Buying Options

Kindle Price: $9.99

Save $9.96 (50%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Terminal Boredom: Stories by [Izumi Suzuki, Polly Barton, Sam Bett, David Boyd, Daniel Joseph]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Authors

See all
Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Terminal Boredom: Stories Kindle Edition

3.9 out of 5 stars 41 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$9.99

Back to School gift cards

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Mac and Windows desktops
    Desktop

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton
Amazon Business: Make the most of your Amazon Business account with exclusive tools and savings. Login now

Editorial Reviews

Review

“Suzuki is a daring writer and these stories will show the English-language world what she is made of.”
—Jessica Esa, Metropolis Japan (“5 Japanese Novels to Read in 2021”)

“Her punky irreverence remains radiant.”
Frieze

“If you’re into Kōbō Abe and prefer Ryū Murakami to Haruki you’ll not (as the title of this inaugural translation of Suzuki into English suggests), be bored.”
The Millions (“Most Anticipated”)

“Weird and wonderful, unique and unsettling … You won’t put this one down.”
Osusume Books

“Eagerly awaited … [Terminal Boredom transports] readers to worlds both familiar and unfamiliar, indulging our fantasies and fears of the future … Dark and slightly absurdist, this collection is a poignant rumination on the despair and isolation of modern society.”
Kirkus Reviews

“The stories chosen for this collection showcase an author whose interest in alienation and despair as well as playful literary exploration parallels the work of other ’70s SF titans such as Joanna Russ or Thomas Disch … Essential reading not only for those interested in Japanese SF, but for anyone interested in spiky, beautiful, and bleak literature.”
—Nell Keep, Booklist (starred review)

“These strangely prescient stories are perfect for fans of Haruki Murakami, George Saunders, and Philip K. Dick.”
Publishers Weekly

“The latest inclusion in the modern canon of Japanese women authors’ surreal feminist work, [Terminal Boredom] puts a distinctly sci-fi spin on the concept.”
Thrillist (“30 Books We Can’t Wait to Read in 2021”)

About the Author

Izumi Suzuki (1949-1986) was a writer, actress, model and a countercultural icon in Japan. In the last decade of her life she produced an influential body of radical, punky and groundbreaking fiction. --This text refers to the paperback edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B08DMW9GWX
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Verso Fiction (April 20, 2021)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ April 20, 2021
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 772 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 178 pages
  • Lending ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    3.9 out of 5 stars 41 ratings

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5
41 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on April 21, 2021
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 20, 2021
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 21, 2021
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 26, 2021