Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime & FREE Returns
Return this item for free
  • Free returns are available for the shipping address you chose. You can return the item for any reason in new and unused condition: no shipping charges
  • Learn more about free returns.
FREE delivery Wednesday, July 6 if you spend $25 on items shipped by Amazon
Or fastest delivery Friday, July 1. Order within 12 hrs 14 mins
Only 14 left in stock (more on the way).
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
[{"displayPrice":"$16.99","priceAmount":16.99,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"16","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"99","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"9FdwDZrnRmUeI2KzAzC58t%2FO3Q5lCZj%2BZlBiQcjLd%2FyYYi7Kb%2FGpp3KpOUjLEyRyJtCNeVVWOS9FRKL5NIe0SbY%2FJ7izwgv9ijZvboP7HygQw54f9O3xkRko%2Fsx1LPMghldbr3qXSGm2SddZWcq9CA%3D%3D","locale":"en-US","buyingOptionType":"NEW"},{"displayPrice":"$8.79","priceAmount":8.79,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"8","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"79","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"l5iIuN7zKUBLmEHPDPI9qXd5Si45%2F58SA5OJIYKfvSIq1%2FeFuC0Xj%2FTWFvkCaruNlYL2yI%2BqX%2B%2BQg7EtSdA8Wr5nD0ais470ihwU4X%2BMX1LBHvw6Ljpj66%2BHn1gXPw0ZfqwSkQjO3TKGMfjnDGHkAyIW2aTYbb4UxVG7KC56Q7lKqxzYmPfuLW0KxQsOs2%2FA","locale":"en-US","buyingOptionType":"USED"}]
$$16.99 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$16.99
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date, and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Return policy: Eligible for Return, Refund or Replacement within 30 days of receipt
This item can be returned in its original condition for a full refund or replacement within 30 days of receipt.
Support: Free Amazon product support included
What's Product Support?
In the event your product doesn’t work as expected, or you’d like someone to walk you through set-up, Amazon offers free product support over the phone on eligible purchases for up to 90 days.
To access this option, go to Your Orders and choose Get product support.
Switch has been added to your Cart
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime
FREE delivery Wednesday, July 6 if you spend $25 on items shipped by Amazon
Or fastest delivery Friday, July 1. Order within 22 hrs 29 mins
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Book is in good condition and may contain underlining/highlighting and minimal wear. The book can also include "From the library of" labels. May not contain miscellanous items (toys,dvds,etc.).We offer 100% money back guarantee and 24/7 customer service.
Share <Embed>
Have one to sell?
Other Sellers on Amazon
Added
$11.23
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: G&J_books
Sold by: G&J_books
(1816 ratings)
95% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Usually ships within 3 to 4 days.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Added
$15.90
& FREE Shipping
Sold by: NS4NC
Sold by: NS4NC
(65 ratings)
100% positive over last 12 months
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Added
$16.98
FREE Shipping
Get free shipping
Free shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items shipped by Amazon.
Or get faster shipping on this item starting at $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon.
Sold by: rosabooks
Sold by: rosabooks
(8 ratings)
100% positive
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Switch Hardcover – Illustrated, September 1, 2015

4.7 out of 5 stars 222 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover, Illustrated
$16.99
$11.23 $1.35
Audio CD, Audiobook, CD, Unabridged

Enhance your purchase


Teachers' picks | Explore children's books by grade

Frequently bought together

  • Switch
  • +
  • Scumble
  • +
  • Savvy
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Some of these items ship sooner than the others.
Choose items to buy together.

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 4–7—Another magical tale that emphasizes every person's unique gifts. Some years have passed in the Beaumont household, in which each family member has a "savvy," or magical ability that manifests itself around age 13. Now it is Gypsy's turn, but her savvy for seeing flashes of the past and future causes her more anxiety than happiness. A vision of her Grandma Pat falling off a clock tower terrifies her, and she determines to prevent it. Worse yet, the curmudgeonly woman has Alzheimer's and will come live with the Beaumonts. This dreaded event has switched everyone's gifts. Gypsy now stops time, her brother Tucker can grow, brother Samson can start fires, and their perfect mother now is clumsy and accident prone. Navigating the new reality, saving Grandma, and accepting her savvy are on Gypsy's to-do list. Law's signature writing style is evident in her third story; whimsical word patterns dance around her savvy characters. Gypsy and her family seem to be in constant, unusual motion, rather like a Willy Wonka elevator. And, much like authors Deborah Wiles or Patricia Reilly Giff, Law contrasts warm family support with personal despair and hardship, nicely balancing her dramatic action with stability and optimism. Gypsy's family will always love her, even if she sends a car into the river (oops). There are a few coincidences and a tidy ending, but overall, Law has again told a story with as much heart as creativity. VERDICT Highly recommended and a must-have for libraries with the previous volumes.—Caitlin Augusta, Stratford Library Association, CT

Review

Praise for Switch:

"Law has again told a story with as much heart as creativity." –SLJ

"Readers will be caught up in this snowy, magical adventure." –
Booklist

"Clever plotting and amiable characters once again enable Law to produce a winning story." –
BCCB 

"Fans of
Savvy and Scumble will love this book. It is a great classroom read-aloud for upper grade levels."–SLC 

Savvy Accolades:
Newbery Honor – Winner
ALA Notable Children's Book
Boston Globe-Horn Book Award – Honor
New York Times bestseller
Savvy and Scumble have been nominated for over 30 state awards
Oprah's reading list pick
Al Rocker's Book Club for Kids selection

Scumble Accolades:
New York Times bestseller
Kid's Next List selection
Kansas State Reading Circle Recommended Read
A Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Books Selection
A Smithsonian  Notable Book for Children

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Dial Books; Illustrated edition (September 1, 2015)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 368 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0803738625
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0803738621
  • Reading age ‏ : ‎ 8 - 12 years
  • Lexile measure ‏ : ‎ 830L
  • Grade level ‏ : ‎ 3 - 7
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 14.4 ounces
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 5.88 x 1.13 x 7.31 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.7 out of 5 stars 222 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

2009 Newbery Honoree, INGRID LAW, is the New York Times Bestselling author of Savvy, Scumble, and Switch. Ingrid lives in the Pacific Northwest.

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
222 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on September 4, 2021
Reviewed in the United States on September 25, 2015
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 22, 2017
Reviewed in the United States on June 30, 2016
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on February 8, 2018
Reviewed in the United States on February 15, 2022
Reviewed in the United States on November 23, 2020
Reviewed in the United States on December 26, 2019

Top reviews from other countries

Amanda
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Reviewed in Canada on September 22, 2015