Buying Options

Unlimited reading. Over 2 million titles. Learn more
Read for Free
OR
Kindle Price: $5.99

Save $7.00 (54%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.
Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share <Embed>
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
The Tales of Beedle the Bard: A Harry Potter Hogwarts Library Book by [J.K. Rowling]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Tales of Beedle the Bard: A Harry Potter Hogwarts Library Book Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 10,247 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$5.99
Next 2 for you in this series See full series
Total Price: $11.98
By clicking on the above button, you agree to Amazon's Kindle Store Terms of Use

Books In This Series (3 Books)
Popular Highlights in this book

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

J.K. Rowling is the author of the record-breaking, multi-award-winning Harry Potter novels. Loved by fans around the world, the series has sold over 450 million copies, been translated into 79 languages, and made into 8 blockbuster films. She has written three companion volumes in aid of charity: "Quidditch Through the Ages" and "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them" (in aid of Comic Relief), and "The Tales of Beedle the Bard" (in aid of Lumos), as well as a film script inspired by "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them." J.K. Rowling is currently collaborating on a stage play, "Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Parts One and Two," which will open in London's West End in the summer of 2016. In 2012, J.K. Rowling's digital company Pottermore was launched, where fans can enjoy her new writing and immerse themselves deeper in the wizarding world. J.K. Rowling has written a novel for adult readers, "The Casual Vacancy," and also writes crime novels under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith. She has received many awards and honors, including an OBE for services to children's literature, France's Legion d'honneur, and the Hans Christian Andersen Award. --This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

Review

A moralist, a magician and a great liberal, Beedle is to the wizarding world what Hans Christian Andersen is to Muggles (non-magical people). Refreshingly original ... and surprisingly satisfying. The Tales of Beedle the Bard contains all the playful humour and down-to-earth detail that makes her wizarding world so seductive Sunday Times Five enchanting tales told with the author's confident mixture of wit and wariness tell lessons for both children and parents alike Sunday Express The stories are simple, original, diverse, witty and wise ... a storytelling treat Books for Keeps --This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B01F3ET2SI
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Pottermore Publishing; Reprint edition (May 9, 2016)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ May 9, 2016
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 4358 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 71 pages
  • Lending ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.7 out of 5 stars 10,247 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

J.K. Rowling is best-known as the author of the seven Harry Potter books, which were published between 1997 and 2007. The enduringly popular adventures of Harry, Ron and Hermione have gone on to sell over 500 million copies, be translated into over 80 languages and made into eight blockbuster films.

Alongside the Harry Potter series, J.K. Rowling also wrote three short companion volumes for charity: Quidditch Through the Ages and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, in aid of Comic Relief, and The Tales of Beedle the Bard, in aid of Lumos. The companion books and original series are all available as audiobooks.

In 2016, J.K. Rowling collaborated with playwright Jack Thorne and director John Tiffany to continue Harry’s story in a stage play, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, which opened in London, followed by the USA and Australia.

In the same year, she made her debut as a screenwriter with the film Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. Inspired by the original companion volume, it was the first in a series of new adventures featuring wizarding world magizoologist Newt Scamander. The second, Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald, was released in 2018 and the third, Fantastic Beasts: The Secrets of Dumbledore is to be released in April 2022.

Both the screenplays, as well as the script of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, are also available as books.

Fans of Fantastic Beasts and Harry Potter can find out more at www.wizardingworld.com.

J.K. Rowling also writes novels for adults. The Casual Vacancy was published in 2012 and adapted for television in 2015. Under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith, she is the author of the highly acclaimed ‘Strike’ crime series, featuring private detective Cormoran Strike and his partner Robin Ellacott. The first of these, The Cuckoo’s Calling, was published to critical acclaim in 2013, at first without its author’s true identity being known. The Silkworm followed in 2014, Career of Evil in 2015 and Lethal White in 2018. All four books have been adapted for television by the BBC and HBO. The fifth book, Troubled Blood, is now out and was also an instant bestseller.

J.K. Rowling’s 2008 Harvard Commencement speech was published in 2015 as an illustrated book, Very Good Lives: The Fringe Benefits of Failure and the Importance of Imagination, sold in aid of Lumos and university-wide financial aid at Harvard.

In 2020, J.K. Rowling released in free online instalments, The Ickabog, an original fairy tale, which she wrote over ten years ago as a bedtime story for her younger children. She decided to share the personal family favourite to help entertain children, parents and carers confined at home during the Covid-19 lockdown.

The story is now published as a book (hardback, ebook and audio) in the English language, and is translated into 26 languages, each edition with its own unique illustrations by children. J.K. Rowling is donating her royalties from The Ickabog to her charitable trust, The Volant Charitable Trust, to assist vulnerable groups who have been particularly impacted by the Covid-19 pandemic in the UK and internationally.

J.K. Rowling’s latest children’s novel, The Christmas Pig, is out now. Illustrated by Jim Field, it’s the story of a little boy called Jack, and his beloved toy, Dur Pig, and the toy that replaces Dur Pig when he’s lost on Christmas Eve – the Christmas Pig. Together, Jack and the Christmas Pig embark on a magical journey to seek something lost, and to save the best friend Jack has ever known.

As well as receiving an OBE and Companion of Honour for services to children’s literature, J.K. Rowling has received many other awards and honours, including France’s Legion d’Honneur, Spain’s Prince of Asturias Award and Denmark’s Hans Christian Andersen Award.

www.jkrowling.com

Image: Photography Debra Hurford Brown © J.K. Rowling 2018

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
10,247 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on August 31, 2018
Customer image
4.0 out of 5 stars WHAT YOU ACTUALLY RECEIVE
Reviewed in the United States on August 31, 2018
I really love this book, but the advertising is miss leading. You only get the small book and velvet bag. While this is a fantastic deal. I just wanted to set the record straight. This listing is awesome and it is a deal. Love this book. Hats off to seller for the offer. Thank you so much.
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
73 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on February 15, 2019
40 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on November 28, 2017
17 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on December 20, 2016
20 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on December 5, 2008
12 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on December 21, 2008
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Another amazing book by my favourite author!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on February 29, 2020
8 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Ajay Nandeti
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome
Reviewed in India on November 4, 2018
39 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Lexa L.
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 17, 2022
Vocalistuk
5.0 out of 5 stars Short and Entertaining
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 16, 2017
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse
G. Stephenson
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST LOOKING BOOK OF ALL TIME!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 15, 2010
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?