Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime FREE Returns
Return this item for free
  • Free returns are available for the shipping address you chose. You can return the item for any reason in new and unused condition: no shipping charges
  • Learn more about free returns.
FREE delivery Tuesday, December 6 if you spend $25 on items shipped by Amazon
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
[{"displayPrice":"$24.99","priceAmount":24.99,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"24","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"99","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"pD%2BuBMugYKC9FQtMW30JXuokmkNd1xGU8NtJ88NC%2BmhUsFhdsOMPYAF7wZKhDzT1OPAE23GOjYx3oyhpSWtFTP5PKPgyokkVEgOQJWT%2BGLQFcvJs4aV%2BIhmjHCNSb8ZXQ4q3rrCIVthrNsO4myvA1g%3D%3D","locale":"en-US","buyingOptionType":"NEW"},{"displayPrice":"$13.88","priceAmount":13.88,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"13","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"88","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"GjdUawYv4Xo3zGUGj6UwBfBFuuw1pNByY50I2LAqvO59F92tXX26pS%2FQtbct4NkbBa2Ce9XELRPIeQqsEOqCqdbxQxVZNVhoN%2FFsWf6OvzEV5i4JrTHAgvyHzMlR%2FifNFVD56UIdTV8eET9sUXtcIVYE7Qx65NWYpqE%2Fln%2BAWH7ub%2FUnbsYsH2tk3XU5J8S%2B","locale":"en-US","buyingOptionType":"USED"}]
$$24.99 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$24.99
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date, and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Return policy: Returnable until Jan 31, 2023
For the 2022 holiday season, returnable items purchased between October 11 and December 25, 2022 can be returned until January 31, 2023.
Where the Crawdads Sing has been added to your Cart
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime
FREE delivery Wednesday, December 7 if you spend $25 on items shipped by Amazon
Condition: Used: Good
Access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.
Have one to sell?
Other Sellers on Amazon
Added
$18.39
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: SuperBookDeals-
Sold by: SuperBookDeals-
(351118 ratings)
87% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Usually ships within 2 to 3 days.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Added
$18.40
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: allnewbooks
Sold by: allnewbooks
(270497 ratings)
91% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Usually ships within 4 to 5 days.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Added
$22.60
& FREE Shipping
Sold by: Book Depository US
Sold by: Book Depository US
(945371 ratings)
91% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Usually ships within 4 to 5 days.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Where the Crawdads Sing Audio CD – Unabridged, April 30, 2019

4.8 out of 5 stars 364,545 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Audio CD, CD, Unabridged
$24.99
$15.79 $9.88

Enhance your purchase


"The Words We Whisper" by Mary Ellen Taylor for $9.99
From the bestselling author of Honeysuckle Season comes a sweeping saga that interweaves the past and present in an epic tapestry of love, war, and loss.| Learn more

Frequently bought together

  • Where the Crawdads Sing
  • +
  • The Guardians: A Novel
  • +
  • Camino Island: A Novel
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Some of these items ship sooner than the others.
Choose items to buy together.

Editorial Reviews

Review

“A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature....Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders—and dangers—of her private world.”—The New York Times Book Review

“Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina’s Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya’s heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut.”—
People

“This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver.”—
Bustle

“A lush debut novel, Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose. It’s clear she’s from this place—the land of the southern coasts, but also the emotional terrain—you can feel it in the pages.  A magnificent achievement, ambitious, credible and very timely.”—Alexandra Fuller,
New York Times bestselling author of Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight

“Heart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story.”—
Entertainment Weekly

“This wonderful novel has a bit of everything—mystery, romance, and fascinating characters, all told in a story that takes place in North Carolina.”—Nicholas Sparks, New York Times bestselling author of Every Breath

“Delia Owen’s gorgeous novel is both a coming-of-age tale and an engrossing whodunit.”—
Real Simple

“Evocative...Kya makes for an unforgettable heroine.”—
Publishers Weekly

“The New Southern novel...A lyrical debut.”
Southern Living

“A nature-infused romance with a killer twist.”—
Refinery29

“Anyone who liked The Great Alone will want to read Where the Crawdads Sing....This astonishing debut is a beautiful and haunting novel that packs a powerful punch. It’s the first novel in a long time that made me cry.”—Kristin Hannah, author ofThe Great AloneandThe Nightingale

“Both a coming-of-age story and a mysterious account of a murder investigation told from the perspective of a young girl...Through Kya’s story, Owens explores how isolation affects human behavior, and the deep effect that rejection can have on our lives.”—Vanity Fair

“Lyrical...Its appeal ris[es] from Kya’s deep connection to the place where makes her home, and to all of its creatures.”—
Booklist

“This beautiful, evocative novel is likely to stay with you for many days afterward....absorbing.”AARP 

“This haunting tale captivates every bit as much for its crime drama elements as for the humanity at its core.” —
Mystery & Suspense Magazine

“Compelling, original...A mystery, a courtroom drama, a romance and a coming-of-age story, Where the Crawdads Sing is a moving, beautiful tale. Readers will remember Kya for a long, long time.”ShelfAwareness

“With prose luminous as a low-country moon, Owens weaves a compelling tale of a forgotten girl in the unforgiving coastal marshes of North Carolina. It is a murder mystery/love story/courtroom drama that readers will love, but the novel delves so much deeper into the bone and sinew of our very nature, asking often unanswerable questions, old and intractable as the marsh itself. A stunning debut!”
Christopher Scotton, author of The Secret Wisdom of the Earth

“A compelling mystery with prose so luminous it can cut through the murkiest of pluff mud.”—
Augusta Chronicle

“Carries the rhythm of an old time ballad. It is clear Owens knows this land intimately, from the black mud sucking at footsteps to the taste of saltwater and the cry of seagulls.”David Joy, author of The Line That Held Us

About the Author

Delia Owens is the coauthor of three internationally bestselling nonfiction books about her life as a wildlife scientist in Africa. She holds a BS in Zoology from the University of Georgia and a PhD in Animal Behavior from the University of California at Davis. She has won the John Burroughs Award for Nature Writing and has been published in Nature, The African Journal of Ecology, and International Wildlife, among many others. She lives in the mountains of North Carolina. Where the Crawdads Sing is her first novel.
Always the perfect gift

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Penguin Audio; Unabridged edition (April 30, 2019)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0593105419
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0593105412
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 9.2 ounces
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 5.08 x 1.1 x 5.86 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.8 out of 5 stars 364,545 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Discover more of the author’s books, see similar authors, read author blogs and more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5
364,545 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on August 14, 2022
116 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on March 7, 2022
199 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

chocolateg
2.0 out of 5 stars Huge disappointment.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on February 4, 2019
444 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Viking
1.0 out of 5 stars Pathetic Verse and Worse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on January 24, 2020
276 people found this helpful
Report abuse
stoaty1
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter bilge
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on March 29, 2020
264 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning masterpiece of literature!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on March 29, 2019
288 people found this helpful
Report abuse
maniacmonkey100
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring about a girl walking through mud.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on June 13, 2020
182 people found this helpful
Report abuse