Buying Options

Kindle Price: $8.99

Save $8.00 (47%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.
Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share <Embed>
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Unsettled by [Reem Faruqi]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Unsettled Kindle Edition

4.8 out of 5 stars 71 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$8.99

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 4–6—At home in Karachi, Pakistan, Nurah Haqq enjoys a life surrounded by family, friends, and visits to the ocean. A perfect day at the beach becomes the worst day when Nurah's father announces that he has accepted a job offer in America. Her immediate family—father, mother, and older brother Owais—will soon relocate to the United States. Uprooted, the family settles in Peachtree City, GA, where Nurah discovers a nation of unfamiliar sights, sounds, smells, and strange pronunciations. The challenges they face in America, including Nurah's complicity in an attack on her brother, will force the girl—whose name means "light"—to face her own weaknesses, reconnect with the light within, and blossom into someone she is proud of. Told in verse in short chapters and divided into nine sections which are illustrated with floral mehndi patterns, this is an insightful and moving narrative that tackles a wide range of salient topics, including ableism, bullying, assimilation, colorism, racial profiling, friendship, miscarriage, and domestic abuse. The brevity of some verses allows the engrossing narrative to move quickly, but also leaves some topics feeling underexamined. Farqui beautifully weaves Urdu and Arabic terms, and Islamic concepts throughout the text, crafting an unapologetic and authentic look at what it means to grow up Pakistani and Muslim in America. Back matter, which includes a glossary of Arabic and Urdu terms, author's note, and recipe for aloo kabab, offers additional context and opportunities for understanding and engagement. VERDICT A thought-provoking and engaging coming-of-age story recommended for libraries of all types; will particularly appeal to fans of Jasmine Warga's Other Words for Home, Kelly Yang's Front Desk, and Hena Khan's Amina's Voice.—Mahasin A. Aleem, Oakland P.L., CA --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Review

“Faruqi’s use of free verse will captivate readers with its metaphors that emphasize feelings and details of daily life…Qureshi’s floral and paisley spot art and illustrations of hands with henna designs add delicate beauty. Lyrical. Hopeful. Poignant.”  -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Younger readers, will easily identify or empathize with Nurah as she navigates the tricky art of fitting in while being true to herself.”  --
Booklist

“Faruqi’s graceful verses shine…as the challenges and successes of each member impact the entire household… Faruqi offers glimpses of her real-life source material, including her family’s experiences as Muslim immigrants in September, 2001.” -- Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

"This is an insightful and moving narrative that tackles a wide range of salient topics, including ableism, bullying, assimilation, colorism, racial profiling, friendship, miscarriage, and domestic abuse…crafting an unapologetic and authentic look at what it means to grow up Pakistani and Muslim in America…A thought-provoking and engaging coming-of-age story." -- School Library Journal

“Nurah’s coming-of-age story will inspire readers to step into their own light.” -- Horn Book Magazine

“Unsettled is the heartfelt story of Nurah, a girl uprooted from Pakistan who must replant herself when her family moves to the United States. Told in beautiful, accessible verse, this is a book about family missed and friendship found, of making mistakes, speaking up, and learning to flourish in the soil of a new home.”  -- Rajani LaRocca, author of
Midsummer’s Mayhem; Red, White, and Whole; and Much Ado About Baseball

“With poetic precision, Faruqi tells the moving tale of Nurah and her family as they move from Karachi, Pakistan to Peachtree City, Georgia. This empowering story will not only resonate with those who have emigrated from South Asia, but with all young people who have struggled to both fit in and stay true to themselves.” -- Veera Hiranandani, Newbery Honor author of
The Night Diary

“A gorgeously written story, filled with warmth, depth, and an insightful exploration of a young immigrant adjusting to a new home and putting down roots. I loved getting to know Nurah’s kind heart and witnessing her grow stronger and more confident, while never forgetting who she is.” -- Hena Khan
, author of Amina’s Voice

"A lyrical coming of age story exploring family, immigration, and most of all belonging. Nurah is a compelling main character who I was rooting for all the way through."  -- Aisha Saeed
, New York Times bestselling author of Amal Unbound --This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B08FKC4Q4X
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ HarperCollins (May 11, 2021)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ May 11, 2021
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 8320 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 352 pages
  • Page numbers source ISBN ‏ : ‎ 0063044706
  • Lending ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.8 out of 5 stars 71 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Reem Faruqi is an award winning author who enjoys writing lyrical stories that reflect her own experiences. Reem used to teach second grade and her favorite time was Read Aloud time. Now, her favorite time at home is reading with her daughters. Of Pakistani origin, she moved to Peachtree City, Georgia, from Abu Dhabi, the United Arab Emirates, when she was 13 years old. Reem based her first award-winning children's book "Lailah's Lunchbox" on her own experiences as a young Muslim girl immigrating to the United States. Reem has 3 books projected for 2021: UNSETTLED (HarperCollins), AMIRA'S PICTURE DAY (Holiday House), and I CAN HELP (Eerdmans). Reem Faruqi loves to doodle, write, and take photos. Check out her photoblog at www.ReemFaruqi.com! Currently, she lives with her husband and daughters in Atlanta.

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5
71 global ratings
5 star
80%
4 star
20%
3 star 0% (0%) 0%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on May 25, 2021
Reviewed in the United States on February 26, 2022
Reviewed in the United States on July 19, 2021
Reviewed in the United States on May 17, 2021
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 30, 2021
Reviewed in the United States on May 29, 2021
Reviewed in the United States on July 4, 2021
Reviewed in the United States on May 12, 2021
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?