Buy New
$9.59
  • List Price: $26.00
  • Save: $16.41 (63%)
FREE Shipping
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon or get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Where the Crawdads Sing has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Where the Crawdads Sing Hardcover – August 14, 2018

4.8 out of 5 stars 49,076 ratings

See all 14 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$9.59
$9.59 $8.39

Limited-time deal : Top Cookbooks pantry

click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • Where the Crawdads Sing
  • +
  • Little Fires Everywhere: A Novel
  • +
  • Then She Was Gone: A Novel
Total price: $28.58
Buy the selected items together

Special offers and product promotions


From the Publisher

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com Review

An Amazon Best Book of August 2018: Although this is Delia Owens’ first novel, she long ago distinguished herself as a gifted writer. In the mid-80s, Owens co-wrote with her husband Cry of the Kalahari, which was a best-selling, nonfictional account of traveling and researching Africa’s Kalahari Desert. One of the joys of that book was the Owens’ description of the natural world, and Where the Crawdads Sing is immersed in the natural world as well. The story is set in the 1950s and revolves around a young woman named Kya Clark, who is from extremely rural North Carolina. Known by others as the Marsh Girl, she lives alone in nature—but the draw of other people, and specifically love, brings her into contact with the greater world. This novel has a mystery at its core, but it can be read on a variety of levels. There is great nature writing; there is coming of age; and there is literature. Crawdads is a story lovingly told—one that takes its time in developing its characters and setting, and in developing the story. You’ll want to relax and take your time as well, and when you’re done you will want to talk about it with another reader. – Chris Schluep , Amazon Book Review

Review

“A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature....Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders—and dangers—of her private world.”—The New York Times Book Review

“Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina’s Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya’s heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut.”—People

“This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver.”—Bustle

“A lush debut novel, Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose. It’s clear she’s from this place—the land of the southern coasts, but also the emotional terrain—you can feel it in the pages.  A magnificent achievement, ambitious, credible and very timely.”—Alexandra Fuller, New York Times bestselling author of Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight

“Heart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story.”—Entertainment Weekly

“This wonderful novel has a bit of everything—mystery, romance, and fascinating characters, all told in a story that takes place in North Carolina.”—Nicholas Sparks, New York Times bestselling author of Every Breath

“Delia Owen’s gorgeous novel is both a coming-of-age tale and an engrossing whodunit.”—Real Simple

“Evocative...Kya makes for an unforgettable heroine.”—Publishers Weekly

“The New Southern novel...A lyrical debut.”Southern Living

“A nature-infused romance with a killer twist.”—Refinery29

“Anyone who liked The Great Alone will want to read Where the Crawdads Sing....This astonishing debut is a beautiful and haunting novel that packs a powerful punch. It’s the first novel in a long time that made me cry.”—Kristin Hannah, author of The Great Alone and The Nightingale

“Both a coming-of-age story and a mysterious account of a murder investigation told from the perspective of a young girl...Through Kya’s story, Owens explores how isolation affects human behavior, and the deep effect that rejection can have on our lives.”—Vanity Fair

“Lyrical...Its appeal ris[es] from Kya’s deep connection to the place where makes her home, and to all of its creatures.”—Booklist

“This beautiful, evocative novel is likely to stay with you for many days afterward....absorbing.”AARP 

“Compelling, original...A mystery, a courtroom drama, a romance and a coming-of-age story, Where the Crawdads Sing is a moving, beautiful tale. Readers will remember Kya for a long, long time.”ShelfAwareness

“With prose luminous as a low-country moon, Owens weaves a compelling tale of a forgotten girl in the unforgiving coastal marshes of North Carolina. It is a murder mystery/love story/courtroom drama that readers will love, but the novel delves so much deeper into the bone and sinew of our very nature, asking often unanswerable questions, old and intractable as the marsh itself. A stunning debut!”Christopher Scotton, author of The Secret Wisdom of the Earth

“A compelling mystery with prose so luminous it can cut through the murkiest of pluff mud.”—Augusta Chronicle

“Carries the rhythm of an old time ballad. It is clear Owens knows this land intimately, from the black mud sucking at footsteps to the taste of saltwater and the cry of seagulls.”David Joy, author of The Line That Held Us

Product details

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5
49,076 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?
Reviewed in the United States on October 28, 2018
Verified Purchase
5,253 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 27, 2019
Verified Purchase
2,318 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on October 1, 2018
Verified Purchase
2,328 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on September 16, 2018
Verified Purchase
1,553 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 31, 2019
Verified Purchase
review image
1,114 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 19, 2018
Verified Purchase
1,511 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on September 3, 2018
Verified Purchase
1,105 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 25, 2018
Verified Purchase
867 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top international reviews

Eliza
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete claptrap
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 18, 2019
Verified Purchase
491 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
chocolateg
2.0 out of 5 stars Huge disappointment.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on February 4, 2019
Verified Purchase
124 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
TripFiction
5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant novel set in NORTH CAROLINA
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 18, 2019
Verified Purchase
review image
55 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning masterpiece of literature!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 29, 2019
Verified Purchase
51 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Wee Mo
5.0 out of 5 stars My book of the year
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 12, 2018
Verified Purchase
28 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
JamieM
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE how different this is
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 9, 2019
Verified Purchase
24 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
W. A. Burt
4.0 out of 5 stars Stick With It
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on February 6, 2019
Verified Purchase
22 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Linda Pfeiffer
5.0 out of 5 stars So far my best choice for 2019
Reviewed in Canada on March 22, 2019
Verified Purchase
44 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
countrygirl
1.0 out of 5 stars Total claptrap
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 13, 2020
Verified Purchase
14 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Tess1e
5.0 out of 5 stars The most amazing book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 6, 2019
Verified Purchase
16 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Viking
1.0 out of 5 stars Pathetic Verse and Worse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 24, 2020
Verified Purchase
13 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
SusieSS
1.0 out of 5 stars I stopped reading
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 1, 2020
Verified Purchase
12 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Monika McDonough
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read in the end.
Reviewed in Canada on February 9, 2019
Verified Purchase
35 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
K. Probert-briggs
1.0 out of 5 stars Utterly confused !
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 9, 2020
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Terri Nixon
3.0 out of 5 stars Nicely written.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 17, 2020
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse