<Embed>
List Price: $24.99
Save: $7.68 (31%)
FREE Shipping on your first order. Details
Arrives: Sunday, July 12
Fastest delivery: Wednesday, July 8 Details
In Stock.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Sold by HPB-Emerald
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include companion materials, some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, may not include cd-rom or access codes. Customer service is our top priority!

Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$21.99
+ Free Shipping
Sold by: Book Depository US
Add to Cart
$20.17
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: allnewbooks
Add to Cart
$20.62
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: tabletopart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Where the Crawdads Sing Audio CD – Audiobook, April 30, 2019

4.8 out of 5 stars 70,819 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Audio CD, Audiobook, CD, Unabridged
$17.31
$15.37 $12.49

The Amazon Book Review
The Amazon Book Review
Book recommendations, author interviews, editors' picks, and more. Read it now
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • Where the Crawdads Sing
  • +
  • All the Light We Cannot See: A Novel
  • +
  • Before We Were Yours: A Novel
Total price: $62.29
Buy the selected items together

Special offers and product promotions

Editorial Reviews

Review

“A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature....Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders—and dangers—of her private world.”—The New York Times Book Review

“Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina’s Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya’s heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut.”—People

“This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver.”—Bustle

“A lush debut novel, Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose. It’s clear she’s from this place—the land of the southern coasts, but also the emotional terrain—you can feel it in the pages.  A magnificent achievement, ambitious, credible and very timely.”—Alexandra Fuller, New York Times bestselling author of Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight

“Heart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story.”—Entertainment Weekly

“This wonderful novel has a bit of everything—mystery, romance, and fascinating characters, all told in a story that takes place in North Carolina.”—Nicholas Sparks, New York Times bestselling author of Every Breath

“Delia Owen’s gorgeous novel is both a coming-of-age tale and an engrossing whodunit.”—Real Simple

“Evocative...Kya makes for an unforgettable heroine.”—Publishers Weekly

“The New Southern novel...A lyrical debut.”Southern Living

“A nature-infused romance with a killer twist.”—Refinery29

“Anyone who liked The Great Alone will want to read Where the Crawdads Sing....This astonishing debut is a beautiful and haunting novel that packs a powerful punch. It’s the first novel in a long time that made me cry.”—Kristin Hannah, author of The Great Alone and The Nightingale

“Both a coming-of-age story and a mysterious account of a murder investigation told from the perspective of a young girl...Through Kya’s story, Owens explores how isolation affects human behavior, and the deep effect that rejection can have on our lives.”—Vanity Fair

“Lyrical...Its appeal ris[es] from Kya’s deep connection to the place where makes her home, and to all of its creatures.”—Booklist

“This beautiful, evocative novel is likely to stay with you for many days afterward....absorbing.”AARP 

“Compelling, original...A mystery, a courtroom drama, a romance and a coming-of-age story, Where the Crawdads Sing is a moving, beautiful tale. Readers will remember Kya for a long, long time.”ShelfAwareness

“With prose luminous as a low-country moon, Owens weaves a compelling tale of a forgotten girl in the unforgiving coastal marshes of North Carolina. It is a murder mystery/love story/courtroom drama that readers will love, but the novel delves so much deeper into the bone and sinew of our very nature, asking often unanswerable questions, old and intractable as the marsh itself. A stunning debut!”Christopher Scotton, author of The Secret Wisdom of the Earth

“A compelling mystery with prose so luminous it can cut through the murkiest of pluff mud.”—Augusta Chronicle

“Carries the rhythm of an old time ballad. It is clear Owens knows this land intimately, from the black mud sucking at footsteps to the taste of saltwater and the cry of seagulls.”David Joy, author of The Line That Held Us

About the Author

Delia Owens is the coauthor of three internationally bestselling nonfiction books about her life as a wildlife scientist in Africa. She holds a BS in Zoology from the University of Georgia and a PhD in Animal Behavior from the University of California at Davis. She has won the John Burroughs Award for Nature Writing and has been published in Nature, The African Journal of Ecology, and International Wildlife, among many others. She lives in the mountains of North Carolina. Where the Crawdads Sing is her first novel.

Product details

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5
70,819 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?
Reviewed in the United States on October 28, 2018
Verified Purchase
5,414 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 27, 2019
Verified Purchase
2,454 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on October 1, 2018
Verified Purchase
2,416 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on September 16, 2018
Verified Purchase
1,608 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 31, 2019
Verified Purchase
review image
1,150 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 19, 2018
Verified Purchase
1,541 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on September 3, 2018
Verified Purchase
1,129 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 25, 2018
Verified Purchase
887 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top international reviews

Eliza
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete claptrap
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 18, 2019
Verified Purchase
603 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
L. Clayton
1.0 out of 5 stars Not funny or suitable for young children
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 9, 2019
Verified Purchase
167 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
chocolateg
2.0 out of 5 stars Huge disappointment.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on February 4, 2019
Verified Purchase
151 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
vics
1.0 out of 5 stars It's laughing at missing organs and limbs...rethink what you want your children to find humorous
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 28, 2018
Verified Purchase
137 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
TripFiction
5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant novel set in NORTH CAROLINA
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 18, 2019
Verified Purchase
review image
73 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware the scary pictures!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 16, 2018
Verified Purchase
84 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning masterpiece of literature!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 29, 2019
Verified Purchase
73 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
1.0 out of 5 stars Wasn’t keen on this book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on February 4, 2019
Verified Purchase
70 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
RJS
1.0 out of 5 stars Scary for little ones
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 21, 2018
Verified Purchase
59 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
kittenje
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a fan of the message
Reviewed in Canada on December 6, 2018
Verified Purchase
89 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Kelly
1.0 out of 5 stars Not funny?!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 27, 2019
Verified Purchase
43 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
countrygirl
1.0 out of 5 stars Total claptrap
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 13, 2020
Verified Purchase
29 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Wee Mo
5.0 out of 5 stars My book of the year
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 12, 2018
Verified Purchase
35 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Holly +Alfie
1.0 out of 5 stars Not recommended but if you do I wouldn’t read to younger children
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 1, 2019
Verified Purchase
29 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Dawn Luker
5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest kids book I've read in years.Buy it!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on November 24, 2018
Verified Purchase
29 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse