Buying Options

Kindle Price: $9.99

Save $8.00 (44%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing "Send link," you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message & data rates may apply.

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
The Shadow of What Was Lost (The Licanius Trilogy Book 1) by [James Islington]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Shadow of What Was Lost (The Licanius Trilogy Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 3,026 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$9.99

Animate the season with gift cards

Create your FREE Amazon Business account to save up to 10% with Business-only prices and free shipping.

Editorial Reviews

Review

"Ingeniously plotted...Islington's natural storytelling ability provides incessant plot twists and maintains a relentless pace...A promising page-turner from a poised newcomer."―Kirkus on The Shadow of What as Lost

"Islington has built a world with all the right genre elements: complex magic, terrifying threats out of legend, political intrigue, and a large cast of characters whose motivations are seldom clear. Fans of doorstop epic fantasy will not be disappointed."―Publishers Weekly on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"Love The Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favorite series."―B&N SF & Fantasy Blog on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"Storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire."―Guardian on The Shadow of What Was Lost

The plot twists are unexpected, the world building is fascinating, and the fledgling love story is a charmer.... This sweeping and compelling epic is ripe for a sequel.―Booklist on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"Will appeal to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong world building."―Fantasy Faction on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"Action aplenty and an ample spattering of violence...this is a whole new world with a fresh fantasy streak."―SciFiNow on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"A relentless juggernaut of a book . . . Astoundingly intricate worldbuilding."―The Daily Mail on The Shadow of What Was Lost
--This text refers to the paperback edition.

About the Author

James Islington was born and raised in southern Victoria, Australia. His influences growing up were the stories of Raymond E. Feist and Robert Jordan, but it wasn't until later, when he read Brandon Sanderson's Mistborn series -- followed soon after by Patrick Rothfuss' Name of the Wind -- that he was finally inspired to sit down and write something of his own. He now lives with his wife and daughter on the Mornington Peninsula in Victoria. --This text refers to the paperback edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B01HMRF5FI
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Orbit (July 19, 2016)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ July 19, 2016
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 4089 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 604 pages
  • Lending ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.4 out of 5 stars 3,026 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

James Islington was born and raised in southern Victoria, Australia. An avid fantasy reader for many years, it was only when he read Brandon Sanderson's Mistborn series that he was finally inspired to write something of his own. He now lives with his wife and daughter on the Mornington Peninsula in Victoria.

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
3,026 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on September 18, 2018
Verified Purchase
Customer image
3.0 out of 5 stars Has some problems, but potential
By JRClaybrook on September 18, 2018
Don't set your expectations too high or believe the hype that fans of the Wheel of Time will love this...
I love the Wheel of Time (though I did struggle through some of the books, particularly 7-10). Nevertheless, it was a story of such grand scope and with such an immersive depth, impressive character development, intriguing world-building, etc. I could go on.
All that to say, when the publishers of The Shadow of What Was Lost claim WoT fans will love this, I couldn't wait to dig in....
... And then I read it.

I'm sorry but this work is not on the same level as the works of Jordan, Sanderson, etc.
They're just not in the same realm. And that's not to be critical of Islington - every good writer develops their own voice and I think Islington will get there. But I don't think he's there yet.
Yes, Jordan got way too lengthy with descriptions to the point of boring me to death, but where he got lost in his descriptive droning, I feel the opposite is true of Islington: I would've liked to see more thorough world-building and description of places and the cultures, etc. I definitely think he's capable.

Another point that prevented me from immersing myself in the story was the lack of character development. We see some of the characters go through situations and events that have an impact on them, and we see them change throughout the story...kind of.
There's times when certain events should have a dramatic influence on people who've never witnessed such things (like two people just killed before your eyes)... and the apparent lack of this impact on the main characters in this story was evident.
Many of the characters also seem like the same person with different faces... not a lot of variation with their perspective attitudes and behaviors.

The story: I think Islington has a grand view of everything throughout the trilogy and how everything interconnects. But it seemed like he was trying too hard to make so much happen and interweave things with so many names that it complicated the story and muddied the plot
...to me, it got away from him and didn't develop the plot in my mind the way I think he wanted.
But that's me.

A few pet peeves:
I know that in the genre of fantasy/sci-fi, there's a plethora of stories and themes and there's going to be some overlap.
But specific places in your world hopefully have different names than places in other authors' worlds.
Example: The Aryth ocean and the Sea of Storms! Both of these were in Jordan's Wheel of Time.
Also, maybe I'm being picky, but I like it when there's a map to follow along with the story.
When Davian and Wirr are heading North after Talmiel, they head East on the road to go to the forest of Malacar in Desriel... But on the map, Malacar is very much to the west of Talmiel.
I know it's a small oversight, but it's the little things like this that undermine the story for me.

Okay, enough whining.

Overall, the plot was well thought out, and the author's manipulation of time throughout the story is what really kept it interesting. However, throughout the book I wasn't as engaged as I was hoping and I think Islington can and will do better as he refines his craft.
In the end, I'm just a reader and I've gotta give props to anyone that's written a good book and seen it through to completion; that takes hard work, creativity and the resolve to see it through.
Images in this review
Customer image Customer image
Customer imageCustomer image
188 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 1, 2018
Verified Purchase
159 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on February 27, 2018
Verified Purchase
103 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

When Belief Dies
5.0 out of 5 stars Well - I really enjoyed that!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 19, 2019
Verified Purchase
20 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Paul T.
3.0 out of 5 stars Great title, but...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 21, 2020
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Barry Mulvany
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 10, 2018
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Sidrah Yasmin
1.0 out of 5 stars great ideas, but too slow!!!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 31, 2020
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
rob
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed... by a fussy reader
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 29, 2020
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse