Buying Options

Kindle Price: $7.99

Save $9.00 (53%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.
Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share <Embed>

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing "Send link," you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message & data rates may apply.

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter (The Extraordinary Adventures of the Athena Club Book 1) by [Theodora Goss]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter (The Extraordinary Adventures of the Athena Club Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 1,017 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$7.99
Next 3 for you in this series See full series
Total Price: $23.97
By clicking on the above button, you agree to Amazon's Kindle Store Terms of Use

Create your FREE Amazon Business account to save up to 10% with Business-only prices and free shipping. Register today

Editorial Reviews

Review

“Theodora Goss is a wonder. Her elegance, wit and powerful voice pull no punches. A brilliant, deeply felt, and nimble book.” (Catherynne M. Valente, Hugo-Award winning author )

“Theodora Goss' splendid debut novel is a whipsmart look at the truths hiding in the stories - Jekyll and Hyde, Frankenstein, and others - that you might think you know. Full of bravery, adventures, monsters, and sisters, The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter is a rich delight. I loved it, and I can't wait to read the next book.” (Kat Howard, author of ROSES AND ROT )

"Theodora Goss' The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter provides a new and altogether mesmerizing revelation for fans of Watson & Holmes, Van Helsing, Jeckyll & Hyde, and Victor Frankenstein: until now, you've only heard half the story.  Goss' deft, poetic interweaving of edge-of-the-seat adventure with the artful voices of her characters creates a matryoshka doll of hidden Gothic fiction in the best sense. The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter proves the point that behind every evil genius you'll find a team of fantastic women working to set things right.

 As if Charlie's Angels, as written by Mary Shelley, took over the Bluestocking Society, with bonus well-mannered explosions. An utterly delightful, transformative read." (Fran Wilde, award-winning author of Updraft, Cloudbound, and Horizon )

* "A tour de force of reclaiming the narrative, executed with impressive wit and insight." (Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW)

"An enormously accomplished delight of a book...a brilliant novel." (Liz Bourke )

"A pleasure, especially for fans of Victorian detective stories, classic sf and horror literature, and feminist remakes." (Booklist)

"A delightful romp through Victorian gothic literature, with a decidedly feminist slant." (Library Journal)

"A swiftly paced, immaculately plotted mystery full of winning characters you always thought you knew, as well as ones you would never have imagined." (NPR)

"If you’re looking for adventure, kick-ass ladies, a good mystery, and a touch of the monstrous, look no further—The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter is the brainy, gleefully madcap literary mashup of your dreams." (B&N SciFi & Fantasy Blog)

" Like a literary magpie, Goss snaps up some of the shiniest bits of Victorian popular culture, but she makes them her own, seeing the possibilities beyond the efforts of their original creators and constructing an intelligent and engrossing 21st-century adventure." (The Portland Press Herald)

"Goss skillfully balances the revisionist feminist themes with a crackling conspiracy adventure and a colorful portrait of Victorian London." (The Chicago Tribune)

"They are just as much fun as their fictional fathers, and like the League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, their talents play off against one other, anchored by Mary, the most normal of them: prudent, thrifty, genteel, her father’s revolver loaded and ready." (The Wall Street Journal)

"Goss upends fantasy tropes to bring to life characters who would have been ignored in the period works that inspired them, and the result is a fantastic, gripping read that feels true to the spirit of the original works, but updated with a modern spin for the 21st century reader.” (The Verge)

About the Author

Theodora Goss is the World Fantasy Award–winning author of many publications, including the short story collection In the Forest of ForgettingInterfictions, a short story anthology coedited with Delia Sherman; Voices from Fairyland, a poetry anthology with critical essays and a selection of her own poems; The Thorn and the Blossom, a novella in a two-sided accordion format; and the poetry collection Songs for Ophelia; and the novels, The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter, European Travel for the Monstrous Gentlewoman, and The Sinister Mystery of the Mesmerizing Girl. She has been a finalist for the Nebula, Locus, Crawford, Seiun, and Mythopoeic Awards, as well as on the Tiptree Award Honor List, and her work has been translated into eleven languages. She teaches literature and writing at Boston University and in the Stonecoast MFA Program. Visit her at TheodoraGoss.com.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B01LYPZUI5
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Gallery / Saga Press; Reprint edition (June 20, 2017)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ June 20, 2017
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 4793 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 433 pages
  • Page numbers source ISBN ‏ : ‎ 1481466518
  • Lending ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.4 out of 5 stars 1,017 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Theodora Goss was born in Hungary and spent her childhood in various European countries before her family moved to the United States. Although she grew up on the classics of English literature, her writing has been influenced by an Eastern European literary tradition in which the boundaries between realism and the fantastic are often ambiguous. Her publications include the short story collection In the Forest of Forgetting (2006); Interfictions (2007), a short story anthology coedited with Delia Sherman; Voices from Fairyland (2008), a poetry anthology with critical essays and a selection of her own poems; The Thorn and the Blossom (2012), a novella in a two-sided accordion format; and the poetry collection Songs for Ophelia (2014). Her work has been translated into nine languages, including French, Japanese, and Turkish. She has been a finalist for the Nebula, Crawford, Locus, Seiun, and Mythopoeic Awards, and on the Tiptree Award Honor List. Her prose-poem "Octavia is Lost in the Hall of Masks" (2003) won the Rhysling Award and her short story "Singing of Mount Abora" (2007) won the World Fantasy Award.

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
1,017 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on August 26, 2017
Verified Purchase
61 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 28, 2017
Verified Purchase
31 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 3, 2017
Verified Purchase
26 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 28, 2017
Verified Purchase
23 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on September 4, 2018
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Carol F
2.0 out of 5 stars Carelessly written modern take on four classic novels
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 19, 2019
Verified Purchase
48 people found this helpful
Report abuse
D. Beecher
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for me
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 16, 2018
Verified Purchase
31 people found this helpful
Report abuse
PDH
3.0 out of 5 stars Torn, because of style not substance
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 28, 2019
Verified Purchase
15 people found this helpful
Report abuse
twinkletoes
4.0 out of 5 stars Annoying writing style but great storytelling
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 13, 2019
Verified Purchase
13 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Sam_S
3.0 out of 5 stars Too American to be English
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 16, 2019
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse