represented in causing one of the nation’s deadliest maritime disasters.” Florida Times-Union

“A fact-filled, exciting tale of a ship’s tragic final voyage.” Kirkus

“Foy does the best job. He tells the story briskly and confidently while working in helpful asides: how cargo containers are fastened to a ship deck, how forecasts are determined, how huge ships stay upright (and how they don’t). Run the Storm…gracefully covers everything you’d want to know about El Faro’s sinking and the 33 lives that went with it.” Outside

“A tour de force of nautical expertise coupled with sensitive treatment of one of the worst maritime disasters in our history.” Ocean Navigator

“There will presumably be dozens of thrillers and horror novels published this year that will not have the sheer and frightening strength of Foy's words. They're Conrad by way of James Lee Burke, Melville through the prism of Marquez.” —New London Day

About the Author

George Michelsen Foy is the author of Run the Storm, Finding North: How Navigation Makes Us Human and Zero Decibels: The Quest for Absolute Silence, as well as twelve critically acclaimed novels. He was a recipient of a National Endowment of the Arts fellowship in fiction and his articles, reviews, and stories have been published by Rolling Stone, The Boston Globe, Harper's, The New York Times, and Men's Journal, among others. A former officer on British coastal freighters, he teaches creative writing at NYU, holds a US Coast Guard coastal captain’s license, and divides his time between Cape Cod and New York.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B078MDKGNJ
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Scribner; Reprint edition (May 1, 2018)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ May 1, 2018
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 18216 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 289 pages
  • Lending ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 158 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
158 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on June 1, 2018
Verified Purchase
24 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 11, 2018
Verified Purchase
20 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on November 13, 2018
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on November 6, 2018
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse